We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and perfect!”

Sarah's On The Square
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Quaint and perfect!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Perfect lunch spot on the square in Gainesville. Took the recommendation of TA and we were not disappointed. Soups, sandwiches, salads, etc. It was all good, pimento cheese and chicken salad both delicious. Service was good and felt like an upscale place. Perfect for our outing. Desserts were so awesome. I took the sopapilla cheesecake to go. Enjoyed it later that evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JCntex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Strawberry pie to die for”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Saturday lunch with my sweetie. I had turkey burger and sweet potato fries. Wife had salad. Shared strawberry pie. $27 tab. Very tasty. Service a little slow but all the staff were very friendly. We will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomtex451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Gainesville”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is just off I-35 and so we decided to stop for lunch on our way to Dallas. Excellent food, excellent service. We are planning on visiting again on our next trip. Beautiful setting and atmosphere. Highly recommend it! Hard to believe this not ranked #1 in Gainesville!

Helpful?
1 Thank JaneinOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch and Good Time”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stopped on a road trip to Fort Worth and found this gem. Old downtown area, beautiful restoration, amazingly friendly staff and, wait for it, five phenomenal meals. Two were kids' meals (full kids' menu with dessert included), but the custom burger was amazing, as were the club wrap, pulled port baked potato, tomato-gin bisque (out of the world good), and homemade chips and fries. We tried very hard to save room for dessert, lost the battle, and them had dessert anyway. Buttermilk chess pie is a childhood favorite from my mom, and their version was like a trip home. The peanut butter pie was huge, light, and delicious. The place is easy to reach from I-35 and well worth the trip past the chains that line the highway! My 8-year old daughter, arguably the pickiest eater in our bunch, said it was her new favorite restaurant- anywhere. Thank you, Jordyn, and all the staff and cooks at Sarah's! We'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank OKCChildpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the cutest, most delicious cafe in Gainesville! The food was great, atmosphere was perfect, desserts amazing, menu selection so good! You can't go wrong. I didn't think anything in Gainesville could be this good. I will for sure be returning. You will not regret eating here!! Seating is tight during lunch time - which is a good thing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovethapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarah's On The Square also viewed

 
Gainesville, TX
Gainesville, TX
 

Been to Sarah's On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing