We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A nice comfortable hotel on the sea wall. The staff were really great especially reception and concierge who went out of there way to be helpful.The room was large clean and comfortable . The free shuttle service to and from the old town and the Hotel Tremont was really useful especially if you wanted to eat out .The only minus was the free parking which was across the road a few minutes walk from the main hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lichfield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate your insight and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to see our sister property - The Tremont House. We hope that you had the opportunity to see the Rooftop Bar when you stopped in at The Tremont. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    973
    454
    203
    136
See reviews for
1,151
1,504
103
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm late with this review, but my husband and I stayed there January 5 for an overnight stay. I did email a special request and asked if they could put champange in the room as it was our 20th anniversary. Check in was awesome. The clerk wished us a happy anniversary. Once we arrived in the room, there was a bottle of red wine and chocolate covered strawberries, with a note from the hotel staff wishing us a happy anniversary. It was a beautiful hotel - older but well kept. Service was impeccable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tavemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate being part of this important milestone and we are happy that our staff could add to your experience. We hope that you will celebrate many anniversaries to come with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms were great, beds comfy, food ordered from the room service was good and so was the breakfast. The staff was friendly too. The rooms are very tastefully furbished. Absolutely nothing to complain about, our stay was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisa_PRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate your insight and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was beautiful! I have stayed at many hotels in my travels but this hotel was unexpected. I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was comfortable and we had an excellent view from our window. We went on the "ghost tour" of the hotel and that was fun, you learn about the history of the hotel and Galveston. The pool area is stunning! I would definitely stay at Hotel Galvez again if my travels ever bring me back to this area in Texas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariatia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank for sharing your positive experience at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our ghost tour and that you were "pleasantly surprised" with the hotel. By the way, Hotel Galvez offers public ghost tours paired with dinner during the month of October so we're glad you got a preview. We hope that you make your way to Galveston again and stay with us. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent a few days in Galveston, and booked well in advance to get a good rate. We chose the Hotel Galvez & Spa to taste a bit of beachside luxury before heading back home to Scandinavia. Our expectations were high, and we were not let down. The building and its surroundings exude a Raffles-style ambience, and the central location was perfect for experiencing Galveston and surroundings.

Smallish but well-appointed room with a comfortable bed. Tasteful pool area. Convenient secured complimentary parking in adjacent building. Fast wi-fi. Great service.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamDogH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us before returning home to Scandivania. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel and we hope you choose Galveston again during a future visit to the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night but this is a beautiful hotel. I had a room with a king bed on the fifth floor that had a view of the Gulf. Price $150 for the night. The bar staff in the lobby was friendly. I especially liked it that they had Hendricks Gin. I ate a snack in the late afternoon of empanadas, then later had a Cuban sandwich with slaw. All were excellent and I chose to eat at the bar. I checked out the pool that was located in a lovely setting. I self-parked my car in the secure garage across the street. The hotel is across the street from the promenade that fronts the Gulf. I walked 2.5 miles in one direction and turned back to the hotel. This is a great location. The amusement park is close to the hotel and there are many restaurants within walking distance. My husband wasn't with me on this trip, so I am sure we will be making a second trip down to visit this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank durangodawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed a cocktail and dining in our bar. It was also good to read that you enjoyed a nice walk on the Seawall. Just a bit of trivia: Galveston's Seawall is the longest, continuous sidewalk in the U.S. We also wanted to let you know that we are planning to expand the bar and renovate the lobby and restaurant this spring and we know that you and your husband will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing