We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Garland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel had a great location directly across the street from the beach! Great hotel accommodations however the bathroom was extremely small. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the amenties the hotel provides. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMJones09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and would recommend a stay. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    1,044
    467
    215
    149
See reviews for
1,252
1,623
110
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Galvez in July 2013. Yes, the rooms are smaller than average, but the layout and angles of our room enabled our family of 4 (which included 2 toddlers) to manage comfortably. The room had a king bed and two windows showing views of the water. The hotel is beautiful and every staff member smiled and exchanged pleasantries. Check out the outdoor pool and hot tub. Even had dinner at the on-site restaurant; the prices are reasonable, the food was tasty, and the kids loved Ms. Nannette.

This hotel is clean and beautifully decorated yet embraces families. We never felt out of place.

Free parking is behind the hotel. The beach area directly across from the hotel isn't the best (that area had tons of seaweed), but the pool and hot tub more than make up for the poor beach conditions.

Room Tip: Room 200 is a corner room, away from the elevators, and has two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are pleased that you found Hotel Galvez family friendly and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning Nannette. We'll make sure we share your compliments. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to escape for four days to get a bit of R&R. I purchased a great internet rate on a city facing room. Upon arrival I did not like the room I was assigned and asked the staff if there was anything a little bigger. The hotel promptly put us in a much nicer room - facing the ocean! The staff were all pleasant, helpful and polite. The food and drinks were great, service was great. Especially the restaurant staff, hotel trainees from the Philippines who had the biggest smiles! We did a couples massage at the Spa - which was heavenly!! Thank you Genesis! Everything about our stay was perfect! I highly recommend the Galvez.

Room Tip: We had a room near the elevator - but never heard a sound. The plus about this was that we were rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your couples massage at The Spa. We will forward to compliments to Genesis. Please make a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed there over 4th of July. Rooms are small but comfortable. You dont go to Galveston for the room anyway. Very cool lobby, good breakfast. Plenty of offsite parking or valet. Beautiful lawns in front of hotel, walking distance ot many attractions. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the nice review on your stay at Hotel Galvez. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
751 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing