We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,966)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,864 - 2,870 of 3,966 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Bad mattress the front desk would not replace - instead they offered us a downgrade to a smaller room overlooking the parking lot; called for a porter to come get our luggage at checkout - waited 45 minutes for no-show then hauled it all down myself in 4 trips! The vinyl chair in the room was also wornout, offered no back support, and was filthy. Asked to have the vinyl cleaned but was ignored AGAIN! The hallway and room carpets were very dirty and stained, and we found old dried vomit on one of the blankets they put on our bed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! La Quinta Inn has cleaner rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DallasRedHatDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. I'm sorry that the cleanliness was not up to your standards nor ours. While we don't have extra mattresses on site, we can definitely address your other concerns which will be shared with the appropriate staff. We hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife stayed 1 night on April 20-21, 2013. This was our first stay. We paid $424 (includes taxes, & etc.) for room 618. We requested a room with an ocean view. We got one, but barely.

First the good:
- comfortable king bed
- room was clean but smelled musty
- *very* quiet
- staff friendly and courteous
- covered parking next to hotel
- nice walk-in shower
- WiFi worked great
- great location across the street from the beach and near many attractions
- non-smoking hotel

The bad:
- *TINY* room. I mean *REALLY* tiny for that price. I think that they claimed that it was 275 sq. ft. That works about to around 13x13 for the bedroom. Think about how small that is with a king size bed thrown in.
- Only one smallish window with an ocean view. No balcony.
- View of ocean (maybe 1/3 of view) was obscured by roof of hotel.
- Window with ocean view was so dirty that it was almost like looking through wax paper (not quite that bad, but you get the idea).
- No microwave.
- Very musty smell that we never got used to.
- The recent release movies were "only" $17.99 on pay-for-view.
- All of the food was similarly overpriced, so we didn't sample any.
- The hotel lobby on the main floor was under construction. They tried to cover it up as best they could with cloth screens, but it was still a mess and an eyesore.
- Coffee machine in the room didn't work very well (only produced about 1/2 cup of coffee).
- Lock on parking garage didn't work. Supposedly, our room key would work on it, but it wouldn't work for us. We had to wait for a car to enter and follow it in. We noticed another guest having the same problem.
- Parking garage was very dingy. Lots of small bits of trash around.
- As we were leaving, we noticed a woman getting on the elevator with two medium-sized dogs on a leash, apparently headed to her room. I love dogs (we have 3 ourselves), but I don't like the idea of staying in a room that may have been shared with pets before we arrived.

I know that some of these things may seem petty, but for a 4-star hotel that cost over $400 for one night, I couldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want a room with an ocean view, be sure to request one on an upper floor and one that it not...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review on Hotel Galvez & Spa. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy the room. Historic hotels do have some limitations when compared to new construction in regard to room size. You mentioned pets, the hotel does allow pets that are 25 pounds or less and they are required to be kept in the room. You also mentioned our hotel renovations which are scheduled to be complete in time for Memorial Weekend. At that time, we will unveil a new Galvez Bar & Grill. Thank you for your feedback on the garage, your comments will be shared with the appropriate staff. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
765 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $141 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing