We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Cruise Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent hotel, staff, facilities, and location! From the valet attendants to check-in staff to housekeepers, the employees at the Hotel Galvez and Spa go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and care-free. This is an older hotel, so expect smaller rooms but this wasn't a problem for me and my two friends (all grown women). We had room #407 with a partial ocean view as well as a view of the Pleasure Pier. Beds are very, very comfy with lots of pillows, soft sheets, and warm duvets. Bathroom was roomy and the shower head is excellent for helping to relax the neck and back after a long drive. Towels are soft and there's plenty of hot water while showering. Air conditioning worked great and room service provided quick service with a hot, delicious breakfast. Two of us had eggs and one had pancakes. Coffee makers are provided in-room but we didn't have a refrigerator, which was not a problem. Check-in and check-out was quick as was the valet service. We parked our car there while on a 5 day cruise and one nights stay plus additional fee for parking was less than $160. They offer free shuttle to and from the port when sailing.This will be where I stay in the future when traveling to Galveston. Give the Hotel Galvez a try, I promise you'll love it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytxn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback on your stay. We will share your review with our staff so they know that their efforts made an impression. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,161 - 3,167 of 4,069 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked here because we were attending an event at the hotel and our contact had spoken very highly of the place. We were quite disappointed with our experience. While it is a beautiful historic hotel the staus of the rooms left a lot to be desired. The 1st room they gave us had candy on the floor, stains on the duvet & dirty linens in the bath, obviously not thoroughly cleaned. The staff apologized & gave us another room. It was better, but still not that clean I expect no matter the grade level of a motel/hotel. The bathroom fixtures & moulding were caked with dust, fixtures splattered with toothpaste, etc. Housekeeping didn't resupply shampoo or soap (with a 5 day stay) until we finally called for some & even that took a few calls on our part. Also, it didn't help that the mattress felt old & lumpy which made it difficult to sleep. We would've left after the 1st night, but didn't want to dishonor our host. We cannot recommend it nor would we stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssssue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I'm very sorry for your experience at the hotel and please know that it's not typical. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I will make sure that housekeeping is aware of your feedback so it can me addressed. We hope you will give us another try during a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank BETTY M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Three ladies went here for massages and I have to say that it was the nicest spa that I have ever been to. We were given a glass of champagne for starters and sliced cucumbers for our eyes while relaxing in a posh room that looked like something out of ancient Egypt. Our massages were amazing and we want to go back real soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstonnative47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments on our spa. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your services as well as the added amenities like the champagne in the relaxation room. Our spa staff will appreciate your compliments. We hope you make another girls getaway to the spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank SONTERA D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Galvez before departing for our Disney Cruise. We arrived at the hotel around 1 am after a late arrival into Houston Hobby. The front desk staff was efficient and gave us quick instruction on the use of the gated hotel parking lot. We had a 'city' view, which was the type of room we reserved. We didn't plan to spend too much time looking out the window, instead we would be out experiencing the beach, etc. The room was well appointed and clean. The room could have used better lighting, it was a bit dim in the evening. We walked next store to Millers for breakfast each morning, and also went out for dinner, so we did not experience the hotel restaurant. We did go downstairs to walk through the "Hotel Galvez" history display, it was interesting.
This hotel is in a good location, we walked across the street to the beach. The staff were professional and we found the valet crew to be polite and always ready to open the door, anytime someone approached it. We used the option to leave our car with the hotel while we cruised. The hotel took cruisers over to the terminal and seemed to have a good system. Upon our return, the hotel shuttle made continuous loops to the terminal picking up 'past' guests. The driver called the tag numbers back to the hotel and upon arrival, we waited maybe 5 minutes or so for our car (just enough time to run into the hotel and use the facilities). Our car was pulled up, we loaded in and off we went. The hotel was busy providing service to returning cruisers as well as providing transportation to guests just about to begin their cruise. The valet staff remained pleasant and helpful.
This is a very good choice if you are coming into Galveston prior to a cruise. We had a very clean, nice room, beautiful hotel with historical presence. The rate was worth the comfortable, clean surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at Hotel Galvez before your Disney cruise. We appreciate the positive feedback on our front desk staff, valet and shuttle service. It is wonderful to read that you were pleased with our service and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank STELLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
817 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $131 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing