We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a basic motel. Clean, safe and close to downtown shopping and attractions. Will definately stay here again. Good value for the price. It's an Econo Lodge. Keep that in mind and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbooth2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefbg, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. Come again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
31
75
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Perhaps one of the cheaper alternatives for Fredericksburg, TX. Arriving on a Friday evening we asked the price for 2 adults, one bed and was quoted $79. However, upon returning the room key and picking up the invoice the next morning the price had increased to $99. The reason given was we had stayed for a weekend night. This coming from the same clerk, the owner. Pretty much a chicken poop way to weasel an extra $20 from tourists. The motel facilities and German pastries for breakfast are okay. I resented being taken advantage of by the way they operated increasing the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor_Charlie082012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed there the other night and I got the best nights sleep. It is a great bargain. The breakfast is the best, those German pastries, Mmmmmm. The room cleanliness was superb and the front desk was more than helpful. Overall my experience at this property was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CT_Superstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefbg, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments and compliments of our motel. We believe we do have a good and clean bargain for FBG visitors. Come again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great value for the money. I would recommend this motel for the following reasons: the owner, Donna, is customer service oriented, we had a spacious room WITH the following extras: coffeemaker, microwave, minifridge, extra counter space in the restroom area and a large overstuffed comfortable easy chair. The breakfast was simple, with coffee, juice and pastries. Nice benches outside for visiting with company when the sun is going down. We walked to the Biergarten and Auslander with no problem - we enjoy the mild exercise and being outside strolling around this cute town. The walk was 1.1 miles each way, for those who are curious or physically challenged. I will stay here again because of the extras, the nice room and the friendly staff. (I think her name is Donna)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laffintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefbg, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
WOW! Thanks so very much for these comments! We try to make our guests feel at home and comfortable during their stay with us. One of the most important things we do is interact and converse with our guests....getting to know people from literally all over the world....and relating to them in a friendly and helpful manner. Please come again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Where to begin... Let's see.

Roaches in the shower. Blood and cigarette burns on bed sheets. Paper thin & lumpy mattresses... Yes, worse than summer camp. Quilt-like Air filters on a/c unit look like they haven't been cleaned since the motel opened thirty years ago. Extremely Murky water in pool (could not see first step), green water in hot tub.
Worst of all, terrible service, terrible staff, and wayyyyy overpriced!

This place was completely dilapidated and needs to be shut down by the health department Yesterday!

Do not stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bmayberry04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefbg, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
This managerial response is long in coming. I was shocked by the comments and simply gauged my response to be professional and qualifying. Please accept my apologies for the conditions in which you found our motel.....the review doesn't even seem to be about the FBG Econo Lodge. I appreciate when guests post reviews on Trip Advisor because our guests are #1 priority and they drive us to strive for better management. Roaches....they are a problem in Texas, especially with outside entrances to every room which are all on the ground level. However, we do have scheduled extermination and our usual bug complaint are about dead bugs! Which is good because it means our extermination is working. Bed sheets......housekeepers are trained to not use any kind of stained linens and they follow this standard. Mattresses....I can't find any in the condition stated in the review. Air-filters.....cleaning A/C's and filters is accomplished regularly. Pool and HotTub....conditions were being addressed but chemicals were responding to a recent rain. As far as our staff, we get great reviews regarding management, reception clerks, and housekeepers. All in all, not excuses, not reasons, and definitely not the current FBG EconoLodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Made our reservation on-line about a month before arriving. Apparently, they had just sprayed for roaches. We had a dead one in the bathroom upon arrival and when we left the next morning there were more dead ones outside our door and live ones crawling all over the wall near the office. Since we left before the office opened, we were not able to tell anyone, although I'm sure that others staying there must have! The room was just so-so, nothing special, but I wish I had paid more to stay some place else. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZseniorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our recent stay at the Econo Lodge in Fredericksburg was just what we wanted and more. The staff was extremely helpful and understanding when we had to change stay dates with short notice. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and everyone was very kind throughout our stay. Quiet, clean and comfortable room. Although this is not a brand new hotel, we could tell that extra care is given to upkeep and cleanliness. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to others, especially those with pets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sygloeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
#8 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 810 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing