We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Lone Star Flight Museum - CLOSED

Lone Star Flight Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Housed in a large aircraft hangar, this world-class aviation museum features restored aircraft and historic photographs.
Bloomington, IL
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were given a great tour by knowledgeable people. Great planes, lots of good information, very enjoyable. Highly recommend for anyone with interest in aviation.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pilotmom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    131
    40
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Impressive Collection”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

History abounds amongst the flying machines on display. The museum is well laid out and well maintained. There is a lot to be learned here.

Helpful?
Thank QOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“History of Aviation”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Check first, as at last count I think this was damaged in Hurricane Ike and may be moving, but otherwise it is a snapshot into aviation history, lovingly restored awesome planes, a few of which take part in local fly bys. You can volunteer to help restore planes too, if you want. Contact them!

Helpful?
Thank Melusine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sadly partly destroyed by hurricane Ike”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I had been to the museum prior to Ikes devastation and enjoyed it immensely. So I looked forward to my next visit armed with a new camera but regretfully half of the exhibits had suffered serious damage. The volunteer mechanics were hard at work and hopefully by my next visit more will be available to view.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for airplane buffs”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family just thought it was a lot of airplanes but I loved it. My kids gave me a flight in the museums B-29 for Father's Day, and it was a once in a lifetime experience. You can sit in the bombadier's seat, the turret gunner's seat, the nose gunner's seat. It gives you a real perspective of what the World War II fliers went through.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeA1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Flight Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing