We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful 10th anniversary stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 10th anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for our 10th anniversary. The staff was very attentive and kind during our stay - we told them it was our 10th and they upgraded us to an ocean view "spa" room. The ocean view was nice, but the huge shower the "spa" rooms have was the best perk, in my opinion. Double shower head was wonderful! The room was not huge, but since it's a historic hotel that is to be expected. It is updated and modern though and definitely big enough for the 2 of us. Walls seemed a little thin at times, but it wasn't horrible and I'm very sensitive to sound. One of the main reasons we picked this hotel was the pool area though, it is gorgeous! We spent most of the day lounging in the pool or hot tub. We enjoyed eating lunch by the pool and being served drinks poolside, and at the swim up bar! In the evening we enjoyed the complimentary bikes and checked out some of the historic homes a couple blocks away. The beach is right across the street on the seawall. If we go to Galveston as a couple again, I would definitely stay here!!

Room Tip: If you can spare a little more a night, go for a "spa" room with the big showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenninator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    924
    436
    194
    125
See reviews for
1,087
1,403
94
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our anniversary this past spring. What a beautiful place! It was so easy to get to the beach, and was surrounded by fantastic restaurants and bars. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are traveling to Galveston, You have to stay at the Hotel Galvez. If you do nothing else, stop by for breakfast or drinks in the evening and visit George the Bartender and Jerry the Chief. We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. We spent a great deal of time eating, drinking and just hanging out. All the staff and services were great including Jenny and her staff out at the pool and cabanas. We went to the Hotel Galvez to relax and take a break. We did just that and had a great time. No problems, no stress, no issues. Best hotel experience we have had in a long time.

Great Job and we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate you mentioning our associates that helped make your stay a pleasant one. I will be sure to recognize the associates you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was a very nice hotel that was very beautiful and had a good view of the ocean. Overall it was very nice and very conviently located across the street from the beach. Also, Jerry makes great omlettes!

Room Tip: Higher than 2nd floor with a beach front view has a better view. The 2nd floor rooms have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went for a wedding and stay 2 days. The surroundings of the building are so nice, the restaurant, bar and lobby. Is something that you don't see in Galveston. But the rooms are so expensive and nothing special. The service in general is good and we had brunch and was delicious and good variety. If you want a fancy days in Galveston, this is the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bony56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Family of 4 with small children. The rooms were very clean and the beds are very comfortable! Water bottles in room, shampoo, conditioner, mouth rinse, cotton swabs, everything you need. The walls seemed very insulated with minimal outside noise coming in. The restaurant was quiet and the food, very tasty. Staff and crews were very nice and polite! Such a nice relaxing place, close to home, for a wonderful getaway. Pool very nice, sunny, and staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalvDSVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I just got back from staying four night at the Hotel Galvez. The hotel is in a great spot, right across from the beach and within walking distance of the new Pleasure Pier. We found the staff helpful. The room was a little small, but we knew what to expect from a 100 year old hotel. The pool is beautiful, but seemed to get dirty later in the day (maybe due to beach goers?). There were also significantly more children at the hotel then we had expected and consequently at the pool also, so those looking for a quiet getaway may want to look elsewhere. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her massage at the Galvez spa, and it has a good size fitness facility compared to other hotels that I have visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonerinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing