We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$187
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scottish Inn(Galveston)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$179
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$179
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$120
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,276)
Filter reviews
4,276 results
Traveler rating
2,242
1,114
506
248
166
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,242
1,114
506
248
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourrooms are smallbeautiful historic hotelswim up barcity viewacross the streetpool areaself parkingpleasure piercorner roomvalet servicehotel restaurantking bedgulf of mexicosea wallbrunchmelissa
Filter
Updating list...
3,807 - 3,812 of 4,276 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I took my son for a one-night adventure to Galveston this week. Hotel Galvez was just as lovely as I remembered. I stayed there when I was his age! The service was over the top and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. We enjoyed walking across the street to the beach and then coming back to the hotel to lounge poolside. The hotel was family-friendly, right down to handing out popsicles by the pool. I would definitely stay there again with my entire family- and maybe try to steal a trip with just adults!

Room Tip: If just a party of two- ask for a corner room- two walls of windows makes for a great view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel galvez, great staff, very family friendly, only complaint was the pool was very cloudy, and dirty, probably from the rain, and staying in the room next to the "haunted" room was a little annoying as there were lots of people running around our room late at night, try to avoid rooms 500-510 to avoid all the crazy people looking for ghosts, otherwise great place and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 500-510
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great place to stay. Right on the beach. 101 years old but have done a super job of restoring it.
Great staff! Rumored to be haunted.......

Room Tip: Ask for gulf side view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhyllisP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Service at pool was excellent. Customer service was understanding and helpful when original room did not meet our needs. But, room sizes are very small and the amenities were non-existent for the cost. I've stayed in hotels that cost MUCH LESS and had way nicer accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevindubay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Sorry you did not enjoy your room more. Hotel Galvez is a AAA rated Four Diamond Hotel so we have to pass very high standards to earn that honor. Yes, some of our rooms are smaller than non-historic hotels but they have all been updated and modernized. Next time try our Premium King rooms - they are our most spacious. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean. It is right on seawall blvd and in a good location with many restaurants nearby.

The room is so tiny that I have not seen any hotel rooms smaller than the hotel Galvez. It could be that os a historic hotel.

However, the design is awesome. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gauxtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Thanks for appreiating the historic nature of "The Queen of the Gulf". Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews