We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A National Trust Hotel to be Trusted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A National Trust Hotel to be Trusted”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We, my better half and Steve & Sally, spent the afternoon and night at the National Trust Hotel Gave and Spa. From check-in to check-out we enjoyed most pleasant experiences. While room seemed a bit small, the bed was WONDERFUL and one of most restful night sleep I've ever experienced. An afternoon at the spacious and moderately warm pool plus a drink at the poolside bar were precludes to the meal at Mario's ( Luigi's has closed and moved to Houston). The next morning we checked-out and went to our friends house about 50 miles north. We soon realized that I had left a jacket and two swimming suits in the room. One call to the hotel brought results and we picked up the items that afternoon. We will be back to stay at the hotel next fall.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your room and your time at the pool. By the way, we also have an amazing spa and onsite restaurant - Galvez Bar and Grill. We look forward to seeing you in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,045
    467
    216
    149
See reviews for
1,253
1,624
110
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I don't usually post reviews, but I was very shocked and disappointed with my treatment at the Hotel Galvez this evening.

I booked a last minute trip to the Galvez with my 35-40 pound dog. I did not know that there was a 25 pound limit because I had stayed at the hotel 6 months before with my dog.

Upon my arrival at the hotel, they took one look at my dog and told me they were cancelling my reservation. She is a chow mix, so maybe they had preconceived ideas about chows. I tried to explain that I had stayed at the hotel six months before with no problem at all, but they had no sympathy and were very rude and unsympathetic. I had driven two hours in rush hour traffic to get there. It was too late for me to find another pet-friendly hotel, so I just had to get back in my car and drive back to Houston.

I can't imagine what the manager was thinking allowing the desk staff to turn away a guest who booked the hotel in good faith. That is no way to run a business. I was humiliated. I felt that an exception for this one visit should have been made because I had stayed at the hotel with my dog previously. I would have gladly paid an extra fee or extra for room cleaning, but I was offered no such option.

The Hotel Galvez lost a loyal guest--this would have been my fourth or fifth stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francespost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We recently revised our pet policy to only allow pets of 25 pounds or less. Below is a copy of the policy. We are so sorry that staff did not refer you to a nearby pet boarding option. For your information, there is a kennel on Harborside Drive which is frequently used by cruise ship passengers.

Pet Policy
We are pleased to welcome your pet to our hotel. Our pet weight limit is 25 pounds. We charge a onetime non-refundable fee of $75 per pet. Pets over 25 pounds are not permitted at our hotel. Please advise our front desk staff if you are traveling with your pet.

For the comfort of our guests, pets are not permitted in our common areas (restaurant, bar, spa, health club), loitering in our lobby, or left unattended and noisy in your private room. Inquire with our front desk staff about neighborhood pet boarding options for pets that do not conform to our limitations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great place to get away and go back in time. A relaxed quiet (accept when there is a wedding party and that is to be expected) atmosphere. The pool is isolated and secluded from traffic. Nice experience. We try to go there several times a year and enjoy the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We love that you enjoyed our pool and the atmosphere of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit. By the way, we hope that you download our free tour app which is available for Smartphones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Horrible experience! First of all, the room was actually pretty small for the price we paid. It was a king size bed but i was expecting something wayyy bigger. 2nd. There were cracks on the walls and the room needed maintanance. Minor details that could have been taken care of by the hotel. Seems like they ignored the issue. 3rd. The tub is about 3 1/2 feet high. My wife and i almost slipped and fell after getting out of the shower. 4th and final issue. The most important issue to me was the mattress! Stiffest mattress i have ever slept on. It has been 4 days since my stay and my back still hurts. I will not be doing business with The Galvez in the Future! Just stay at La quinta or another nearby Hotel. Im sure it is cheaper and you will still get more for your money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your room at the hotel. As you can imagine, historic hotels differ from new construction in regard to room size. We appreciate your feedback and will share with the staff. We hope that you will give us another try or consider one of our sister properties - The Tremont House and Harbor House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
751 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing