We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Waco Tx
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I stopped at this hotel on our travel to Oklahoma. We got a suite with a jacuzzi and the price was alittle high for this area. They put us on the first floor and not letting us know they were working on the room above us. The coffee maker ran water all over the place and the ice bucket still had the water in it from the previous guest. They did get us another coffee maker but we had to go get it.The refrigerator was dirty and I couldnt put anything in the freezer dept. I called front desk and told them about the noise and the manager asked me why we didn't complain during the night! You can't get anyone to answer the phone during the night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
32
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel itself was great. Friendly staff, clean rooms, the breakfast was just so-so (I guess my stays at other HI Express hotels have me spoiled to their superb breakfasts).
However my only complaint, and it is a major one, has to do with the trains that run nearby somewhere. They blew their horns it seemed all night every thirty minutes or so.
I got very little sleep and what sleep I did get I dreamt about trains (not joking!).
The room was oriented in a south-easterly direction so maybe if you're on the other side of the hotel you'd be okay.
Or if your a heavy sleeper, or if train horns don't bother you than I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Otherwise, you've been warned!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the north west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Had a wonderful stay. We signed up for the rewards and got so many extras. It was loud because our room was located next to the elevator. But once everyone went to bed it was fine. We had to move the couch to make room for a blow up bed, and under the couch was a terrible mess. I left a note for the cleaning crew so I'm hoping they cleaned it up. The breakfast was ok, but overall the stay was nice. Loved the late checkout and it was also nice to have an indoor pool/hotub.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at this establishment and have to say we will never go back there. The beds are hard. The room was relatively clean, but rather noisy. Could hear traffic noise very clearly. While the person we checked in with was very nice, the rest of the staff did not take the same course. Arrived for the breakfast buffet at 9:25, (it closes at 9:30) while I was cooking my pancakes the staff took up the rest of the food. So I had pancakes no syrup, no butter it had already been picked up, along with all the other foods. Someone eating in the room couldn't believe what was happening. The staff just shrugged and said we closed. a few minutes later, 5 different staff members walked out with food. When I explained to the front desk they said sorry. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy55557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I made a reservation for my son for his honeymoon. I was offered a rate in the 130"s for a jacuzzi room. When i called a few days later and spoke with Stephanie she said it was impossible that i had been offered that rate for that room. She also said it was impossible to tell who took the reservation which later proved to be untrue. She said she could care less whether i wrote a scathing review on this site or any other. She also said she could care less whether i cancelled the reservation (I did). Unbelievable

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank proesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is close to the WinStar casino. So it was a convenient place to stay while we enjoyed seeing the Lady Antebellum and Darius Rucker concerts. Free breakfast was included with the room. So we had a nice leisurely breakfast at the hotel. There are also several resturants within easy walking distance. If you show your room key, IHOP and Chili's will give you at 10% discount. The Fried Pie Company is a bit further away in downtown Gainesville but worth the trip. They are famous for their good food and delicious fried pies. The food and service are excellent and their prices are extremely reasonable. That's why so many of the locals eat there.

Room Tip: Eat at the Fried Pie Company in Gainesville, TX.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have been traveling since March. This Holiday Inn Express is very very tired and worn. Our room had a hole worn in the carpeting. Everything looks old. The bathroom floor had some long black hairs on the floor. I have blonde hair and my husband has short gray hair so it wasn't ours. I would pass on this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvhtbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Red River Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Lindsay Inn
Lindsay Inn
#1 of 1 in Lindsay
53 reviews
8.7 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Address: 320 N Interstate 35, Gainesville, TX 76240-6407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gainesville. We feature an elegant three-story interior corridor layout with easy access from Interstate 35 and Highway 82 in historic downtown Gainesville, Texas! With dozens of dining, shopping and entertainment choices just minutes away, our hotel is the perfect rest stop. Winstar Casino is less than seven miles away. Complimentary shuttle Fri-Sun. We are at the heart of antique shopping in the downtown Gainesville area. We are located just 2 miles from the Gainesville Outlet Mall and only 0.5 miles from the Frank Buck Zoo. North Central College is just 1 mile away. Whether you are relaxing in our indoor heated pool, enjoying the complimentary breakfast, whirlpool, dry sauna, fitness center or the free high-speed Internet access, you'll find our hotel is the perfect retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the business office. We're close to major local businesses like Weber Aircraft, Molded Fiber Glass, Spraylat, Polypipe, Complete Energy, Carol Rose Quarter Hoses and Babcock Ranch. We also can host your upcoming meetings in our spacious executive boardroom, our large meeting room or our breakfast area. Don't forget to check-out our free hot breakfast bar in the morning, featuring gourmet coffee, the best cinnamon rolls, omelets, bacon or maybe even a helping of good old country biscuits and sausage gravy! Join us on your next visit to Gainesville, Texas and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing