We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hometown Go-To Cafe”
Review of The Depot Cafe

The Depot Cafe
Ranked #23 of 425 Restaurants in Frisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Hometown Go-To Cafe”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I saw other reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to check this place out. I liked it. It reminds me of the go-to family cafe you find in every small town in America. It's family owned, has delicious home cooked food, offers a daily special (which regularly iuncludes cake!), and has walls full of stuff from the local town history. This place is all about the Frisco Railroad. There are railroad tools on the walls, railroad signs, old luggage, and display cases up front that have moidel trains, books, documents, switch locks, and other cool stuff. One reviewr says it feels like you are eating in a train station and I completely agree. The food, though, will keep me coming back again and again. Our favorites are the Chicken Fried Steak Sandwich, the catfish, and the (adult sized) chicken strips. The chocolate cake is moist and rich. Perfect to share between a couple after dinner. Yum.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuniorBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice little 'hole in the wall' restaurant in Frisco. It's actually in the back of the Texaco station (same owners) but inside is very nice & clean. You feel like you're in an old train station. The hours are strange, only open for dinner on Friday.
The food was very good. I had the shrimp & catfish combo. The catfish was great. My wife had the grilled chicken platter; yea, it was just chicken, but she said it was very tasty and moist. The kids also enjoyed their food.
We're looking forward to going back for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eefuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good home cookin'”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice family atmosphere. There seem to be a lot of old timers here. Not the usual families with young kids like you normally see in Frisco. Check the hours before you go. I think they are closed on Sundays. They didn't used to be open for dinner but are now most, if not all nights. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank boxie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hometown Cooking at it's Best”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Catfish catfish catfish. My favorite entree at The Depot Cafe. Or, for breakfast, order their oatmeal. Just good ol' fashioned hometown cooking. Great prices, excellent food and a bit of Frisco history all in one space.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TracieJShipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast in Frisco!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a favorite breakfast spot for me and my husband, and we visit at least once a month. We enjoy the small town atmosphere The Depot Cafe provides in the middle of Frisco. Customers place their orders at the counter, and drinks are self-serve; staff members bring the meals to the table. It's a "no fuss" kind of place - with low prices to match! The best part is the homestyle menu. I love the sausage and biscuits, my husband enjoys the oatmeal. No matter what we order, we always enjoy the food here - it's like eating from Mom's kitchen.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Depot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing