We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room, great host, great food= great time”
Review of Full Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Full Moon Inn
Ranked #14 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2011

arrived on christmas day and was immediately taken care of. we picked this b&b because they take pets. it's an extra $25 per day, but worth it not to have to board our dog. room was exactly as pictured and very comfortable. please note, there isn't a tv in the room so if that matters to you, look elsewhere. we didn't miss it at all. breakfast was delicious and our host, matt knows his way around a kitchen and being an innkeeper. we definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisv011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

Loved our weekend away at the Full Moon Inn. We stayed in the Grape Suite and loved it! The king size bed is very comfortable, the private bath has a bathtub/shower combo, and it was very nice to have a kitchen with a full size refrigerator for drinks and food. Breakfasts were filling and very tasty! The porch looked out to the front of the property and was a great place to sit and read during the day. The restaurant on site was good for dinner the first night and enjoyed the recommendations for places to visit that Matthew provided for trip into town on Saturday. Will be back and have recommended the Full Moon to our family. Lovely and quite for a perfect relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterflydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Five minutes from Luckenbach General Store & Dance Hall and 20 minutes from Fredericksburg. Great, relaxing B&B. A couple of black labs roam the grounds in search of attention (they got plenty from us!). Excellent breakfast prepared by Captain Matt -- who is very friendly but not intrusive. My wife and I stayed in the Grape Suite which was very roomy and had a large porch -- perfect for coffee in the morning and a long neck (or two) in the evening. Outside you can faintly hear the band playing down the road in Luckenbach but quiet inside and the bed was very good. Easy access to Fredericksburg, Enchanted Rock, old RR bat tunnel, etc. Good food and live music on the weekends at Willie's Steakhouse. We've stayed at B&Bs in Fredericksburg many times but like the fact that this one is out of town. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David77379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Our Host, Capt Matt, was charming and very accommodating. My husband and I enjoyed every moment of our stay. We checked in on Thursday night and left Sunday morning. The breakfast served and cooked by Capt Matt was delicious. The food, service and entertainment at the restaurant was incredible. We will definitely be returning again and again. This B&B is located across the farm market road from Luckenbach Texas (very close) and just outside of Fredericksburg Texas. Lots of shopping and great restaurants and nightly entertainment. Capt Matt has all the information you need while visiting the area. Great motorcycle riding! Thanks! Capt Matt for a wonderful experience. Marilyn L.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

If you haven't been on a Hill Country Wine Tour-Go! If you need a place to stay, the Full Moon Inn is the perfect place. Matt is a wonderful host and this bed and breakfast reflects his great taste and welcoming hospitality. We couldn't have asked for a better week end. Our large group of friends rented the entire facility and loved having the place to ourselves. It was immaculately clean and so comfortable. We all slept like babies in our cozy beds. The linens were crisp and clean and each cabin beautifully decorated and fully stocked with everything you needed for a relaxing stay. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and served in a special dining room. We were waited on hand and foot. The grounds are lovely and so well manicured. We even saw lightening bugs in the evening something we haven't seen in some time. The pet friendly environment is an added plus. All 14 of us would go back again this week end if we could!
and every detail was taken into consideration.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jericho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had a fabulous, relaxing time at the Full Moon Inn. Stayed in the Smokehouse, which was comfortable and cozy. It looked exactly like the pictures as far as decoration, and was clean and comfortable with AC. The decor was cute and antique-y, but not so much so that comfort was compromised - for example, notice in the pics of the other rooms that there are not Victorian antique sofas, but instead comfier (is that a word?) couches.

The rooms/cabins are arranged around a "central green" sort of area, where we often sat with our dog running free with the owners' dogs. We also strolled around the property, which is dotted with lovely trees and surrounded by farms on 3 sides (little used road on the 4th side, with a fence that kept our dog from getting to it). We went into Fredericksburg one afternoon, but the rest of the time lounged around and chatted with folks and hung out in the beautiful weather with our dog - so relaxing.

Across the road, there is more land and a creek, which we enjoyed walking with our dog and Audy and Butterball (Matt's dogs) - verrry relaxing.

Matt was very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant folks were very nice too.

We're not wine fans, but for those who are, there are plenty of wineries right around the Inn. And for antiques/country stuff/quilts/linens etc shoppers, Fredericksburg is great.

A few tips, just FYI:
- rooms in the Sunday house are a little further away from restaurant (restaurant was not loud or overly busy, so didn't interrupt our enjoyment at all though).
- we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant, but didn't want BBQ/steak/etc 2 nights in a row, so ate out 2nd night. Next time we'll try to get the Grape Suite/Room (it was booked this time) so we have facilities to make or reheat dinner.
- while we were there the other guests were all very dog-friendly, so it was no problem that our dog ran free; I don't know if it would be quite so ok if others weren't so tolerant? Matt's dogs are older and slower and were very well-behaved, but ours is younger and doesn't mind as well. Matt seemed to go with the flow as far as our dog, but was very solicitous of every request we had, so I suspect that if our dog had bothered other guests we would have been asked to keep a better watch on him - I just don't want to present the inn as a doggie free-for-all!
- other dog policies: dog should be kenneled while you are gone, and dogs not allowed on bed (so as not to dirty the comforters/covers)
- also related to our not-very-well-trained dog, obviously Matt has to keep the driveway gate open for guests and restaurant customers to get in, and our dog did go out the gate once or twice. The road was not busy though, and we were ok if we kept him on the opposite side of the property from the gate or with Matt's dogs who didn't wander.
- gay friendly

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were checking out Luckenbach when we saw the Full Moon sign across the street. Capt. Matt was our friend instantly, and showed us the Grape Suite. We were home suite home. It was clean, quiet, and secluded. His dogs, Butterball and Audie, were calm and friendly. Breakfast was arranged at our schedule: eggs, sausage, sweet potato pancakes, fresh fruit and strong coffee, (at our request). We had no complaints, and will put it on our list of gobacks.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardo10r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
9.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
858 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
9.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
6 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
61 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Inn

Address: 3234 Luckenbach Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7471
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $203 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For 24 years the Full Moon Inn is a Traditional Bed and Breakfast in Fredericksburg Texas.Our rooms are clean and super comfortable and when you check in, you are greeted by the owners and concierge to the best attractions and restaurants. Established in 1992 the Inn has served a full hot breakfast for all our guests. We are located just minutes away from the 290 wine corridor where the Texas Wine Trail offers 18 wineries and wine tastings. We are just 1/2 mile from Luckenbach Texas Dance Hall. Minutes away from Fredericksburg Trade Days,The Wildseed Farm and Main Street Fredericksburg Dining & Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Full Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing