We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
AVERY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the second year my husband, son, and I have stayed at the Hotel Galvez. It was even better the second time around. I had no idea this amazing hotel could top last year’s visit, but it did. Staying at the Galvez will become a family tradition for us.
We were treated like the hotel’s most important guests. It was as though we were the only ones staying here, but the hotel was busy with guests. Thank you for making us feel special. My son especially loves that you have cucumber water waiting just for him.
Our room had an amazing view of the Gulf and the Historic Pleasure Pier. The views in the hotel and out are stunning. I cannot capture them in words. The room was just as lovely as the views outside. Clean and comfortable and stylish. Great job maid staff!
I am already daydreaming about next year’s visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    956
    450
    201
    134
See reviews for
1,135
1,469
102
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FORT WORTH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

When we arrived we were put in a very small room with a vibration in the bathroom ceiling. Our By Request items were not in our room, either. After calling the front desk we found out the hotel does not do all By Request items only those they choose to do. Now I have to say we are Wyndam Bonnet Creek Owners and are used to a little better quality of property and service. We stayed at The Galvez five years ago and were a bit disappointed to see the old girl is not being as well taken care of as she should be. Repairs that need to be done are not being done. We will most likely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank LouAnnWalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everything was very nice. Staff was very courteous. Pool was nice though the bar closed early. (Probably because it was a weekday.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JESUS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUGAR LAND
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My daughter, grand daughter and I come to Galveston annually for a "girls" trip. To date, we have always stayed at San Luis - where the staff and service had been deteriorating over the past few years. Finally, disgusted with the way the staff treated us during our last visit; we decided to make a change - which is how we came to stay at Galvez. Our experience couldn't have been more different! From the delightful young doorman - a marine student from A&M - who welcomed us with a smile and took time to talk to my 3 year old grand daughter . to the check-in clerk who gave us a free upgrade because the hotel was sparsley occupied to the Beautiful waitress who served us our dinner - every encounter with every staff member was a joy. Thanks to the upgrade, my little grand daughter was able to see the lights on the ferris wheel and roller coaster - and was absolutely enthralled. The bed was sooo comfortable! We will definately make a return trip to Galvez.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUGAR LAND
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

recommend a refrigerator in the room. Rooms were spacious and clean -- but a refiferator in the room is needed. Also the A/c should be quieter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RAYMIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice historical hotel but wasn't as clean as I thought it would be. The room didn't get that cool. We were by the elevator and it was very noisy during late hours. Moved rooms and it was a little better but I lost my view. Spa had decent prices for certain services. Loved the entrance and the Gingerbread houses! Food was a bit pricey!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHARDSON
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is my second time at the Hotel Galvez and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. Our view was great (ocean view) and the hotel is very nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. My only complaints are the showers are a bit noisy (mostly due to age of the hotel I think). It was pretty obvious when our neighbors were showering. At checkout I noticed a charge for drinks at the pool that we didn't consume and they were removed with no question so I appreciated that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing