We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must on your visit to Galveston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Must on your visit to Galveston”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I recently returned from a four night stay at the Galvez. The staff is wonderful and attentive. We ate at Bernardo's twice, once for breakfast and once after the Ghost Tour. Jerry and the morning staff are funny and very personable. The food was amazing and the portions were large. Miss Jackie and Mr. Bobby were so informative and had so much information on the history of the hotel. The room was small but very cozy. The linens and the comfort of the bed certainly made up for the square footage. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    1,045
    467
    216
    149
See reviews for
1,254
1,624
110
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have just returnred from a three day get a away to Galveston Island and welcome the opportunity to say how nice the Hotle Galvez was for the entire three days. The rooms are indeed small but well appointed. The museum in the basement was very informative and the gym had equipment that would meet anyone's work out routine. The hotel maintains the pool area and it was across the street from the beach. A BOI put me on to a off the beaten path resturant. Shrimp and Stuff which was full of locals enjoying fresh seafood. (Fried) Marios continues to be great but I was very dissappoined in Sauzas (sic). Although the service was good the quality of food has declined considerably! I will have to finad another favorite Mexican food restaurant. I took in a movie at the local theater and found the theater to be clean and the staff friendly. The staff at almost evry store I visited on Tuesday along the strand appeared to be preparing for the weekend rush and less than attentive to weekday shoppers. It will be interesting to see how long it takes for the pleasure pier to be built in place of the Falgship. Water a little off green so the specs decided not to run,oh pooh, but over all it it is still a nice place to get away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillscreeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

While we stayed at th Hotel Galvez we had a great time. The staff was friendly, the restaurant was good, the rooms were cheap, and the rooms were nice as well. BUT when we went back home we brought back hideous bed bugs with us that took over our house and are super hard and expensive to get out! Will not be visiting here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. SO not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
The writer of this review is wrong. This guest made her complaint and is our standard procedure we had our pest control company inspect the room and no bugs of any kind were found. This guest was likely bitten by sand fleas or some other pest from outside the hotel but she would not accept this truthful answer and continued to press my staff to refund her charges which we declined to do since we found no evidence of her claim. We are sorry this happened but it did NOT happen at Hotel Galvez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the beautiful Galvez Hotel in Galveston for two nights before a short cruise. Next time, we'll just stay at the Galvez. Our room overlooking the Gulf was spacious and comfortable. The large window in our room opened so we could enjoy the sea breeze. The lobby of the historic hotel befits its "Grand Hotel" title and includes a lovely antique bar and open dining area. We enjoyed the outdoor pool/hot tub too. Located right on the Galveston seawall, the Galvez is convenient for walking the seawall or the beach. The historic Strand shopping and dining district is a short drive or cab ride away. Also, the hotel offered cruise parking and a shuttle to the embarkation pier for only the cost of one day of valet parking ($15 plus tax). This was considerably better than the $35/night extra that was offered on the Wyndham website as a hotel/cruise package.

Room Tip: From the 5th Floor mid hotel, our Gulf view was lovely though we looked down on the valet parking. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Hotel Galvez is one of my favorite hotels. My husband and I enjoy staying there whenever we get the chance. We stayed there 2 times this summer. I requested rm. 501. It's a beautiful room overlooking the gulf. It's a corner rm. and the views are great. I enjoy the pool and the hot tub. The people there are friendly and willing to help you whenever they can. I enjoy the historical value that the hotel brings to Galveston. I look forward to staying there many more times and exploring Galveston.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Hotel Galvez has a 100 year rich history in Galveston and the Wyndham has restored it to its timeless elegance. The staff was outstanding - to the person. Our room was a corner room with views of the bay - breathtaking. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and fresh. The grounds were well landscaped and immaculate. The pool is heated and the pool area is very relaxing. The location is great - plenty of nearby restaurants, and a shuttle will take you to the strand or other popular locations.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a king bed. Bayside is a little higher but we thought it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

stayed there during a hurricaine.people were great no better place to stay hae been there since very clean and affordable

Room Tip: floor # three not to high and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
752 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing