We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONSTRUCTION NIGHTMARE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We love Wyndham resorts but booked this one w tripadvisor.com & were NOT warned about the huge remodeling being done! Our room was located on the third floor near the elevator and the noise was terrible. We checked into a normal hotel on Sunday night and woke to pounding and screaching saws Monday morning. I was disappointed that I was not notified of this when I made the reservations, not in an email when our reservations were confirmed, nor when we checked in on Sunday night. Fortunately the manager when we left was kind enough to adjust the rate down from a full priced room - but I would not have choosen that resort for this vacation if I had known!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank PinkCactusCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your insight on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We anticipate that our renovations will be completed by Memorial Weekend. We are very excited about our new Galvez Bar & Grill and the renovations to our lobby. We hope that you return to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,966)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,932 - 2,938 of 3,966 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The valet parking was a highlight, does that give you a hint? Jackhammers in the lobby leading to an ineffectual check-in desk. Post check-in we went to the pool area, which after a 30 minute wait (though requested service 4 different times), we went inside to an area which I assume is a temporary bar / service area. With a small "bribe" we were offered cocktails but no food. We gave up and moved our party of 9 to one of our 4 rooms. The single highlight (and I do mean single) was Becky in the dining room where enjoyed a good meal with exceptional service. The guest rooms are small but well appointed though the understaffed staff was still turning rooms at 9 p.m.. Checkout yielded incorrect checks (though instructions were given 3 months in advance) and a terse "we are sorry". Indeed they are!! What a shame such a grand historic hotel is being so underserved by an inept, uncaring, and unprofessional staff. We have stayed many times in Galveston (Tremont, Harbor House, etc.) and some time in the very distant future we might try The Galvez again and hope for the best. Very overpriced for the value received.

Room Tip: Wait for the renovation to be completed, book the least expensive room, hope for the best. Our expe...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeStefHalJoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay due to our current renovation. As you mentioned, we are currently renovating our lobby, bar and restaurant. These renovations should be completed in time for Memorial Weekend. Thank you for sharing your experience at the pool and in the restaurant. We appreciate the feedback on the service and we will share your comments with the appropriate staff. We hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Galvez is a lovely, historic hotel. Overall, I enjoyed my 3 night stay there. I was, however, surprised to arrive and discover that the main restaurant was closed for renovations. I would have preferred to be alerted to this when making my reservations. Not because food was not available - Bernardo's operated in an alternate location - but because of the daytime noise of hammering / drilling / banging, etc. This was a business trip and as such I spent considerable time in the hotel during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay in regard to our renovations. We will make sure that staff is aware of the issues that you mentioned so they can be addressed. Our renovation project is scheduled to be completed in time for Memorial Weekend so we hope that you stay with us again for business or pleasure soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only got to stay at the Hotel Galvez one night, and that was disappointing since it is such a nice hotel. Great location across from the beach. Kids loved the pool. Very clean. Rooms are a bit small, but this is a very old hotel. Excellent size for a bathroom though.
My husband loved the breakfast buffet so much that he missed it when we had to go eat cruise food - that says a lot. It is five minutes away from the cruise terminal and they have a free shuttle to get you there.
They have bikes to borrow for free, so my husband and son took them for an hour to check out the coastline. My daughter and I walked along the beach taking pictures and got some excellent shots.
Well worth the expense, but I wish we had another day to enjoy more of it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We love that you had a chance to enjoy the pool, food and our complimentary bicycles. We hope that you will stay with us for more than just one day in the future. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent the weekend with friends (and their children) on Spring break. VERY attentive staff! Breakfast buffet was a bit expensive, especially Sunday. Self parking is somewhat inconvenient. Pool area is very attractive. My favorite place to relax was the open (covered) patio of the pool deck. My only complaint was that there were only two elevators for the number of rooms! Certainly, retrofitting more elevators would be difficult and very expensive. Waiting for an elevator to transport luggage took 30 min.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay regarding the elevators. Historic hotels face some challenges due to the structure and design and, as you know, Hotel Galvez opened in 1911. We love that you enjoyed the pool area and hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
765 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $141 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing