We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So damn charming”
Review of Hoffman Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hoffman Haus
Ranked #8 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“So damn charming”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place was so much better than I expected and had all the peace and quiet my fiance and I were looking for. They were super polite, the room was incredible (we stayed in the Texas Star room), and the breakfast they brought us in the morning was SO delicious- especially the homemade apricot scones. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay one more night. If you're looking for a bed and breakfast in Fredericksburg, this place won't disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    47
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
263
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hoffman Haus is one of the most charming bed and breakfast places I have stayed in anywhere. The ambiance, hospitality, cleanliness, charm and overall treatment there are the best and I always feel comfortable, safe and cared for there. The owners and hosts/hostesses there are kind and accommodating and always do their best to make you feel welcome and tell you about great things to do in the area. It's a home away from home and is a true oasis. It's also a wonderful place to go back to after a long day of shopping in the area, or driving around the hill country. The resident cats are also wonderful additions to the property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55711Spaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was like coming home. The owner and staff were very accommodating. Our group of 4 couples sat around the expansive porch, played guitar and sang songs, and ate the homemade cookies from the large glass jars, The breakfast delivered to our door in a picnic basket promptly at 9:00 AM was perfect -- scones, quiche, eggs, bacon, and designer coffee in-room. We had one of the smaller rooms, but was plenty of room for us. Others in our group had the larger suites with beautiful sitting areas. The silent nights were a welcome break from the hustle bustle of the city. Wineries, Luckenbach, Fredericksburg shopping, breweries and beer gardens -- we had it all. I even bought a cowboy hat. We are planning our next trip. The 3-1/2 hour drive from Houston seemed really short after the terrific stay.

Room Tip: If size is important, the smaller rooms do not have a sitting area, but great if you don't plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My daughter and her boyfriend recently stayed at the Hoffman Haus upon my recommendation after staying there myself with a few girlfriends back in November. Her boyfriend is stationed at Fort Hood nearby and upon hearing that when they were making their reservation they were offered a discount which is so awesome.... So nice to extend that offer to our men and women serving in the military !
They stayed in the Cottage and just loved it as well as the great location in town. You can walk to Main Street and it so super quiet. They deliver a beautiful full breakfast in a picnic basket to your door promptly at 9am . The Service just keeps getting better from there and it all made their trip and mine just great. Thanks to all the staff and Leslie for your VERY generous hospitality !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGreenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent my wife's birthday here, at our favorite B&B in Fredericksburg. Our stay was in fact our third at this wonderful B&B. This time our accommodation was Ivy Cottage, having already tried Calico and the Basse Haus. We both agreed that, although very difficult to decide, the Ivy Cottage was our favorite - just the right level of cosy-ness for us. At check in we were delighted to be welcomed "back", and had a great chat and catch up with the owner and staff. As it was a birthday treat, we were greeted in the room by fresh flowers and some scrumptious chocolate covered strawberries. We actually arrived after a visit to Becker Vineyard, so we had a bottle of something to accompany them, and sat out on the spacious balcony to enjoy. One of the best parts of the stay, and all other stays at the Hoffman Haus, is the breakfast. It is delivered to your room at 09:00 and is absolutely delicious, especially for veggies like us.
We highly recommend the Hoffman Haus for your stay in Fredericksburg. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonerushpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Hoffman Haus to celebrate my birthday and I must say I've never stayed any place more relaxing and enjoyable. Everything about our cottage was perfect and the breakfast delivered to our door each morning more than exceeded our expectations. I can't wait for our next trip to the Hoffman Haus.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Cottage which is very private and at the back of the property. The walk-in shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our stay at the Hoffman Haus was great although it was too short. We only stayed one night. The cottage we had was huge and very well appointed. The breakfast provided was also great. Breakfast was much more than we counted on. We did run out of hot water which wasn't a huge problem, and it would have been nice to have an alarm clock or something that provided a way to play music. Neither of these things tarnished the incredible stay we had though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.1 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.3 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffman Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffman Haus

Property: Hoffman Haus
Address: 608 E Creek St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4651
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoffman Haus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hoffman Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffman Haus Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing