We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice display of some historic aircraft”

Lone Star Flight Museum
Ranked #9 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a large aircraft hangar, this world-class aviation museum features restored aircraft and historic photographs.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice display of some historic aircraft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I really enjoyed the visit to this museum. The first thing I liked was that they specifically said it was OK to take photographs, which not all museums appreciate. The aircraft are really set up nicely to get close, too, with a couple of exceptions. Apparently still as the result of damage from Hurricane Ike they have a PBY Catalina and a P2V Harpoon back behind some other aircraft. The volunteers were hard at work on a Dauntless dive bomber. They had a really nice Skyraider and later model Corsair that I got some good pictures of. The staff was also very friendly in answering questions. At one point they asked us if we wanted to go outside and watch them fire up the B-17's engines. That was a really cool experience.

In reading some of the reviews it is apparent that the museum is not what it was before Ike. However, it was well worth the money and my hope is that by generating some support for it they will be able to redo it to what it used to be.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    126
    36
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Flight Museum Soars After Ike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

After a long road back from the destruction of Hurricane Ike, this Galveston museum is in good shape again. The vintage fighter planes are lovingly restored. The care and respect for these old birds are evident throughout the museum. Visitors can even hitch a ride on one of the historic planes through their Warbird Rides program. I can't wait to go up in one of these planes!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fly away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

You'll see airplanes from all eras including the war birds from WWII. On the summer weekends you can sometimes see these planes actually fly; when you do you'll appreciate the men of the "Greatest Generation" even more. If you love aviation, its a must see, but you need to hurry - the museum is moving to the mainland because of Hurricane Ike damage.

Helpful?
Thank Saralyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
397 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Maintaining an important piece of the aviation history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is not the largest (Udvar Hazy Center at IAD) nor the best aviation museum that I have visited, but it has one of the largest collection still flying airplanes. Museum is also concentrating to WWII era. So, if you are a Jet fan, this is not your place. They are doing the most expensive and important work to keep this historical airplanes flying. Entrance fee was therefore modest and reasonable. I also supported the gift shop, which had a large choice of aviation products. Location was hit by Hurricane Ike September 2008.

Best season to visit the museum is all year round, but between end of May-end of August, you can see (read hear) these planes flying. My dream is to be onboard B-17 once, unfortunately my schedule did not allow fulfilling my dream this time.

My visit took place on a foggy day and my GPS brought me to back door, so pay attention to old fighter jet, which is located outside at front of the museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Lots of history and exhibits of real planes. For young and old.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Flight Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Lone Star Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing