We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay for a short Galveston getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel is a really cool hotel with a lot of history. First, it was built in 1911. They just celebrated their 100 year with a firework show on the beach. The building is in pretty good condition and you can tell they have put a lot of work into keeping it dated, but still renovated at the same time. It's a small hotel, so don't think you are coming to some sprawling resort. It's directly across from the beach. The hotel staff is very friendly and we had no problems with any service.

That said, a few things that could be better... they seem understaffed. Which seems odd considering the time of year (I went in June). But Valet parking was usually a good 15 to 20 minute wait so, call ahead. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious. But if you're in a hurry, don't go there. Wait time for food is pretty lengthy. But there's plenty of seafood restaurants just outside the hotel. I recommend Millers which is the next building over to the left as you walk out of the hotel.

Then there are problems with Galveston beaches in general. If you plan to play in the sand, take a LOT of bug spray. Like "OFF". I went to the beach two days in a row and had these mysterious bites on my legs. I thought at first maybe they were jelly fish barbs or something. After asking around, I found out that Galveston is known for having Sand Fleas. Yes....... Fleas. They like the areas up under your clothing, so definitely spray there if you plan to play in the sand.

But, no real need to play in the sand. The hotel has a salt water pool and jacuzzi. lights up really cool at night.

The spa was pretty good but not a luxurious as some I've seen. More just like a service than a "getaway". Got my daughter a facial, mani/pedi, and makeup with lessons. For myself, I got a gentlemens hair cut that didn't turn out so good. It's meh~~

Lastly, the hotel services seem to close down a little early. Keep that in mind when planning your evening.

All in all, not a bad place to stay for a short vacation. It's not a 5-star beach resort and garden in Tahiti... but it's pretty nice and located in a great area for a short little Galveston vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimboConQueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,965)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,662 - 3,668 of 3,965 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

A+ all around for the Galvez.

Location is perfect. Being able to walk from the hotel to the beach and then back to the pool was fantastic. The lobby was great, drinks in the bar were delicious, had the Mavs game on - and the desk and front door staff were great as well....made a recommendation on the Black Pearl - which was the best oyster po-boy ever.

Loved Galveston, loved the Galvez, will be back soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ and get sea view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We checked in on Wednesday June 15 and upon entering the room we were overcome with the smell of paint. I called the front desk and was immediately given a different room. The room was outstanding(Gulf view). Thanks to Hotel Galvez our vacation was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

It's really tough to have any kind of negative criticism about "The Galvez". If I could, I'd give it 4.5 stars.... From the start, the valet attendants were always very helpful and courteous. The cost of valet parking is quite reasonable, especially if you are going in and out of the place several times a day. We chose to park in the covered area across the side street, which saved us a few bucks and was only slightly inconvenient.

The consierge and everyone at the front desk were very accomodating. We were upgraded to an "ocean view" room at no charge (though don't expect this during the "high" season). We only used room service for a couple of small items, but we were not charged for this service. Likewise, there were no "hidden" charges at the end of our visit.

The hotel is beautiful, historic and well maintained. Before our arrival, I was a bit concerned by the size of the rooms (given the original design sans private bathrooms), but when we arrived, we found our room to be of average size and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we were greatefully not bothered by the local ghosts. It was too bad we were unable to open the exterior windows. I believe the hotel does this to prevent moisture from the gulf from entering the rooms, so don't expect great outdoor photo ops from your room...

I hit the pool well after hours and was never hassled. Though we never saw it during the day, the pool and swim-up bar looked really nice. A little close to Seawall Ave, but at night the traffic is hardly noticeable.....

We hardly took advantage of the facilities and SPA since we were exploring the area during our three days in Galveston. The hotel is historically sublime and elegant yet not overdone. Nearly perfect in every way. Good deals on rates through The Net. If you shop around and visit at the right time, you'll find prices at the Galvez only slightly higher than much lesser hotels. A solid 4.5 all the way around.....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWR874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Your experience is why The Galvez is called The Queen of the Gulf. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The staff was extremely friendly. The appearance of the exterior hotel - exceptional.
I was given a military discount and didn't ask about the size of the room.
It was extremely small and the windows were so dirty one couldn't see out.
There wasn't any kind of "sofa" style chair to sit in and we paid almost $300 for the room!
I've stayed in way better for way less money.
Do not recommend the hotel and was totally unimpressed with Galveston. If one drives one block in from the ocean drive - it's all ghetto.
Bright side: thought Gaido's sea food restaurant was very good - great crab cakes!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank Stone193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful. Sorry you were not happy with the size of your room. This is a 100 year old, historic hotel and some rooms just are not as large as new hotels. The rooms are still very functional and have all been remodeled. For your next visit or those looking for a larger room please consider Gulf view rooms or our premium kings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the hotel on a recent vacation to Texas, prior to returning home. We now wish we had stayed longer.
The hotel's location is on the sea front - we had a seaview. The room was well furnished with a comfortable bed and very clean.
We did not use the restuarant or breakfast service as there we a number of local option available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The Gulf water views are great this time of year as you saw. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had one of the best stays we have had in many years at this hotel. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a trip to Galveston in the future or now.
My Compliments to the Staff and the Hotel Management for a wonderful stay.
Kenny
Texas

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwsp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
764 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $141 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing