We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday House..AGAIN”
Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Jones Creek,TX.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunday House..AGAIN”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you follow tripadvisor, you will notice that I have reviewed the Sunday House in Fredericksburg, TX. many times. We made another trip to our favorite hotel but decided to try a suite this time at the Sunday House. It was so nice and unbelievably roomy. There is a sitting room with a hide away bed, large stuffed chair, desk/chair and of course the flat screened tv. The next room has a vanity with a large mirror and sink with a spacious counter. There is also a closet and then a private bathroom. Last but not least is a very roomy bedroom with two queen size beds. Also included in the bedroom is a large chest..hiding a fridge and microwave. Rounding out the bedroom is another, must have flat screened tv. The hotel is in the process of updating all of it's rooms and they are very nice. Now I know some of you are thinking that there are several newer hotels and B&B accommodations in Fredericksburg that you would probably like to visit. You are correct. There are quite a few newer hotels. However, the staff at The Sunday House are all so friendly. Judy Schoor is so nice to us. She usually has some sort of goodies for us when we arrive. The price is very affordable and we always enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the suites. The parking lot is more private and not viewed from Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    149
    73
    25
    31
See reviews for
117
149
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay every year for the past 4 years. We have used the breakfast room for our packet pickup for the Enchanted Rock Races and Judy has been a gracious and generous host. The rooms have been renovated and were so nice. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

convience clean and good breakfast are all there. a little wear but compared to others a great deal. renivations are going on. ask for a room away from that. prices are raised during special events. check you calendar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolsto314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

loved this quaint hotel. clean, newly decorated. Just a breath of fresh air that we didn't have to pay an arm and a leg for a decent room. Highly recommend. It actually is a motel so cars are right outside your room, so can be a little noisey at times but it didn't bother me enough not to try and stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the highway and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmclawhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here 11/15 & 11/16. Really enjoyed our stay. Will come back and stay again for sure. Be sure to check out the breakfast buffet and sit by the open fire pit by the pool looking out on main street. A great high-lite!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy1of10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Visited Fredericksburg on Sept 27 and 28 to attend a high school reunion at the Hampton Inn. Having accumulated some points on one of our credit cards, I booked the Sunday House for two nights for FREE. Now, when you're getting "something for nothing", you don't know what to expect. Might this be a broom closet with a hose and an air mattress?? No way! I got a suite! I was supposed to have a roommate, but she couldn't make it so I was there by myself. I was able to park my car right in front of the elevator to my suite on the second floor. I walked into a very nice "living room" with a desk and a nice big TV. On this desk was a welcome card addressed to me with a little bag of candies. There was a dressing area next with a nice long counter, sink and coffee service. Across from that was a closet area and then a good sized bathroom. Next was the huge bedroom with two queen beds and an even bigger TV and another desk.

Everything was very clean and comfortable. Now, this is an older hotel and definitely isn't the Ritz, but there has been a lot of recent renovation and some still ongoing. It is a great location, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again! Thank you Sunday House!

PS: I had stayed here before in 2007 and enjoyed that stay, too. At that time, the airlines had managed to delay one of my suitcases and it had to be delivered to the hotel. They were very kind to accept it for me and even offered to supply anything I might be missing. The staff just goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: A lot of this hotel isn't serviced by elevators, so if you can't handle stairs, request a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carsicknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were "put out in the street" by another hotel (Bed and Brew above the Brewery) because we had 2 kids and they didn't allow kids, something that they didn't tell us when we booked the reservation months in advance. Luckily for us the wonderful people at Sunday House do and were so very friendly over the phone while trying to find a hotel and while were checking in. The woman checking us in even apologized for the behavior of the other hotel because she didn't want us to think that everyone here was so rude. Sunday House is in the process of updating the rooms and we were lucky enough to get an updated one which was great and it was also nice and clean. Sunday House is proof that hospitality and customer service do still exist. I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkalbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#8 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Property: Sunday House Inn
Address: 501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4615
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Inn Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunday Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing