We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight at Wyndham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
CYPRESS
1
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Expected much more for a $320 room. Just wasn't anywhere near worth it.
Parking is on the next block, with only front door hotel entry, and bell hops in the door
like bridge trolls wanting $17.50 to go get your vehicle.
Beds were comfortable. Very quiet. Cold air. Good sleeping.
Polished marble floors in bathroom are pretty, but very dangerous for slips when feet are wet.
$15 breakfast was overpriced. Go to IHop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,460 - 3,466 of 4,068 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
GRANBURY
1
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When we arrived greetings came from each of the gentleman manning the front entrance.
Ross helped with our luggage to our room. Everyone at check-in was polite and efficent.
We requested a clean~air room. We weren't sure "how" the room was any different tho' for extra charge. The view was nice and the room was comfortable. Housekeeping was very helpful for more towels and did a great job accommodating in room and pool area. Easy access to great beach and anywhere in town was just minutes away. We made a request to patronize some "locals" for dining. AJ, front desk, was kind to give directions etc. Food experience in Galveston is fab. COVERED parking a plus, easily accessible and safe all day. Welcome lemon and cucumber water was a perk during the hot afternoon~
Popsicles at poolside after hours on the beach was yum too~
We observed and were pleased with how our kids and other kids were treated and kept safe. Oh yes, check out the museum on lower level, well worth the extra minutes. There was a knowlegdeable gentleman that gave a good tour. Wished we could have seen more suites, we just saw Howard Hughes' haunt.
Overall, The Galvez is/was a DE~lightful stay and we WILL Return.
We have told several about our experience. One couple has booked with you for September. We are assured they will enjoy as much as we did.
Oh yes, think about Galvez for your before and after stay if you cruise out of Galveston.
They have special rates and your car can stay in COVERED parking all week long for a small price compared to prices at dock area. Hotel has a nice shuttle to and from the shipdock for guests.
Would have liked to try the hotel restaurant, especially breakfast, but seemed too pricey.
We learned on our last day we could have had an inexpensive pkg that included meal.
Hey, we left happy ~

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked a room and when we arrived they told us our room was sold. the rest of our family got their rooms but not us. We had to stay across town! They were very rude and I was displeased with all the positives I had heard, it was way different then what experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pepperminttwist72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel was nice to look at yet it was very overpriced. The rooms were small and furnished as it were a 1970's hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank HOLLAND W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend celebrating a family wedding. The reception venue was at Hotel Galvez so it only made sense to stay at the hotel. I was an attendant in the wedding and was very impressed in the attention that was not only given to the wedding party but to all of the guests staying in the hotel. We have a very large family and the amenities were fantastic as all members had numerous options on where they could relax and visit. The restaurant was extremely accommodating every morning as a group of 16+ were able to enjoy breakfast together each morning. As an attendant in the wedding party I had planned ahead and scheduled an appointment with the Spa for makeup application. The Spa staff were experienced and professional. My makeup looked wonderful! Thank you to Hotel Galvez for a fabulous weekend to celebrate a family wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank SHANNON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CIUDAD DE MEXICO
11
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Galvez Hotel in Galveston and had a short but pleasant stay with our 6 month old baby.

We experienced a couple of details though. There was a blood like stain on one of the beds comforters and the omelet chef wasn't happy when we asked him to cook a runny omelet a little further

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I wish I could find fault with my stay, but alas I cannot. Staff is always friendly, helpful and courteous. Rooms clean and comfy. Restaurant is also a hidden little gem.

Wonderful property. I always like staying here. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank C1064IOpatrickf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
816 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $131 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing