We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We reserved a ocean view room. Half the view was obstructed by the roof of another part of the hotel. But that really didn't matter since the windows were so darn dirty (see pic). Had I been able to open them, I would have cleaned them myself. Oh and this was before hurricane Alex. Another issue with this hotel is regarding the maintenance, see pic of the shower. Also no mini-bar in room.

Positives: pool area ok, draft beer at pool for a reasonable $4.50, free access to computer, Internet and printing.

Would I stay here again, probably not.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,769 - 3,775 of 4,005 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

My clients loved this hotel and the spa treatments. They stayed in a 1-bedroom suite, which is not cheap, but they were very satisfied. He said:
"The hotel is beautiful, and the spa and pool are amazing. We feel like we were gone for a week! We did the massages and used the exercise room, which is also excellent. Our room had windows around the top of the hotel so we could see ocean about 270 degrees. The room was really nice. The furniture and carpet and bathroom and all are up to date. Thanks for the champagne and chocolate strawberries, that was really great! We even asked for a late checkout and went to the pool again all morning."
Acting as travel agent, I am very happy about this since I have never been to this property.
Making the reservation could have been easier. I called directly and dealt with agents that didn't seem to want to do anything more than utter the fewest words and exert the least amount of energy possible. HOWEVER!, the Res.Manager, Melanie, was awesome! She is the one that heard my plea to guarantee my clients' satisfaction for their 25th Anniversary weekend getaway. Melanie gave them very gracious treatment and she should be commended for excellent work.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rextrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Valet was wonderful, took our bags out and waited for us to check in, which only took us 5 min. We stayed on the 4th flr. It needs to be updated but it was clean. The room was small but clean with a nice view.
The pool was relaxing, they have a pool bar and snack bar which we loved . When the kids were hungry we ordered and ate at the pool.

The only bad experince was..... at the pool a waistress goes around taking your drinks.. For some reason she kept ignoring US.... We asked the pool boy if she could come over to take our order... NEVER came around.. for some reason we seen her every where else except in our area.... that was a disappointment after paying 250 a night....

When we left the Bellboys came to get our bags, were wonderful, asked if we enjoyed our stay and if we needed anything else before we checkout..
They need to train the Waitress at the pool on how to treat thier guest.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We were guests at the hotel last week, and it could not have been more pleasant. Our room was elegant, and the flat screen was a perfect touch. Free internet access of both wired and wi-fi was perfect and no need to fool with wi-fi if your computer doesn't like it. I even visited the spa twice while there. There is a full menu of services offered, the decor is amazing (redone after Ike), the staff was wonderful, and the prices were very reasonable- not the norm for hotel/resort spas. There is even a nice exterior access for non-guest patrons. The hotel staff was also very frienldly and accomodating, and the pool was great. There is a lunch menu and swim-up bar, so you really can relax and enjoy without leaving for lunch. Yes, some of the rooms are a bit small, but this is to be expected in a historic hotel. Overall, I would give our stay a praising 4.5-5.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The service is wonderful at the Galvez. 99% of the time they were there to open the door for us to let us in and out of the hotel. The pool was clean and easy to find a chair and a clean towel that they provide. Easy access to the parking garage or valet. Great location on the Seawall. The room was not a big as other places but we didn't spend much time in it. We were out on the beach or in the pool. The staff was all over us. We loved it. The breakfast buffet rocked and had I known it was so great I would have had it every day instead of just on our last morning. Towels provided in the gym with free apples and lockers, towels provided at the pool with beverage service available was a plus. We had our room temp on arctic blast when we slept and we slept soundly. We were even located by the service elevator and it didn't even matter. Very quiet and clean hotel. Very rarely did you see a room service dish sitting in the hall. Great job Hotel Galvez.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDietel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We spent one weekday night here, at a pretty good rate. This is an elegant old hotel, with a luxury feel. It does face the ocean, but like most of the "beachfront" hotels in Galveston, the beach is on the other side of a five-lane road. So an oceanfront room is not close at all to the ocean, as the hotel sits far back from the street. The lobby area is quite elegant, and there is free sangria there in late afternoon---a nice touch. The concierge was friendly and helpful. You can valet park, but there is a free covered lot right across a side street, and it was fine for us.

There were some issues in our stay here. We had a garden view room, which was fine, but unusually small for a luxury hotel. It was nicely furnished with contemporary decor, and the size wasn't a big problem for us, but it might be for others. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was a "study in ineptitude"---confused servers, long wait for food although hardly anyone was there, and mediocre food. Hopefully this is not typical. Also, there was only one desk clerk at the busy afternoon check-in time. Overall, I give it 4 stars primarily because of the beautiful interior and luxury feel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Thanks for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hotel Galvez is an elegant hotel and we are trying to make it better all the time. All our ocean view rooms are getting new windows to make the gulf views even better. Sorry about the restaurant service. We have been training our new seasonal staff but you deserve better. It will be better. I promise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed one night at the Galvez before departing on the Carnival Ecstacy - we have stayed at the Galvez once before, but back in the late 1990's - loved it then and they are currently going thru a major renovation - we splurged and booked one of their one-bedroom suites (8th floor - there were only three suites on this floor - ours, one other one bedroom and the presidentail suite) you also had a large TV/living area on the floor and a full size pool table!

The room was udated nicely, everything new and in working order, great A/C, fabulous views - 37" flat panel TV in both living room and bedroom and a nice jaccuzi tub/shower in the large bathroom and the views from the windows were spectacular.

We arrived at 3:45pm and told our room was not ready due to three weddings the night before, so we had an early glass of wine at the bar - pleasant staff - by 5pm they called and our room was ready - we ordered room service later that evening and got several appetizers including a nice wine/fruit and cracker platter that wasn't on the menu but they offered to put one together at our request - fabulous!

We worked out in the fitness center before checking out and heading to the cruise terminal - GREAT fitness center - lots of updated cardio and weight machines along with free weights as well - well done!

Can't say enough about this hotel - classy, historic, comfortable and elegant - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooterchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
780 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $141 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing