We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food in Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TEXAS
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have eaten at both locations in Gainesville, and the one in Ardmore Oklahoma. My wife always gets the fajita nachos, and I have tried several different items on the menu and have not found one I do not like, all were great.
Good service and prices.
Try the shrimp cocktail, you will drink the juice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This review applies to the new location opened right off I-35 by the IHOP and Ferra's Italian Restaurant. Both times I've eaten here are for to-go as well.

Service both times was prompt and responsive. Both times, I ordered their fish tacos along with the guacamole. Not only was the food fresh and enjoyable, the pricing was very reasonable and servings of avocado generous. Their salsa is good as well along with crispy chips to accompany them.

This place is a good stop on your next road trip for reasonably priced, tasty Tex Mex.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great TexMex off I-35”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

There are two locations in Gainesville, one right off the interstate. Very tasty food--nothing fancy, just good TexMex. If you don't eat meat, they have good vegetarian fajitas. I've eaten here many times and never had a bad meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaytonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Mexican food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The chili rellenos are really good! They also have a wide range of dishes from gringo to HOT! I am really partial to the chili verde.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Old_Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley View
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Food was not tasty or seasoned very good. I was not impressed. It did not seem like a professionally cooked meal. I would not recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing