We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Family oriented historic hotel, great place to stay in Galveston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family oriented historic hotel, great place to stay in Galveston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I love this hotel, we visit each year for work and I bring the family. It's historic and has ghost tours in the hotel! The pool is beautiful and great for kids & adults. It's also romantic.

One issue that is typical with old hotels is the room size, but the all the other amenities that this place offers far out weighs the room size. Service is friendly and good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0llinSt0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    864
    413
    182
    116
See reviews for
979
1,279
84
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Hotel Galvez was originally built in 1911 and they are celebrating their 100 year anniversary this year. This is a very historic hotel that has been completely remodeled to look like it did in 1911. Galveston has weathered any hurricanes and the hotel still stands after all this. It is just gorgeous now. On Sunday they have a lovely brunch. The hotel and spa are so elegant. I can only imagine when it originally opened!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karens_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great place, service, price, location, staff, character...being a family of four, the room size didn't bother us at all, we weren't in Galveston to hangout in the room! The pool, lobby and restaurant were all very classy and clean, and the people were awesome!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I had my reservations about going to Galveston for a long weekend, but the Hotel Galvez made the experience well worth it for the Bachelorette Party. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Definitely take advantage of the Spa, drinking poolside and the Sunday brunch! It's a great quick getaway from Austin/Houston and the accommodations and experience are well worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezmerized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Galvez is, indeed, a historic and grand hotel. The lobby area takes you back in time. The desk staff were very helpful as was the concierge. Maid service was good.

Parking is gated and secure. It is quite close to the hotel and was never hard to find space even on the weekend.

The con side: our room was an ocean view. It was very clean and apparently recently decorated. However, the room was small to the point of making us claustrophobic after the second day -- just barely enough room for the king sized bed.

I'm sure the renovations included keeping the historic look and feel. However, I would prefer a nice bar that is separate and not right out in the lobby next to the elevators. The same goes for the elegant restaurant. It's a little off-putting to have the only egress to the pool area right through the lobby by the bar and open restaurant area (this seems rather tacky).

The pool area was mostly crowded during the weekend (as you might expect). It was very pretty and clean.

I wanted to experience a truly grand, historic hotel and am glad I did. But, I would probably try something different on my next stay.

Room Tip: If possible get some kind of upgrade to a larger room. Our room was at an extreme end of a hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bartbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Yes, some of our rooms are on the smaller side which is very common in a historic hotel. Here's a tip: the smallest rooms are the "city view" rooms and these are always our lowest priced rooms and are great rooms for those traveling on a budget. Our "Gulf View" rooms tend to be larger and our largest rooms are the "Premium Kings". I do hope you come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Galvez quite a few times since I was a kid (for more than 30 years) and am never disappointed. It is an elegant architectural jewel. Yes, the rooms are a little on the small side - but I am spending my time on the beach or shopping on The Strand - so that doesn't matter. Most recently stayed January 2011 - a great stay. Will return again and again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mykim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel !! The staff were the best super helpful and very nice in every way. The rooms are great. we had a water side view and it was so romantic. The hotel sits in a great location couldn't be any better. The ladies well love the spa as mine did. The pool area is so relaxing. A must for any couple that wants a get away and reconnect with that special someone!!

Room Tip: water side 4th or 5th flloors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thanks for visiting and for your review. We are a hidden treasure for couples looking to get a way and reconnect. With the best spa on the island and a relaxing pool the Galvez can't be beat. The pool has a swim up bar and private cabanas should you need some extra privacy. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing