We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Starwood Cafe

Starwood Cafe
Ranked #31 of 430 Restaurants in Frisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is wonderful. Piping hot coffee, great service, and the portion size is wonderful in the price they charge. I have only had breakfast here and my parents had omlets. Wow. Will be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank sylvia75089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We came here for breakfast one Sunday morning and were seated right away. No reservation required. Great home cooking meals, excellent service and lovely atmosphere at this family owned restaurant. Great for families, couples, friends or business. Place has variety of seating to accommodate all. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisy709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Lunch at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had lunch here and the little place kept fairly busy. If you order a sandwich you get to choose between a cup of soup, fries, or fruit to go with it. I had a Reuben sandwich which had plenty of meat on it with the sauce on the side. Wait staff was efficient. Prices were fair for what you got.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slcas332
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast with the family”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A nice little cafe in a strip center close to the highway. We were a party of seven and so had to wait a bit for a table because the place is not too big.The hostess advised that the wait would be about 15 mins and it was. The wait service was quite good (drinks and refills timely; knowledgable of the menu items), the food was as well PLUS it was plentiful. A nice place to eat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank slcas332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas (relocated from NY, Boston)
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very bland and disappointing breakfast”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I love a good, simple diner breakfast, so I Really wanted to like this place, but the food was not good.

I ordered homemade corned beef hash, eggs over easy, hash browns and a biscuit. When offered the option of a side of sausage gravy, I decided "sure". My partner was in a salad mood and ordered a chopped salad.

Hash browns: shredded potato variety, which I enjoy. My serving was barely golden colored, not at all crispy and potatoes were not quite cooked. It should have been browned for longer.

The predominant flavor was artificial butter flavored cooking oil, which I personally loathe, so maybe I'm not the best judge. Aside from that, it was extremely bland. A hint of onion might have helped. the potato flavor wasn't very predominant either.

The hash: similarly bland. I could detect no seasonings or onion flavor. Just rather tough and chewy small chunks corned beef and bland diced red skinned potatoes.

Biscuits: These were bisquick biscuits rather than the flaky "from scratch" variety. They were moist, crumbly, slightly warm and fine if you like bisquick biscuits.

Sausage Gravy: Truly awful. No hint of sausage flavor at all. No hint of sausage period. The gravy had an unpleasant gloppy texture and, again, no real flavor other than salt. My partner (who is more of an expert on what this should be) said it tasted instant.

On the plus side, the OJ was very good and the eggs were fine.

My partner's chopped salad was fresh and relatively good with a generous toppings to lettuce ratio. It was way overdressed though, with a large puddle of dressing in the bottom of the bowl.

Maybe I just ordered the wrong things, but the meal was pretty bad.

Service was fine. Restaurant was very clean and had a pleasant decor

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christnp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing