We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Elligant! We can't wait to go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“Very Elligant! We can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is beautiful and very elligant! We loved the spacious room and swimming pool. The air conditioning worked great! We paid a one time fee of $12.00 for valet parking and to leave our car at the hotel during our cruise. The shuttle took us to the pier and picked us up. It was great service!!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank TX_Teacher46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,990
    1,011
    462
    206
    145
See reviews for
1,201
1,578
106
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Galvez for one night on 6/21/07. We live in Houston and have never stayed here although we have always known of it and seen it when we were in Galveston. We finally satisfied our curiosity and stayed here with the hopes of scaring our daughter and her friend because of the talk of ghosts on the internet (we didn't see any). We had also planned to take them on the ghost tour but didn't make it. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a lot of atmosphere. The lobby is inviting to relax and visit with your fellow guests and there are beautiful areas to sit on the veranda near the pool. So many hotels I have stayed in aren't so inviting. We tend to stay in our room or go out somewhere. We enjoyed the old pictures around the hotel showing some of its earlier days with Model T Fords parked outside. The hotel is celebrating its 96th year and it has been restored beautifully. The rooms are on the small side but very comfortable. I enjoyed the details in the architecture and lighting as well as the landscaping. The pool area was very nice with lush landscaping. It has two hot tubs and a swim up bar. My only complaint would be its location to the main road just outside which made it a bit noisy. Do not expect a beautiful beach. Galveston is not the best beach in Texas. That would be in South Padre Island. The best beach areas in Galveston are Stewart's Beach (which cost a nominal fee to get to) and any pocket park beach area on west beach. The Strand area is fun for shopping and restaurants.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Road noise by the pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas_Travel_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed for a wedding, which was held at the hotel.

The Galvez is definiely old (96 years) but has been fairly well restored and is in good shape. Rooms were very comfortable. They are still renovating but the parts that are done (most of it) is very nice.

The hotel's lobby restaurant was EXCELLENT. Not a huge menu but everything was done right.

The pool is large and beautiful, especially at night.

Service was good, and they provide a parking structure next door as well as a few private lots. It was a very plesant place to stay.

The "ghost tour", in which the hotel takes you on a tour and talks of the ghosts that supposedly inabit the hotel, was sort of lame.

Also, elevator service tended to be slow at busy times.

All in all, a beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTheGameInventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel Galvez for 2 nights for a wedding. I got lucky and was able to get a discounted rate through the wedding party. The price of the hotel would be my only complaint, however, you get what you pay for.

The room was wonderful. Great bed, had a nice view of the ocean across the street, although the beaches werent anything to brag about if youre used to white sand and blue/green water. The room was smaller but I was by myself and it wasnt a problem. How much room do you really need on vacation anyway?? The bathroom was a nice size with a tub/shower, and a nice sized sink, along with a mirror from floor to ceiling on one side. Had a complimentary robe which was nice to lounge around in as well, especially going back and forth from the pool.

There is one large pool, with a swim up bar, and 2 hot tubs outside. The whole area is really nice and relaxing. The staff was very friendly and it was open really late as well which was nice. The only problem I had was that the music was really outdated, kinda like some cheap knockoff 80's reggae mix and the pool bar closed too early depending on the amount of people out there.

The bar inside stayed open till after midnight and several of the bartenders made some great drinks. They made everything I could think of. Each day when I would come back to the room to change for the evening there would be a cheese and cracker platter on the table waiting for me as a snack. Ive never had this at any other hotel Ive ever stayed at.

The whole hotel is nicely decorated and just puts you in a good mood. They had valet parking but since the parking deck was close to my room I just parked myself.

There are several nice restaurants close by along with some cool beach/surf shops. Its really a perfect location. I would definitely stay here again if I could get a good rate and I would love to go back to visit Galveston again.

  • Liked — Pool/Swim up bar area
  • Disliked — The pool bar closed too early
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sublimebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2007

This place is so much fun and makes a trip to Galveston a real treat! Driving up to the hotel is inspiring and walking into the elegant lobby makes you feel like you have arrived somewhere special. This hotel gets the details right: the swim-up bar in the heated pool, excellent room service, courteous staff, etc. The beach area in front of the hotel is not crowded at all and has ample sand, unlike other parts of the Seawall. The Galvez an excellent place for couples who want a romantic weekend getaway. The rooms are small because the hotel is 100 years old, but I prefer to call them cozy!

  • Liked — The Victorian elegance
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed at the hotel from June 3-7, 2007. You have options for parking. Valet, self parking free - covered garage parking across the street or on the back of the hotel which takes you to the side of the hotel in a gated parking - free. (best) The hotel outside landscaping is beuitiful . The staff was very nice and it took not even 10 minutes to get our keys. We arrived our snacks in the room. special for wyndham members. The room was nice and the size is a little smaller than some and the same size for others. We had a great view of the ocean (if for some reason you don't like your location just call and the staff will move you if space is available - I did. The beds are very comfortable. The food is great we had breakfast on thursday and it cost 27.24 that was for two adults and two kids we had waffles, variety of fresh fruit, made to order omelets bacon, cereal, yogurt etc.. the staff was so nice (bring a sweater.) We went to Ihop and had breakfast recv'd less paid 41.00. The pool is great the towels are located by the jacuzzi and they play muisc. fyi.. if you have kids bring a portable dvd player no disney or nickelodeon. but still i would stay here again for sure when visting galveston. The candid pictures are exactly how it looks.

  • Liked — openiness and food
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pcoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2007

This hotel was great. If you hear all the hotels are bad on galveston, NOT TRUE! this hotel was great. Very polite and just a hop away from Murdochs, a great, cheap store. I would recomend them any day.

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — the windows facing the beach.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing