We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Needs A Makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This Hotel Needs A Makeover”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location and a truly historic property. It's a shame Wyndham hasn't spent the money to bring it up to date. I was there for four nights in May. Just some general comments:

1. There is a funky odor that lingers on the main floor lobby 24/7; UGH
2. The guest rooms are cramped
3. No desk to work at in my room
4. No comfortable place to sit in the room aside from the bed
5. The only chair in the room was a hard spartan wooden chair
5. No free coffee in the lobby (it was sold ~$4 per cup)

The hotel is right across the street from the seawall, so it was nice to simply cross the street for a nice walk along the gulf. I was told that the hotel is haunted (seems a young lady hung herself there many years ago), but I didn't experience any paranormal activity :-).

All in, an interesting property, but one that is sorely in need of a facelift.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzierb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I wanted to let you know that the credenza includes a pullout that serves as a desk in the room. As you noticed, the rooms are smaller than modern day construction. The needs of guests in 1911 are a little different than 2013 and we've done our best to make the rooms comfortable. All the guest rooms were renovated in 2011 as part of our centennial celebration and we recently completed a major renovation of the lobby, bar and restaurant. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,031
    1,027
    465
    211
    148
See reviews for
1,229
1,602
107
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had never stayed at the Galvez before, we're looking forward to experiencing the fine old historic hotel. Really the only good thing about this place (we are still here) is the view of the hotel from Seawall Blvd., once we got inside things went downhill fast. It's just not an attractive hotel at all, it looks old but has no charm. The pool is very small and there were no chairs available, so we just sat in the overcrowded pool with everyone else. The hotel seems to be staffed by college kids on summer break, not professional at all. The rooms are very small, bathroom tiny with a crummy shower in a tub. Sloppy caulking work everywhere. No corkscrew in the room, took 1/2 hour to have one brought up. Called and asked for more towels an hour ago, still not here. Coffee in the lobby 4 bucks. Honestly don't see how anyone who has ever stayed in fine hotels could give this place a good rating. A huge disappointment!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendOBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Please know that we take feedback to heart and, when possible, do our best to address it. In the future, you may want to consider visiting during the week when the pool is a little quieter. We hope that you took advantage of our complimentary bikes and spa. Please consider giving us another try. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

what a place, and a great location, was treated like royalty, probably the most friendly and helpful staff i have encountered. i don't think i have ever given a hotel a 5 star review. room was comfortable as well as the bed, no noise to speak of, quaint lobby bar, and a pool area that looked like paradise, i enjoyed a long evening after dark in the front lawn chairs, the only thing i didn't care for is that it is pet friendly, i feel there should be separate floors for that, but do enjoy this place, i fully recommend it.

Room Tip: there unfortunately are rooms right beside the elevator, i didn't stay in one but would steer cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boilermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed the bar, pool, and outdoor seating in Centennial Green. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Galvez was quite a fantastic experience. The ambience and tranqulity of the hotel compounded with a very friendly and caring staff added to the joy of our stay as we celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary. We are looking forward to our future stay as Hotel Galvez, definitely it will be much sooner than our next wedding anniversary. Without a doubt, one of the world's finest!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Franklyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Congratulations on 33 years. Next time, you may want to join us for our Wedding Vow Renewal in June. It's an annual event and we know that you would enjoy it. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Highly recommend Hotel Galvez & Spa.

Pros: Spa was incredible (recommend Michelle & Pauline), great location on the seawall near the new Pleasure Pier, swim up bar was great, free hotel rental bicycles which we used a couple of times, historic hotel charm, great staff

Cons: Construction in the lobby (May 2013) meant there was a temporary bar in a conference room, food at the pool was sub-par, weekends at the pool can be extremely crowded but Friday and Monday were great, small room but with a great ocean view (for a historic hotel we expected the room to be small)

This was the first time for my wife and I to stay at this property and we'll be back. We've stayed in Galveston at the San Luis and Tremont House which are both excellent hotels but we like the charm/location of Hotel Galvez.

Room Tip: Ask for a high, ocean view floor. The front desk is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate your compliments to our staff at the spa and front desk. We are pleased to share that the renovation is complete and we have now opened our new Galvez Bar & Grill. We know that you'll love the new look and menu. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a really nice experience. It was elegant, relaxing, and my four year old granddaughter loved her first trip to the beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased that you and your four-year-old granddaughter enjoyed the trip to the beach. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
726 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing