We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5. Star not 3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“2.5. Star not 3”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for Mardi Gras this weekend Friday and left this morning. Stayed here before and didn't experience room service before because no one answered the phone during our prior stay. Emailed ahead of time to check to see if our prior issues were resolved and was told they were. When we called front desk Saturday morning and told them we didn't have a room service menu they said we could go to the lobby and get one??? I order room service because I don't want to leave the room. A 3 star would have said I will bring one to you. No one once again answere room service phone. Called the front desk area they said they must be busy making the room service food. So Saturday morning no room service. Saturday night ordered gumbo salad and a side of mashed potatoes the mashed potatoes were not fresh and the instant kind had big lumps not all the way mixed up terrible food for dinner also no condiments or water with dinner tray even though we asked for water. This morning did a card for the door room service no pen in the room had to use an eye pencil. Then it was 20 min late. Food was ok this morning. The bed was comfortable the room was comfortable, the ottoman in the room was dirty when I pulled it out to use it. The girls we talked to were nice but all this doesn't rate A 3 star by any means.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfCoastNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that no one was answering your room service calls. We discovered the problem at the time to be that the room service was programmed to call an incorrect extension. That problem has been corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    179
    136
    63
    70
See reviews for
255
177
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We attended a wedding at The Galvez and since this hotel was within walking distance, had good reviews, and had free parking we decided to stay here. We had a very nice double queen room with a view of the ocean. Everything in the room seemed very updated. The room was spacious enough and the bedding was amazing. I loved the fluffy comforters and wished I could have taken one home with me. We all had a very nice sleep. This hotel does not have a free breakfast but there is breakfast available in the mornings for a fee. They will even deliver it to your room.

One thing to note, I had made the reservations to this hotel through our rewards program and was quoted a price of $159 a night with the stipulation that I could cancel up until 4p.m. the day of arrival. I don't ever like to take the chance of prepaying to get a lower price and then not having the option to cancel. I personally don't know why hotels have started doing this. Anyways the day of the wedding it was pouring down rain and we seriously considered abandoning our plans to go to Galvestion. I also thought $159 was quite a price to pay to spend one night in rainy Galvestion so I decided to call the hotel to see if they had room availabiliy still. As expected, they did and upon asking what the price was, they quoted me a price of $109. Don't you know that I quickly made a new reservation for the $50 lower price and promply cancelled the other.

The only problem we had at this hotel was that our sink drained very slowly. Since we were only there for a very short while, I did not complain about this problem. My husband and I would definitely return to this hotel. It actually is the best hotel we have ever stayed at in Galveston and the price we ended up paying made it all the more better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigthicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Bigthicket,

Thank you for your review! Our fluffy bedding is available for sale through the hotel and our website. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel is located on the island and literally a stone's throw from the water. While this doesn't put you on the best beach, you are not far from some. The hotel is located near many fast food restaurants (4-5 minutes by car) as well as a few sit down places (2-5 minutes on foot or by car). If you don't feel like driving, taxis are very reasonably priced. You are approximately 3 minutes from "The Strand" (street filled with clubs, restaurants and shopping). This is not only home to the weekend club scene, but to Galveston's Mardi Gras! From this hotel, you can also arrive at the Cruise Terminal within 5 minutes with only $7.00 missing from your wallet!

Staff: VERY friendly and professional! We arrived later in the evening and were treated great! The young lady at the front desk was very helpful! She not only checked us into our room, but coordinated our transportation to the cruise terminal the following day.

Pros: Took great care of us and we would go back, if not for the room, for the staff!
Cons: None

Room: The room was VERY clean. It had a very "beachy" feel to it. There are no closets, but plenty of space in the armoire. The bed was comfortable and bedding was soft! There is a large desk for any work that you may need to do. (Why would you bring work on vacation with you?) Free WiFi is available at this hotel. There is also a comfortable armchair and ottoman for relaxing and watching TV.

Pros: Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms! We also appreciated window treatments that kept the room dark well into the morning.

Cons: No refrigerator.

Restroom: Very clean! This room had a tub/shower. There was plenty of hot water and water pressure. The decor of the restroom followed the beach theme. It was simple, but got the job done!

Pros: Great water pressure and plenty of hot water!

Cons: Our sink faucet was loose. This required us to have to hold it in order to turn it on and off.

Side Note: While attempting to retrieve a few items from my vehicle late in the evening I was approached by two men in the parking lot. One had the hood of his jacket pulled up. The other had his sweatshirt pulled up over his face. As they approached they asked if I had "change for a dollar." Still being near the side entrance to the building I was able to return inside. I alerted the front desk and they phoned the Police. Law enforcement arrived shortly thereafter.
The hotel staff said this was not common and did all they could to remedy the situation. I believe this was something that could have happened at ANY hotel and did not reflect on this hotel. So, use common travel safety tips. Stay in well lit areas. Park near entrances.. Be aware of your surroundings.

OVERALL: This was a great hotel for the price. We would recommend it for anyone who is wanting to stay on the Island.

We particularly recommend it to any who are planning to cruise out of Galveston. The hotel allows you to park your vehicle on their property for FREE! Beats the $50.00 you would spend at a Parking Garage!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We will soon be upgrading every room with mini refrigerators as as a standard amenity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Nice redo on Seawall Blvd. You can leave your car on hotel parking lot while on a cruise. Fare to cruise pier 8 to 10 dollars for a cab. Vans also on call for 7 dollars per person. Agree with previous review about loud A/C. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mexicoamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Even though the units just over a year old, we have replaced many of the fan motors on the air conditioners with quieter units to help lower the AC noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
309 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on Christmas Day to board a cruise the next day.

PROS: The hotel is located right across from the ocean/seawall. Right across from it is a large and modern souvenir store and the hotel is a few doors down from a restaurant named Fish Tails that has a large Blue Bell ice cream parlor in it (highly recommend it). There were two large screen computers in the lobby free for use, along with board games and a flat screen TV. The rooms are very large and clean, with a flat screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and coffeemaker. The toiletries were generic to Four Points but they did smell clean and nice. The gym was decent - the several elliptical and step machines were a bit dated, but there were TVs built in, there were water and headphones available and weight racks.

CONS: Paid $119 for the room reserved over six months ago, but others in my large party were charged $79 and they would not credit me the difference. The hotel room was VERY sparse - no pen, paper, open shelves with no decorations/bric a brac. Two colors in the whole room as far as decor. No in room safe or refrigerator. The A/C heating unit in the room was VERY loud, don't run it and expect to sleep. The hotel pool itself is nice, BUT is surrounded by the hotel parking lot and has zero privacy.

The hotel restaurant was one of the very few places "open" on Christmas Day. With a hotel full of tourists in a tourist area with nowhere else to go for dinner, you would expect that they would have at least anticipated the amount of workers needed to staff the restaurant. Our party of 11 people waiting 90 minutes to 2 hours before we were served our food. The restaurant was full of other large and small parties with similar wait times and was only manned by one bartender, one waitress and one cook. They ran out of several items on the menu. I don't blame the staff, they were apologetic and did the best they could. We felt bad for them and tried to be patient, but we blame management for underestimating the demand and not staffing their restaurant properly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Milril44,

Thank you for your review. Our hotel often has special rates for groups, meetings, and special companies. Those rates often have restrictions such as limited rooms, or book by dates to receive certain rates. So we recommend to make your reservations early and within those blocks to receive those rates and be part of those blocks. We did have a lot more guests than anticipated for the hotel restaurant on Christmas day (3 times the anticipated number of guests), we also extended the hours of the breakfast to help our guests as nothing else was open and there were food shortages. We apologize for the inconvenience and we will be better prepared to handle that in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was a super choice with a clean and modern room. Stayed for 3 nights and the rooms were quiet. Hotel has room service and an onsite restaurant. Rooms were very reasonably price considering it was over the New Year's Eve weekend and the Galvez and Tremont were charging a fortune. Parking was convenient and secure. Location is excellent right on the Seawall Blvd. One block down from the Galvez.

Room Tip: 5 floors high so you can be above any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawhide2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks Rawhide! Our goal is to exceed expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spent a night out with the family and was surprized by the great value and great service at this hotel. The restraunt had the greatest service and the front desk was very welcoming.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the restraunt. The service was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhughes531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Galveston

Property: Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Galveston 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Pleasure Pier, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House Free parking only applies for guest. (none parking facility) If vehicle is left for cruise parking the charge is $40.00 for 5 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing