We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This charming island princess is sporting a new pair of shoes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This charming island princess is sporting a new pair of shoes”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What an absolutely enjoyable experience. Door personal greeted us with a smile, escorted us through open doors to the reception area, where we were efficiently recognized with a smile and directed to our comfortable guestroom with a clear view of the Seawall and the Gulf. Recent refurbishment indicates new guestroom package with the most comfortable bedding and duvet package, carefully prepared to our request. New large screen TV's cantilevered from the wall in front of the bed, with ample closet space (corner room) and efficient bath. Bath a little tight if two are grooming concurrently, but very nice appointments, a gushing shower head (maybe we should constrict the ample flow), and complimentary WiFi with plenty of bandwidth. The cabana area, was meticulously coifed for a busy afternoon of sun lovers and embibers and refreshments offered and delivered as soon as the concoctions could be prepared....on this afternoon..a bit slowly. Friendly valet staff and warm and attentive breakfast service with our party enjoying the buffet. Very good coffee...quite a bit better than the morning coffee offered in the lobby in the early AM. On this day, there were obvious signs of wedding attedants, planners and servers preparing for nupials on the lawn with the Gulf breeze providing the airco. I can't imagine a better venue for a wedding event. Although this island hotel has over a hundred years of history...I doubt it has ever been operated with a more focused set of associates. Little annoyances of small elevators competing with a steady stream of wedding goers and island vacationers made our decision to use the stairwell to the second floor and then up the stairwell a positive arobic experience. Although not used on this visit, a seasoned concierge was standing by prepared to expedite personal wishes upon request. Front desk personnel were warm, engaging and prepared for our arrival. Excellent team spirt made this very enjoyable. Good job.

Room Tip: The corner king room at the end of the corridor is a preferred location. I would avoid the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freezeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Your positive comments regarding our service are appreciated as well as your feedback on the service at the pool. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,930
    990
    456
    203
    139
See reviews for
1,167
1,538
105
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We'd lived in nearby Houston for 22 years and had always wanted to stay at the Galvez or San Luis, but for various reasons never had. Finally, we went to Galveston for a quick getaway and the stars aligned. The Galvez remains an impressive property. We'd gotten an attractive rate on a travel website for a city view room and upon checkin they upgraded us to a Gulf view room. The bedding was high quality and comfortable and the room, and especially the bathroom, had been attractively renovated. The pool/pool bar area was down below street level, quite private, and well-furnished. The Lobby Bar area was being renovated during our visit (likely a reason for the nice rate). All in all, Wyndham seems committed to maintaining this property at a high level. The location right on the seawall is hard to beat. Of course, Galveston ain't Bali, but the people-watching is still pretty interesting, and we enjoyed a nice twilight walk on the beach as far as Gaido's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are pleased that you finally had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are also happy that you enjoyed the hotel and all the Galveston people watching. It sounds like you also had the opportunity to walk off your dinner at Gaido's. A little trivia - Hotel Galvez and Gaido's both opened in 1911. We hope that you return for another visit after we complete our renovations so you can enjoy our new Galvez Bar & Grill. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Whenever we think of the Galvez we smile. It's one of our favorite getaways. We leave looking ahead to our next opportunity to visit. It's location is great. We love being in one of America's Historic hotels. There is lots to do in Galveston and we are never disappointed with the grandeur of the Hotel Galvez

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are happy to read that Galveston and Hotel Galvez is your "favorite getaway." We hope that you stay with us again very soon. And, as you know, Galveston's calendar is filled with a variety of free events and festivals during the summer and fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have nothing bad to say! I have always wanted to stay at this historic hotel starting from my very first trip to Galveston! So glad to finally have, now I don't think any of the other hotels could live up to it! My family and I come to Galveston a once or twice a year and this time we finally stayed at the Galvez. The room is on the smaller side but its cozy and charming. The bathroom is big, and the bath was great! The beds are large and comfortable. Our room was facing the gulf and the entire view, including the rows of palms on the front lawn, were beautiful. At night, the entire hotel is gorgeously lit up with spotlights and it stands out from everything else on the island. It was very nice to have a private parking garage. and The hotel was at the perfect location, across from Murdochs and The Pleasure Pier. We didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel but plan on it for next time. We also didn't get to swim in the GORGEOUS pool because it rained and was chilly from a cold front during our entire stay, but it's number one on our to-do list for next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosmogurlkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Thank you for calling our hotel "amazing." We are thrilled that Hotel Galvez met your expectations and we look forward to your next stay with us. During your next stay, make sure you make reservations for our Sunday Brunch. Southern Living Magazine called it one of the best in Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Galveston itself is pretty unusual. Half the town is derelict and the other half is lively and charming.

This hotel sums the place up perfectly. It's over a hundred years old, and has a couple of displays charting the history of the town and the hotel itself (apparently the penthouse was inhabited by a gangster who ran illegal gambling on a (now demolished) pier across the street - fascinating stuff). It stands out against every other building as a grand, spooky old building, surrounded by palm trees and landscaped lawns. Admittedly, I didn't encounter the ghost of the lovelorn lady but I can see where the legend comes from.

It's similar inside - the decor's very lush in the lobby, the pool is like a posh Miami boutique hotel (specifically it reminded me of the Tides, but better) and there's a quaint old mail drop system next to the elevators. The rooms are a little bit small, but that's part of the charm of the place for me - the bathrooms are proportionally huge (nearly the same space as the bed room) and the view from gulf-facing rooms is beautiful. Beds are very comfy, TVs are large, and everything was nice and clean.

The pool bar and restaurant are great. The restaurant is perhaps a bit quiet and stuffy, but we only had breakfast there (3 times), and the food was great, both buffet and menu items (Huevos Juarez was my favourite option). The dining room is huge, and has a grand, high ceiling and windows facing out over the lush pool area with a partial view of the gulf. The pool bar has friendly staff but the beer prices are a bit high ($5 a can) - the pool itself is very nice though. There was no mini bar in our room, not sure if there is in others.

The hotel is kind of a long walk from some of the Galveston attractions (notably for us, the mini golf and Rainforest café were about 35 blocks down), but is right next to the Pleasure Pier, a 1 mile walk from the Strand district, about half that distance to Bishop's Castle, and has plenty of walkable bar/food options and beaches.

Parking is in a secure garage (room key for access) across the road, and is free. Check in staff are very friendly and helpful as are the door staff and room service. I can't think of a single complaint. I love this hotel. It's kind of expensive, but you get what you pay for, especially if you're interested in Galveston's history.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your very through review of your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and its historic appeal. As you mentioned, the hotel is a mile from Galveston's historic Strand District and Pier 21. Please note that the hotel offers a courtesy shuttle for guests to our sister hotel - The Tremont House and transportation to sites/restaurants that are within 3 miles from the hotel. We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for your tips and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very disappointing visit for a birthday celebration! I expected step into a lovely lobby at the Hotel Galvez. Instead, I encountered the lobby and bar area under construction, draped with white curtains. We were told the construction noise would end at 5:00 p.m. On the second night of our stay, it ended at 7:00 p.m.! So much for sitting quietly in the lobby and having a drink. The room was disappointing as well, small with a stained carpet. Hopefully, things will improve after the renovation is completed. The location is excellent and the pool area is lovely.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jerkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay at Hotel Galvez. Please accept our sincere apologies that your birthday stay wasn't as enjoyable as we would have liked. The construction is scheduled to be completed by Memorial Weekend and, at that time, we will unveil our new Galvez Bar & Grill. We hope that you will give us another chance for next year's birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing