We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Set the bar very high!"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been going to the Magnolia House for eighteen years and it just keeps getting better. Recently spent three nights there and Claude & Lisa have continued to set the bar high for hospitality and service. The two-course breakfasts are exceptional - as good as one would find in a 5-star establishment! The afternoon baked goods are a favorite treat of mine - Claude has the hands of an angel, his baked goods are so light and delicious! The linens and rooms are superb and they truly make you feel like you are home with family!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

It's always a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to having you return soon. Thank you for the compliments, its very rewarding for us to know how much our guests appreciate our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 658 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Magnolia House B & B and we absolutely loved it! We appreciated the lovely decor in the Blue Bonnet suite and the comfortable bed. We also took advantage of the coffee maker and the refrigerator in our kitchen. This is an immaculate place and our hosts had thought of everything we might ever need. The highlight of our stay was the lovely breakfast Claude and Lisa prepared for us and the opportunity to visit with the other guests while we devoured our meal. A big thank you to Claude and Lisa for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L2013D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

One of the things guests enjoy the most is our breakfasts and the opportunity to meet the other guests and talk about many different topics. It's always fun to find out what everyone has in common. It was great having you stay with us and we appreciate you describing so many of the things that make Magnolia House unique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at this jewel of a B&B April 5-7 for a "women's weekend" with my best friend. She had stayed here before and raved about it and was she right! I have never stayed at a B&B in which so much thought was put into the tiniest details to ensure guests' comfort. Examples: reading glasses available in the common room, a flashlight on the nightstand and a fully stocked medicine cabinet!

Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and genial and I'm still thinking about the breakfasts, esp. the cinnamon coffee cake (a true taste treat!). In addition, the place is immaculately clean, which is not something I can say about all the B&Bs I've stayed in.

The sheets are exceptionally comfortable (and can be purchased). My only quibble was that the bed in the Lilli Marlene (hope I got that right) Room was a bit too firm. Luckily, by the second night, I was so tuckered out from all the Fredericksburg fun that I didn't even notice.

You can't go wrong at Magnolia House. I recommend it and plan to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastraveler522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

It was such a pleasure having the two of you spend the weekend with us. The Magnolia House and Fredericksburg are the perfect places for a girl friend's weekend. Town is full of quaint shops, world class art galleries, great restaurants and then there's the wineries and day spas. Thank you for sharing your experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only had one night at the Magnolia House, but wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was spacious and the furnishings and linens first rate. I especially appreciated the wine and other drinks that were available for us to enjoy in the charming sitting room or patio in the evening. Here there were also a closet-full of games and DVD's to entertain us. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable. And the breakfast - outstanding. The host, Claude, takes great pride in serving delicious breakfast foods with a little bit different slant - vanilla cornbread this morning, for example. Overall, a delightful find and a place I can recommend without reservation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Texas and the Magnolia House. The patio is a great place to spend the evening listening to the waterfall and relaxing with friends and family. Thanks for writing such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one fantastic night in the Magnolia Suite at the Magnolia House B&B. This place is simply awesome. Located just far enough off Main Street to be nice and tranquil but close enough to make getting there easy. The grounds and interior are immaculate and incredibly homey. The gardens are tranquil and quiet. The rooms are absolutely stunning. We would probably never stay anywhere else. Claude and Zlida are the consummate hosts. And did I mention the tasty breakfast. I'm sure there are cheAper places but its worth a bit more to stay here. Well done Claude and Lisa! We'll be back. Those of you reading this should try this one. A keeper for sure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 978Kenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We appreciate your gracious comments. Thanks for pointing out how our location is perfect for both tranquility and proximity to Main Street. We look forward to having you come back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Magnolia House and it was fabulous! We have stayed at many B& B's around the world and this is by far one of the BEST. Everything from the actual house, to the rooms, the location, the hosts (Claude and Lisa), to the 2 course gourmet breakfast, it was far beyond what we had anticipated. There is not one detail that is overlooked. You will loose out if you stay in Fredericksberg and do not stay at the Magnolia House. We should have planned to stay longer. What a GEM of a place with wonderful owners!!!!!!!!! You deserve the PRAISE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the American Beauty Room and it was beautifully decorated and quite quaint and romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 379PatC379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks for singing our praises! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you can stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Once again, the Tripadvisor reviews hit the nail on the head. The Magnolia House was a wonderful 3-day B&B experience for us. We stayed in the Bluebonnet Suite, and loved the history behind the suite (and house). As mentioned in other reviews, the Innkeepers' attention to details is overwhelming. And not just the delicious treats, drinks, and sumptuous linens, either. There were little treats in our room, as well as the main living areas. There were lighted switch-plates; lighted, conveniently located rechargeable flashlights (in case of a power outage); a communal "medicine chest" full of anything- you-might-need-just-in-case; reusable water bottles, filled and waiting in the refrigerators; TV-DVD units; and free wifi.

Lisa and Claude were very personable and knowledgable about local dining options. Their recommendations were spot-on. We've had better breakfasts in other B&Bs, but the breakfasts at Magnolia House were tasty enough and Claude makes the best scones I've tasted anywhere, including England.

Only one even slightly negative aspect: the house is old, the walls/doors are thin (particularly between Bluebonnet and Magnolia adjoining suites; so you do have to watch how much noise you make - and hope that your neighbors are cautious also!

All in all, one of our best B&B experiences yet!

Room Tip: If you like suites, the Bluebonnet Suite is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesGoodFoodTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks for your gracious comments and taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all the "extras" we provide. Fredericksburg has many great restaurants and we're happy to make recommendations when requested.

As you mention the two suites do have an adjoining door similar to many hotels. We point this out at check in and find our guests to be very respectful of each others' privacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
893 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
452 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 101 E Hackberry St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $120 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bed & breakfast known for gracious Southern hospitality and gourmet breakfasts. This elegant historic home features five guest rooms (two are suites with fireplaces) each tastefully decorated with antiques and appointed with guests' comfort in mind. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. Conveniently located just 7 blocks from Main Street in a quiet, relaxing setting. Come and be pampered at the Magnolia House, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Fredericksburg
Magnolia House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing