We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely and inviting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
2 reviews
“lovely and inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia House for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Bluebonnet room was very, very comfortable and inviting, from the fabulous bedding (the sheets are amazing) to the loveseat in the living area, which was the perfect size to sit together and watch movies. Lisa and Claude were wonderful hosts and accommodated my request for a vegan breakfast, while my husband enjoyed the gourmet dishes. It really is an oasis in the hill country when you are seeking some peace and relaxation from a busy schedule during the week. It's very close to downtown, and Lisa and Claude provide a lot of information about local restaurants and attractions. Aside from their warm hospitality, we're grateful for the extra attention they gave after we left. I had remarked to my husband about a print I liked that hangs on one of their walls, and he called to find out where they got it. Lisa didn't remember off the top of her head, but she did some research and called my husband back with the information. Imagine my surprise when he came home one day with the print, all framed, so I could put it in my office. This will always be a reminder of our gracious hosts from the Magnolia House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Alicia, we're so glad you are enjoying your new Map of Texas! Thank you for writing such a gracious review of the Magnolia House. We strive to make each guest's visit special and it's always a treat to know when we succeed. Your husband also deserves the credit for making the extra effort to track down the print and surprise you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
444
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our aniversary weekend was very memorable. The Inn was immaculate, peaceful and restorative. Jill, the Innkeeper who was filling in for the vacationing owners, was fantastic. She made the experience a most positive one. The breakfasts were of gourmet caliber. Jill treated us as family and not just guests by anticipating our every need. We came to Magnolia house at the suggestion of our friends, who stayed there in July. We will be sharing our experience with as many people as possible! Hats off to a fantastic and beautifully managed B&B.

Room Tip: The Bluebonnet Suite was marvelous. Having a private entrance was a plus for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Magnolia House. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We're very fortunate to have someone like Jill who can provide high quality service to our guests when we are away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia House for a night recently. What a great experience! Lisa was very warm and attentive. Claude was a great cook and we loved the breakfast. We stayed at the Peach Blossom room. It's very cozy and we loved the bedsheets and bathrobe. So comfy! We did not mind the detached bathroom very much, but if you like to have the convenience of using a restroom in your own room, then choose a different room. Like other reviewers mentioned, the inn pretty much has all the necessitities that travelers need, medicine cabinet, make up remover pads, info packet about Fredericksburg, hair dryer, refridgerator for guests with complemtary soft drinks and wine, home made cookies, candy in your own room and common area, etc. The house is from the 1920's and they even had the original blueprint. In the morning, it's really nice to drink a cup of coffee before breakfast and read the daily news paper out on the patio. All in all, a great experience and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifefunjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude S, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. Come see us again on your next visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just a terrific B&B, owned by a fantastic couple. who made our stay memorable. They distinguish themselves in five ways: they anticipate everything one might want or need; they are genuinely good people; they are sincerely interested in our well-being; they create a welcoming atmosphere from the second one registers until after the stay has become a memory, and they are models of excellence - from food preparation to cleanliness to suggestions for things to do. We appreciated their warmth, their professionalism, and their talents. Going to Fredericksburg? Stay at the the Magnolia House. 'Nuff said.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room - a beautiful place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude S, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Glenn,

Thank you for the great recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased we were able to make your stay a memorable one. Looking forward to seeing you both on a future visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

After traveling for over a week our last two nights were at the Magnolia house. We needed a relaxing place just to unwind before coming home. The two course breakfast was marvelous. Claude is such a wonderful cook. The best part was that it is very healthy! The history of the house has been kept along with pictures of the family who built the house. This is very interesting and reminded us of our grandparent's house. The large claw bathtub was perfect for a soak. The Magnolia House has comfy sheets, clean rooms and everything you need for the perfect stay. Lisa is the sweetest host and makes sure you have everything you need and more. We loved the place and will be back!

Room Tip: The bluebonnet suite has a separate little living area. This gives more space. The love seat conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjldg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude S, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy we could provide you with a place to relax at the end of your vacation week. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a quick get away to Fredricksburg, just before I started back teaching school. The Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast was just what we needed! Claude and Lisa were amazing hosts. It was relaxing and so much fun. My husband was celebrating his birthday and Lisa and Claude gave him a birthday card and a gift of chocolates. They went above and beyond to see that we had a wonderful time. They were so thoughtful in everything they did from the wonderful soft bed sheets to the drinks in the fridge. The breakfast that Claude made was simply AMAZING!!!!! The grounds were peaceful and beautiful. We stayed in the Bluebonnet room, and we didn't want to leave. We can't wait to take another "getaway" and revisit the wonderful Magnolia House. It was by far the BEST bed and breakfast that we have ever had the pleasure of visiting.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, or fitness center, but we did not miss it a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn71190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude S, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
MaryAnn we are so glad you were able to get a bit of rest before the start of the school year. Hope the year has started off good for you and we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got home from a quick weekend get-a-way in Fredericksburg and are so glad we chose to stay at the Magnolia House! Their home was beautiful and Claude and Lisa were excellent hosts! From the delicious breakfasts in the morning, tasty treats in the afternoon, the softest sheets we've ever slept on, and all the other little details that were done to make us feel at home...we loved it! I especially liked that we were called by name every time we saw Claude and Lisa...they definitely made us feel welcome! We would definitely recommend this B&B and hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Paige, it was a pleasure having you both stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our home as well as the "tasty treats". We look forward to seeing you both again on a future visit to Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#6 of 81 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#8 of 81 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 101 E Hackberry St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bed & breakfast known for gracious Southern hospitality and gourmet breakfasts. This elegant historic home features five guest rooms (two are suites with fireplaces) each tastefully decorated with antiques and appointed with guests' comfort in mind. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. Conveniently located just 7 blocks from Main Street in a quiet, relaxing setting. Come and be pampered at the Magnolia House, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House b&b
Magnolia House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing