We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Maintenance” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gainesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Poor Maintenance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location and because we got the room on Priceline. Otherwise way overpriced! More like a $59 a night hotel!
The outside grounds were not kept very well. Tall grass and trash in the back parking lot.
Grout on the tiles were coming out. On the main floor and in our room. Tiles in the dining area were broken and a hole in the floor where it would be very easy for someone to get hurt. Safety should be #1!! The ceiling in the dining area was in poor condition where it was cracking and sheetrock tape was coming down.
The pool was horrible!!! The water was dirty. Light from the pool was sitting on the outside edge of the pool. The ladder was broken. Again......safety issues!!
The door on the 3rd floor, south side, very hard to open. Fire safety!!
Would not stay at this location again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmdlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Cmdlou,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the hotel's appearance. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction this has caused you and the inconvenience you had with our level of cleanliness. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your overall experience with us.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    14
    13
    12
See reviews for
16
29
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stay here often because it is on the highway and they allow pets. The quality has gone downhill lately. The lobby is dirty and the stairwell was full of dead roaches. We stayed here 6 days prior as well, same stairwell, same dead roaches. They obviously aren't cleaning the south stairwell. Makes you wonder how clean your room is.

That said the room looked clean and prepared. The walls were worn near the door from scrapes and bumps with luggage. There was a small hole near the door through the drywall, but not all the way through the wall. The A/C worked great. The price was fair. The breakfast was standard holiday inn. We will stay again hoping things improve.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtheworld101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Roundtheworld101,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize that you were displeased with the cleanliness levels on premises. This is definitely not up to standard and rest assured your comments will be addressed with our team to ensure similar situations could be avoided. Despite this, I am happy that the air conditioning system worked great in your room.

I hope the next time you are in the area, you give us another opportunity to host you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived with the temperature at 102 degrees outside. Our room was 90 degrees or better. Immediately called maintenance. A/C not repairable. Front desk hung up on my husband when he called asking for another room. We left the room and went to the front desk. No offer of help to find another hotel. This clerk told my husband "You are just out of luck here." I asked the clerk not to charge our credit card. She said "Take that up with your credit card company." I told her that my credit card company wasn't aware the a/c wouldn't work in our room and would only see we checked in. I then asked for something that proved we did not stay. She told me if I didn't leave, she would call the police. I told her to "Call them...I've dont nothing wrong." She did. The Gainesville Police Officer was very nice. We had him go to our room to verify that the a/c wasn't working and that we had not harmed or taken anything from the room. At least I have the police report to back up our story. We were ultimately asked to leave the property under "Criminal Tresspass". I'm 61 years old. First experience ever with the police in my entire life...all because of the rude and inexcusable actions of the front desk clerk. The management of this hotel should take notice of the complaints about this clerk in previous reviews on this site. It has to be the same person. Actually, Holiday Inn Corporate needs to take notice. Criminal Tresspass for asking not to be charged for a hotel stay warrants this type of treatment? I never raised my voice. Never said a bad word. PS - You might want to check the a/c filters when arriving. See pictures I have included! Beware. Beware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dealemilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dealemilyn,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I was concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the service you received was less than satisfactory. This incident is not usual in our hotel and I deeply regret that you were not given the customer care that you deserve. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. Your comments are troubling and for that reason, these will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friends and I got our reservation CANCELLED because they "overbooked" AFTER we called and confirmed our reservation THE DAY OF our check-in. Apparently at first they had one bed for four people with no A/C (unsatisfactory!) and then it turned in to "I'm cancelling your reservation. Have a nice day" and hung up on us. Terrible and rude. We booked weeks in advance and then this happened leaving us with nowhere to stay. Unfortunately, I do NOT recommend this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear emmackey,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property.

I am disappointed to hear your troubles with our hotel. Our goal has always been to provide the best customer care starting with a seamless reservation system. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you had with your reservation and for the poor experience you have encountered.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel clerk was very nice and was helpful. However the price was way out of line. Also they were having trouble with their computer system and it took forever to check in. The room was good and it was clean. The bed was nice. However the television didn't work, but the clerk the next morning gave me a discount for the TV not working. The night clerk did recommend a really good mexican restaurant next door and it was good. The breakfast the next morning was the usual for a hotel. About average. Good place to stay but it is expensive!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaynJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear rehab14,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I was glad to hear you did appreciate the room accommodations and helpful staff. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations especially with the check in system and if you felt you did not get a good value for your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights so we could be close to the casino, the room was awesome as far as the setup but the couch and chair had stains and tears so they need to be replaced, nobody sat on the couch so not a big deal for us. The carpet was definitely in major need of cleaning or replacing, they vacuum every day but that doesn't get out the stains. The hotel is higher in price than others in the area and for the safety of this one I was willing to pay the price just hope they replace the carpet before we go next time :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear A B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am delighted you liked the location of our property. My apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of furniture and the carpet. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were traveling from southern Texas and decided to call it a day and stopped at the Holiday Inn here. We were greeted warmly and given an excellent room. Had a problem with the television set (Super Bowl Sunday) but the front desk gal was quick to get it remedied. We went to the pool area and found it delightful. The water was so warm in both the pool and whirlpool - we stayed much longer than normal because usually the pool is cold and the whirlpool to hot at most hotels. The breakfast was pretty good. I do think that the room charges are a little high at Holiday Inn and not sure you totally get your money worth.

Room Tip: This is a very easy hotel to get to off the interstate. I would definitely stay here again-but woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoystraveling005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red River Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Lindsay Inn
Lindsay Inn
#1 of 1 in Lindsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.6 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Address: 320 N Interstate 35, Gainesville, TX 76240-6407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gainesville. We feature an elegant three-story interior corridor layout with easy access from Interstate 35 and Highway 82 in historic downtown Gainesville, Texas! With dozens of dining, shopping and entertainment choices just minutes away, our hotel is the perfect rest stop. Winstar Casino is less than seven miles away. Complimentary shuttle Fri-Sun. We are at the heart of antique shopping in the downtown Gainesville area. We are located just 2 miles from the Gainesville Outlet Mall and only 0.5 miles from the Frank Buck Zoo. North Central College is just 1 mile away. Whether you are relaxing in our indoor heated pool, enjoying the complimentary breakfast, whirlpool, dry sauna, fitness center or the free high-speed Internet access, you'll find our hotel is the perfect retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the business office. We're close to major local businesses like Weber Aircraft, Molded Fiber Glass, Spraylat, Polypipe, Complete Energy, Carol Rose Quarter Hoses and Babcock Ranch. We also can host your upcoming meetings in our spacious executive boardroom, our large meeting room or our breakfast area. Don't forget to check-out our free hot breakfast bar in the morning, featuring gourmet coffee, the best cinnamon rolls, omelets, bacon or maybe even a helping of good old country biscuits and sausage gravy! Join us on your next visit to Gainesville, Texas and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing