We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bargain Tucked Away In Quiet Area”
Review of Corner Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corner Cottage B&B
Ranked #12 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Amazing Bargain Tucked Away In Quiet Area”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My friend Mary and I stayed here on Friday night. The couple that own and operate the place are AMAZING. The attention to detail in the room was phenomenal, the service was unbeatable, and they are among the most interesting couples I have met in my travels. We felt we could have sat and talked with them on the front porch for days on end...if time only permitted.

The breakfast cannot be described - it was so far beyond amazing I cannot find the words, but I can say that it was definitely not the typical stale cereal and cheap juice one often finds in 'continental breakfast' at hotels and such. It was definitely the best breakfast I have ever had on the road in my years of extensive Worldwide traveling.

The rooms are very spacious, and superbly decorated - it truly feels as if one is at home, not on the road in a typical hotel. The location couldn't be better - within walking distance of the shops, breweries, and restaurants on Main Street, yet after 7pm you could hear a pin drop...absolute quiet. Being a resident of a large city, I am not accustomed to that, and was so pleased! You won't be disappointed in this one! I am now trying to find excuses to get back to Fredericksburg, just so I can stay with them again.

Bryan

Room Tip: Ask about the decor differences in all 3 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webgeek111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Wow, what a place-Marsha treated us like we were part of her family! The room was absolutely spotless and full of surprises (homemade cookies were my favourite!) and breakfast was one of the best eating experiences I have ever had! I can't wait to go back one day....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomatovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Marsha and the Corner Cottage are the bomb! Her French toast is to die for!! She treats you like royalty and the cottage is immaculate ! Very quaint and a fun, cozy place to stay! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I decided to make a quick one night getaway to Fredericksburg and were very lucky to find the Garden Room available. The price, compared to some of the other high ranking B&Bs in this area, couldn't be beat. Marsha and her husband were excellent hosts- very friendly and accomodating. The room was spotless and the amenities (fresh baked cookies, wine, sodas, movie library, in-room kitchenette) were plentiful. The bed was very comfortable (and I'm almost 9 months pregnant), and the home cooked breakfast was delicious! Our only regret was that we couldn't stay another night. Thanks Marsha for your hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amestuh_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

In the Peanuts comics, Linus was always seeking the most sincere pumpkin patch, where the Great Pumpkin would visit at Halloween. I don't know about pumpkin patches, but I have found the most sincere Bed & Breakfast - The Corner Cottage in Fredericksburg.

What makes the Corner Cottage such a special place can be summed up in three words - Marsha, Marsha, Marsha! Marsha is a most hospitable inkeeper who made us feel like part of the family from the moment we arrived. Marsha is a creative decorator who has made each cottage unique, cozy, and special (especially Miss Twiggley's Treehouse where we stayed.) Marsha is a master breakfast chef, whose pride in her recipes is evident in every bite. And Marsha is an entertaining storyteller who delighted us with tales from her amazing life.

Staying at the Corner Cottage turned a simple getaway weekend into a once-in-a-lifetime experience. We plan to go back soon, to make it a twice or three times in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I felt so welcomed and comfortable right off the bat. Marsha's hospitality is amazing. The room was very clean and contains all the amenities that you would find in a high quality hotel suite. The bedroom contains a fireplace for great ambience. The location is excellent. Short walk to beautiful downtown Fredericksburg. The breakfast is to-die-for! We have found the perfect B&B experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmedina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The Corner Cottage B&B provides the perfect romantic getaway without breaking the bank. Marsha is truly the Paula Deen of Fredricksburg Texas! We were beyond pleased with everything from her delicious cooking to her good ol' southern hospitality. After the first night, you feel like you're family. We are overworked city slickers (born and raised in Houston) so this was the cherry on top on our country relaxation vacation. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazmineC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Cottage B&B

Property: Corner Cottage B&B
Address: 305 S Orange St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner Cottage Bed and Breakfast was featured twice in Country Decorating Ideas Magazine. This traditional bed and breakfast, near the heart of downtown Fredericksburg, is a perfect hideaway to recapture romance. Relax with a beverage under the old pecan trees or enjoy the swing on the front porch. Come and visit a time where the clock loses importance, and where everyday is a memory. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing