We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Galvez”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    1,023
    465
    211
    148
See reviews for
1,226
1,601
107
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed overnight with my sister...We loved it, it was a treat to ourselves after a 10 day road trip. We had steaks w/ garlic butter and sour dough bread @ the hotel, we loved it. I would love to come w/ my husband, but it's a great girls getaway spot, I can't wait to come back. The service and the grounds were impressive!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurel817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here before our cruise in Oct. Lovely hotel. We booked a "partial ocean view" & were upgraded upon our arrival to a full ocean view....without even asking! However, the room was a hanicap accessable room directly across from the elevators on floor 6. We could hear the elevator's bell & then people outside our door talking... I knew this would never work as I am a light sleeper. So, I called the front desk with my concerns & she said "give me a few minutes & I'll see what I can do...the hotel is completely booked because of a wedding, so I'm not sure what I can do." Within a few minutes she called back to say that a room was being cleaned just down the hall & as soon as it was ready, they'd send a bellman up to move us. Sure enough, minutes later, we were moved to the room down the hall. A smaller room, (not an accessable room like the other). We still had a great view & the room was BEAUTIFUL!

We could walk to numerous restaurants & of course the beach. The Pleasure Pier is a short walk away & was visable from our room. Beautiful site at night!

We ate the morning buffet in the restaurant. It was delishous. We strolled around the grounds before we left & found the wonderful pool area. We didn't have time to swim, so, we will do that on our next visit.

We highly reccommend this hotel... oh & there is a room on the 5th floor.... 501 that is Haunted!

Room Tip: Don't accept a room by the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Galveston Island is not a pretty place (sorry) - but this hotel makes up for it. Such a wonderful and stately building. I think the only reason I would visit Galveston Island again is to experience this old world charm that the Galvez offers. The rooms are pretty small, but everything is functional and spotlessly clean. The elevator is slow, but who's in a hurry? The small rooms and slow elevator just takes one back to a golden age, when all was not instant and huge.

Everyone I came into contact with on my 4 day visit was so helpful, friendly and charming. I spent many hours around the pool, and because it was mid-week, it was quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your positive feedback on your stay and we love that our hotel was the highlight of your stay. We hope you visit Galveston again and take in some of the other historic sites like The Grand 1894 Opera House, Moody Mansion and Bishop's Palace. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Still a classic hotel with new upgrades. A/C was loud & high pitched even after I switched both rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank DIETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
724 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing