We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad, and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and the ugly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

On the plus side the hotel is right on the beach and was the least expensive thing we could find at the last second for a Saturday night (best rate with breakfast was significantly cheaper than their "best rate".) The room was nice, clean, and well airconditioned (a huge plus in my book when temps are 100+ and I can't sleep when I am hot).

We requested early check in at 1pm at the time of booking and despite the fact that when we arrived a little before 1pm and the person attempting to check in in front of us was told no rooms (of their type) were available they had our room ready to go! We really appreciated that.

The hallway and elevators however amassed tons of sand and water from dripping people coming back from the beach. It would have been really nice to have a place outside to rinse the sand off so it didn't get tracked all over the hotel.

And though the hotel is on the beach few if any rooms actually have a beach view. The rooms are perpendicular to the beach leaving you with spectacular views of the trashy Wendys parking lot. In addition it's almost directly across the street from Murdoch's and a granite jetty so to find nice scenic open beach to swim and play you need to walk half a mile or so which doesn't sound bad, but when you are toting two young children and all their crap back and forth it gets pretty tiring after a while.

The airconditioner fan was also insanely loud - so loud that we had to crank the t.v. way up to be able to hear it for the 20 minutes we tried to watch it as we were getting ready to go. On the bright side we never heard any of our neighbors coming, going, talking, banging, etc., even though the rooms were occupied.

Our biggest disappointment however was with their breakfast. They had way too few wait staff and service was ridiculously slow. In addition our food for 4 came out in 2 seperate orders almost 15 minutes apart. When the first set came out the waitress brought some muffins we didn't order and said something incoherent. We assumed she said "complimentary" as only half our food came out and another table nearby with young children had some also. When the bill came however we were charged $5 for two muffins that we didn't even order. And the waitress' comment was "Well, you ate them!"

Room Tip: Compare best rate and best rate with breakfast - we found rooms with breakfast significantly cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleshia H, Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Brandi08,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback for your recent stay. Each review we receive helps us to identify our challenges. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you endured while trying to enjoy your breakfast, and know that we are working to improve our services to better accommodate busy times and have made the proper training adjustments. We do hope that you will consider coming to stay with us again upon your return to the island.

Sincerely,

Aleshia H - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    177
    133
    63
    68
See reviews for
253
170
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband & I had a great experience here. The front desk staff were exceptionally kind. Since my husband is handicapped, we had a jr suite, which was very accessible. Our room had a front-view with sliding doors and balcony, and a side-view window, We also had a microwave, refrigerator, two chairs and a small table, and the swimming pool area was very clean. There is a bar at the pool. I asked for water but the waiter had none. He went inside and brought me back a large glass of ice water, and asked if there was anything else I needed. Pool towels were provided. They are adding a fitness area and conference area close to the pool, so I had to go through the dining area to the pool, but this was not a problem. Since the hotel is on the corner, it is easy to cross Seawall Blvd to the beach. We were also within walking distance of Fish Tales (one of our favorite restaurants) and Murdocks gift shop, and several other things. The only problem we encountered was on our last night there. Someone, who was not handicapped, had parked in the hatched area of a handicapped parking spot. We have a ramp on our van and need the hatched area to let it down. Since the hotel does not require vehicle check-in when you register, they were unable to locate the owner. There was; however, another handicapped parking spot available. They have a restaurant, no continental breakfast, but we had breakfast items and the room had a coffeemaker, so we were good to go for breakfast. Would have liked to stayed longer but couldn't & would definitely stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleshia H, Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear snb58,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful experience while staying in one of our Jr. Suites. We are more than delighted to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us on your next visit. Have a great weekend!

Warm Regards,

Aleshia H - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This property was gutted and reopened as a Four Points by Sheraton following Hurricane Ike. Clean, spacious rooms with great bay views. Suites have balconies. A small amount of meeting space should open either later this year or early 2012. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleshia H, Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear CJMTraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about our great new location. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you on your next visit to the island!

Warm Regards,

Aleshia H - Operations Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

They charged my card $300.00 WITHOUT telling me. I called to find out and they said we left a spot on their bed. This was NOT true. The clerk was totally rude!
The hotel had sand all over it and smelled like algae seaweed. The pool was filthy. There is no place to wash beach sand off. So everyone justs jumps into the pool with sand. Or they just walk into the hotel and bring the sand. The air conditioner was EXTREMELY LOUD.
The bar and resturant wasn't open very many hours. Do NOT stay here unless you can afford to lose a chunk of change of your credit card for no reason. I'll see them in court!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruuthieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Ruuthieann,

As any business, the hotel does charge for destruction of property. If we can be of further assistance please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 year old. The Hotel is located down the Seawall , away from the congested grouping of hotels close to the main 61st St location. Check in was easy and quick. The picture of the room that's on this sight doesn't do the room justice. It was really nice and clean. We had 2 queen beds with bedding. Everything is modern, including the 32 plasma on the wall, the furniture, and sink in the bathroom. There was just enough room that our 3 yr old could move around and we didn't cramped. My only complaint about the room was there were no refrigerator or microwave.
The staff was very helpful and quick to get us more towels or anything that we needed. My only other complaint was the parking. We had to park in the back of the hotel, but there was a door in the back so it wasn't so bad.
The hotel is right next door to Wendy's, so we could walk over for a cheap lunch. It's also located at the corner of Seawall and 23rd St, which is in front of a traffic light and a crosswalk. It was easy to walk across the street to the beach.
The hotel doesn't provide breakfast, but there is a restaurant in the Lobby. We chose to go right down the street to Denny's for breakfast that was cheap.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were spotless, beds were comfortable, the staff was helpful, the pool was clean, the location was good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleshia H, Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear lpcole,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and letting others know about our great hotel. I apologize about the inconvenience of not having a microwave or fridge in your room, but we are currently working to have those available in the near future. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,

Aleshia H - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a new beautiful hotel but if you want service and service is an expectation, please stay away. First me & my wife had to call housecleaning back as the maid left her cleaning materials in the room and trash on the floor. Not to mention that the maid had an odor that almost me us sick. The restaurant messed up our order and after telling them that I was allergic to shrimp. They brought anotnher dish with shrimp. They apologized and offered me a free meal. But when the bill came, I was charged for thie meal. Service leaves a lot to be desired and the poor experience dampered our wonderful vacation

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about the mix up on your order and the housekeeping issues on your stay. We have shared your comments with the rest of the staff to help prevent that from occuring again. We would appreciate a chance to re-earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights just after July 4th. The room was very comfortable and clean but, it was advertised as a beachview room. There was no view at all, there was another building right across from us and all we could see was a wall! Also, there was no microwave or refridgerator and the pool was very dirty. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your view wasn't what you were looking for. We do offer guaranteed views in our suites and other room types. The upper floors also have generally great views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Galveston

Property: Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Galveston 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Pleasure Pier, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House Free parking only applies for guest. (none parking facility) If vehicle is left for cruise parking the charge is $40.00 for 5 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing