We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Excellent stay! Love the valet parking!
Rooms are always quiet. I liked the pool area. It is a very nice place to bring family or to just stay by yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank JEANETTE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,469 - 3,475 of 4,009 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Need to get room service more attentive to making sure they deliver right ordet to right room. Need to get room service to check trays for all items.
Would be nice if there were more sound insulation between rooms--conversations and TV from next room was bothersome.
But, overall, it is a pleasant place to stay. Staff very willing to take care of mistakes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank ELIZABETH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I loved the hotel. The rooms were a big small to accommodate my two friends and I. I was expecting queen size beds. I also understand that it is a historic hotel and larger beds would not fit. The shower curtain is awful. It made taking a shower very difficult. Please consider replacement of the shower curtain with one that has magnets to keep it from wrapping around a person during a shower.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank CATHRYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Loved how the stafff took care of us in the pool area even when it started raining. why are you asking me to add to this, this is all I want to say and you won't accept my review.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank SHERRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is very nice but our favorite part of our stay was the great omellettes that Jerry made us for the breakfast buffet. He was very friendly and cheerful and made great omellettes.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganlefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

It was a good location and the service was great. The elevators had to be wiped down after the guest used them often. The mirrors in the elevator should always be cleaned. Some guest do not demonstrate their best behavior when it comes to manners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Jimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Despite a mix-up in our accomodations, our stay was great. I called both the main reservation line and the front desk to see they had any 2 bed suites before I placed my reservation. I was told by both that the king, 2-room suite had two beds. I was contacted by a manager about an hour before our arrival to see if we needed any reservations & I found that the room did not have 2 beds She was able to give us 2 rooms for the same price and even had a bottle of wine & a cheese/fruit plate in our room along with an apology note for the inconvenience.

The spa and spa staff were wonderful. The beds & hotel accomodations were great. We did not dine onsite, but the concierge was extremely helpful in recommending other restaurants and activities. Being an old hotel, the lack of a service elevator made the stairs faster, since it was often used by hotel staff.

We had not been to Galveston, which has had a tough recovery from hurricane Ike. From what we have heard, it appears that things are starting to come to life and businesses are begining to build back up. Lots of new construction. It is kind of a "Redneck Riviera", but the Hotel Galvez made it a much more upscale experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank DarrinWichita_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
781 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $141 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing