We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I slept in a closet...well since mine at home is bigger than the room anyway” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    923
    435
    194
    125
See reviews for
1,083
1,402
94
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We were put up here due to a cancellation of our cruise. Was nice we didnt have to pay, but the bathroom was not clean. The countertop hadnt been wiped down fromthe previous occupants and when you see that it makes you wonder if the room hadbeen cleaned at all. Pool & hot tub were non funtional. For breakfast i had an omelet which was good, but the homefires were greasy and cold, coffee was luke warm also. I expected more from this hotel. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately, your stay at the hotel coincided with the one week that we were servicing the pool. The pool and hot tub is now open. We hope that you will give us another try and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A nice comfortable hotel on the sea wall. The staff were really great especially reception and concierge who went out of there way to be helpful.The room was large clean and comfortable . The free shuttle service to and from the old town and the Hotel Tremont was really useful especially if you wanted to eat out .The only minus was the free parking which was across the road a few minutes walk from the main hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lichfield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate your insight and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to see our sister property - The Tremont House. We hope that you had the opportunity to see the Rooftop Bar when you stopped in at The Tremont. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm late with this review, but my husband and I stayed there January 5 for an overnight stay. I did email a special request and asked if they could put champange in the room as it was our 20th anniversary. Check in was awesome. The clerk wished us a happy anniversary. Once we arrived in the room, there was a bottle of red wine and chocolate covered strawberries, with a note from the hotel staff wishing us a happy anniversary. It was a beautiful hotel - older but well kept. Service was impeccable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tavemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate being part of this important milestone and we are happy that our staff could add to your experience. We hope that you will celebrate many anniversaries to come with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing