We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Found the property from reviews here on trip advisor. Easy check-in after a very long day of hiking, Lynn very informative and friendly. Some many extra touches of snacks, waters, juice, and homemake cookies upon arrival. Place is extremely clean and pleasant. We stayed two nights in the upstairs apartment. Breakfast was refreshing, very good portion, taste awesome, and very filling. Room temperature was easy to change including extra window units in the bedrooms which we loved for nighttime noise and extra coolness. The bed linens and towels were wonderful. Not very often you can find a comfortable bed away from home, but I did. The living area was also very comfortable. Also, they provide toiletries and extra towels that make it easier. So glad I chose to stay here, and would again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieDsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    63
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
290
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

CUTE CUTE CUTE!

Where do I start?
Arriving into town from Houston we pulled up in their driveway significantly early at 12pm and knocked on the door. We were welcomed by Lynn and we were allowed to check-in early, no issue at all, not even one of them looks that i often get from the hotel receptionists when i show up early.

We were showed to our room and had an opportunity to speak with Lynn about her recommendations for the weekend in Frederickburg. She was so helpful and was so up to date with all of the local events and festivities. Lynn even recommended local hot spots for dinner, which I must say were complete WINNERS! The room itself was nicely decorated and absolutely spotless. The bed was just as comfortable as the beds at 4 star hotels and the bed linen was fresh. The choc chip welcoming cookies were a hit with my partner, but to my demise I was only allowed a bite as they were so good!

Breakfast was served at 8:30am! Coffee was good, juice was good, food was fantastic! Theres nothing like a good traditional breakfast to make your day, and it certainly made mine. The ingregients were fresh from the garden and the eggs were fresh too as they have chickens in the back...somewhere. I could certainly taste the difference, yum!

I was quite surprised at the dynamic of it all, having never stayed at a B&B before, but i really enjoyed the presence of the other couples at breakfast and enjoyed the whole experience as a whole. I found Lynn and Kevin to be very personable, friendly and knowledgable. To be honest I felt right at home!

100% to a perfect weekend away. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nick3580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time to a B&B, and felt absolutely welcomed! Wonderful breakfasts, good conversation and great recommendations by the hosts. Outstanding stay!

  • Liked — First time to a B&B, and felt absolutely welcomed! Wonderful breakfasts, good conversation and great recommendations by the hosts.
  • Disliked — Internet was spotty, slow. Not really an issue for a true 'romantic getaway'.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bjsteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for one night over Memorial weekend 2013 and had a great stay. The room was extremely clean, bed was comfortable and Lynn adds a lot of nice little touches (fresh cookies, drinks in the mini fridge, bathroom amenities). Lynn was awaiting our arrival and obviously takes great pride in her B&B and customer service. She was a lovely guide and gave us good recommendations for dinner and activities. Our breakfast the following morning was delicious! We would definitely hope to stay in Das Garten Haus again on future trips!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klg0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for better accommodations or a more gracious hostess. We stayed in the spacious Courtyard Cottage with a very comfortable king sized bed and efficient well stocked kitchenette. Lynn supplied us with information on the local events happening during our stay along with great dining recommendations. Each morning we made our way across the charming patio to the main house for a five star breakfast made with fresh eggs from the chickens, veggies and herbs from the garden, along with fresh fruit and breakfast meat, a choice of juice and great coffee or tea. A real treat.

The location is a few blocks from Main Street and we had no problem driving and finding a parking space. There are many good restaurants and plenty of shopping. We also ventured into Austin for a race at The Circuit of the Americas (about 1-1/2 hours away), some live music in Luckenbach (about 5 minutes away) and wine tastings at the local wineries starting about 10 minutes away.

All in all a very relaxing, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our rooms (bedroom plus full kitchen and sitting area) in Das Garten Haus were relatively plain but warm, comfortable, and meticulously clean. The bathroom is small, though this was not a problem for us.

Owner Lynne is energetic and friendly, and prepares a generous breakfast, starting with a lush fruit cup.

In the back yard, one can sit at a tree-shaded patio table, walk through an ornamental/flower garden, and see how the vegetable garden is doing. Lynne's husband is a horticulturalist.

  • Liked — Room and grounds showed in many ways owners' care for the convenience and comfort of the guest.
  • Disliked — Closest to a negative was the small bathroom. Not a big problem, though.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Das Garten Haus - it was our first trip to a Bed and Breakfast so we weren't sure exactly what to expect, and the owners by far exceeded our expectations. Lynn made it a point to make us feel welcome and provided us with lots of info about the Fredericksburg area and what was happening that weekend, to insure we enjoyed our stay. We were in town for a wedding, but are planning on going back when we have more time to relax and check out the wineries. Breakfast was so amazing! I still remember everything we ate both mornings. Highly recommend this charming B&B.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank plewandowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.4 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.5 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast

Property: Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast
Address: 604 S Washington, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast is a 5 suite property with on-site owners located just one half mile from downtown. A full breakfast is included everyday in the Bed and Breakfast, and a continental breakfast is provided in the adjacent Guesthouse. Lynn and Kevin are available for information, directions, reservations and any help you need navigating beautiful Fredericksburg, Texas! Our two new suites in the Guesthouse are in our remodeled 1921 bungalow and sleep from 2-7 guests - modern conveniences, beautiful rooms, privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing