We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October weekend at the Galvez”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“October weekend at the Galvez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend there and thoroughly enjoyed it. We drove down from Dallas and had a couples massage when we arrived. We made a reservation for the massage, in advance and it was worth it!

The hotel is close to restaurants and The Strand.

We spent 2+ hours by the pool, late Saturday afternoon. There is a bar at the pool.

We did eat Sunday brunch at the hotel restaurant, Bernardo's. This is a champagne brunch and a really good buffet. I recommend the French toast and the bacon in particular.

As Sandy remarked on our way back to Dallas, it was only a weekend but it felt like a vacation. We will definitely be back at the Galvez again.

Duncan & Sandy

Room Tip: Any room facing the island side is probably quieter than the front of the hotel. That said, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    975
    454
    203
    136
See reviews for
1,153
1,504
103
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Galvez is extremely old but is kept up well. Free WiFi unlike many of the more expensive hotels.Self Parking is also free. The elevators are a little slow but otherwise no problems.

Did not dine in the restaurants except for banquet servings which were fine.

Room Tip: Try for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Tx
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I went on a weekend away without the kids and stayed two nights here. I had no idea a head of time that this hotel had history as far as paranormal until the last night staying there. My husband and I were on the 5th floor in the famous Room 500 were supposably in the early 1900's a woman had hung herself from the beam outside the room and her soul is still stuck there. My husband found all this on the enternet that last night before we went out for dinner. We noticed the thermastat twice had went up higher than what we had had it set at. Then when I was getting ready to go out to dinner that night the lights in the bathroom went off on me while I was putting on my make up. We got back to the room around 10 pm that night. Everything was fine until around 1 am I was falling asleep and my husband had went downstairs to smoke I hear two loud bangs on the wall where the head board is and then something pushed the headboard so hard (it's attached to the wall) it pushed me up in the bed. Needless to say it took forever to fall back asleep that night. But other than that we loved the hotel with its rich history and it's absolutly beautiful there. The staff was extremely nice and attentive. The hotel was clean and in order. I will say I was surprised at how small the room was, we had the King with two huge windows with views to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLouConroe_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had an ocean view and we stayed 4 days.

The rooms are comfortable.

The room had a new TV, but the remote was for the old TV. The guide that was provided did not match the TV stations. The refrigerator compressor was very noisy and recycled all through the night. One bar of bath soap was provided and never replaced. (I had to snatch a bar off a cart in the hallway!} The carpet was quite worn.
Everyone was helpful and polite. The restaurant on the premises was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imAngelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the feedback on your stay. On behalf of the hotel and our staff, I apologize for your stay. I will share your input with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We do hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first trip to Texas. I certainly did not expect this gem. The Galvez has you stepping back in time to the days of grand hotels and glamourous movie stars. There are suites named after presidents and famous people who frequented the hotel back in its earlier days. Though the hotel has been through some transformations, it has not lost that original charm. We participated in the October dinner and ghost tour. The guide was enthusiastic about the hotel's other worldly guests and their stories. Other than the shameless plug for Wyndham, it was informative. Most of the other people on the tour were locals who had been on the tour before, and make it an annual event. There was even a local author on the tour. The Sunday brunch was quite good despite the warnings from other guests that the food at Banards is subpar. On that note, our breakfast croissants were burnt this morning... And we replaced them with toast and jam. The rooms pale in comparison to the rest of the hotel, no view from our room, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were all very lovely and accommodating. We will return to the Galvez. Another note, as a lesbian couple we never felt any prejudice; on the contrary we were welcome and felt quite at home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angamangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing