We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you want to stay next to a hole in wall night club stay here. Pool has water but it is green. Really run down.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bigalo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

I made reservations at this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews. When we pulled in to the driveway, my husband gave me that looked that means "you screwed up on this one." Indeed, at first glance, I thought maybe he was right. It is a small place with the look of the 1960's. But since affordable hotels near the local casino are few and far between I went on into the office. I sort of thought I might have to try to get my money back. But when I stepped into the lobby the first thing that hit me was the clean smell. A beautiful black and white tile floor looked like it had just been the recipient of a good mopping! This tiny motel has been completely remodeled to look like a small, but upscale hotel complete with an old fashion looking wooden hotel desk, Victorian style furnishings and a small free breakfast area with tables. (We didn't try that... slept late.)
The room was really nice... cozy, pillow top mattress, four pillows, TV, desk w/internet, microwave, coffee pot, iron and board, telephone, etc. Everything new and CLEAN and all for just $66 incl. tax and senior discount!
On the down side... the bed needed a blanket between the top sheet and the bedspread, there was one drawer in the bureau which was somewhat broken, the ironing board cover needed replacing, and there was a small leak around the hot water knob in the tub. But really... those are pretty minor things. It's not the Hilton, but the comfort quality was comparable and for the price you can't beat it!
WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adkhs3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We were going to Winstar Casino and did not want to pay the high hotel price. Gainesville is very close to Winstrar and the Rodeway Inn is easily accessible from IH-35. The rooms were clean. There was a Microwave, Coffee Maker, and Refrigerator in the rooms which was nice because we had brought our own food. The Rodeway Inn is also close to a variety of restaurants. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The proprietor was very nice and came to the room to make sure everything was ok. I would gladly stay here again and would recommend it to others. Very reasonable accomodations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnne55674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband is a long haul truck driver, and doesn't make it home very often. We live in Sherman, but he works out of Oklahoma, so if he gets a load that passes through Gainesville, we will often meet up in Gainesville to spend some time together. We always stay at this hotel. We've had very few problems, but they were always taken care of immediately, and the staff has always been very courteous. This is important to my husband and me as he's usually exhausted when he arrives, and the last thing he wants to deal with is problems.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBradley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

If you are planning on visiting the Winstar Casino just across the border in Oklahoma I would recommend this motel. It's real easy to find when leaving the Casino. I think it's only about 3.5 miles away and located on the southbound lane of 35. It's not the Waldorf but what do you really expect for $60. You really only need the room to keep your stuff while you are at the Casino, to crash out until the next morning and to shower and change clothes. Sure you can get much nicer hotels in Gainesville, but why not save the extra bucks for the slot machines?

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RayHollabaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

To whom it may concern., My name is Gonzalo H. Mendoza. On April 18 th . my wife and mother and I were on our way on vacation to palestine texas. Westayed at the best western southwinds in Gainesville ,Texas. We had a room with 2 beds since my mother stayed in the same room. She is elderly and needs certain care. the room we were given stunk very badly. We turned the air on since it was very warm ,the air came out smelling like a very strong smell of urine. I commented to the front desk ,she gave me a can of air freshener.The can was almost empty, so I went to get another can and used that .sorry to say that didn't take the smell away. We slept with that smell all night. I never even thought to ask for another room. We stay often at the best western hotels ,when we are on vacation.They are usually clean smelling and is usually good service.we don't complain as a rule we just thought you would like to hear about our experience at one of your hotels. Oh by the way your desk clerk was very nice. sincere yours, Gonzalo H. Mendoza

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
233 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Red River Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
7 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2103 N Interstate 35, Gainesville, TX 76240-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $56 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing