We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a wonderful visit and would stay there again in a heartbeat. We had the upstairs 2 bedroom as that was all that was available when we made reservations. It was really nice and clean and we had homemade cookies waiting for us and several types of drinks in the fridge. We told Lynn that we wanted to visit some wineries and take pictures of wildflowers. After breakfast the following morning she gave us some brochures on the wineries around the area, and places where there might be a lot of flowers to take pictures. She is really a very good cook and we were excited to see what she would fix for breakfast each morning. Her baked pears were really good. You cannot go wrong if you stay at Das Garten Haus, we plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoakerkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 516 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at Das Garren Haus for one night during our little getaway....we had such an incredible time. Beautiful property with the best night of sleep I've had in a long time (amazing sheets). The hosts were very friendly and informative. We will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reblynnmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Das Garten Haus is a real gem. The accommodations are sparkling clean and very nice. This is a true B&B with onsite hosts Lynn and Kevin. They are the real attraction. Lynn did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. Her breakfast was superb and she made sure we had everything we needed.
She is also a delight to get to know.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank MJPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

My pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at Das Garten Haus to celebrate a friend's birthday and we filled the B&B with our group. Perfect place for 4 couples to enjoy conversation and wine on the patio. Our breakfasts were delicious and loved the service you seldom experience any more, sterling place settings and coffeepot. Menus included praline pecan french toast and sausage/brie egg casserole. Both included beautifully presented fresh fruit, including pears! Rooms/suites were quite roomy and beds very comfortable. The Nest Restaurant directly across road was wonderful meal but plan to stay awhile. Only downside is location not easy to take a morning walk or run directly from.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank CosmoNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

As I sit having my morning coffee at home, how I wish I were back at Das Garten Haus, enjoying one of Lynn's (the innkeeper's) masterpiece breakfasts at the dining table in the main house, just steps across the garden from my husband's and my private, quaint, and beautiful cottage, and surrounded by the beautiful furnishings, linens, and tableware she provides for a complete and wonderful experience. What magnificent flavors we enjoyed, while engaging in interesting conversations with Lynn and the other guests about local attractions, our various travel experiences, and the places we've all come from to enjoy our stay there.

How I wish to get in the our car and enjoy the beautiful scenery as we travel a short distance to a fantastic Tuscan-style winery and enjoy the tour and wine tasting, followed by an eclectic lunch experience downtown, also just a short drive from the inn, and a stroll through the shops up and down Main St.

When I'm "back to reality" at work, I only need think back to our afternoon returns for a lazy nap, falling asleep watching the light curtains flutter with the breeze of the overhead fan in the comfy sheets and bed, to allow for a deep breath before returning to the task at hand.

I honestly could go on and on about luxurious restaurant dinners, nightcaps and music at night spots on Main St., and even a Sunday morning church service, all the while immersed in historic and unique architecture everywhere one goes, and all within walking or very short driving distance from the inn, but my hope is that others will see for themselves that a stay at Das Garten Haus can create quite the memorable experience, that quickly turns into "just what the doctor ordered" for a totally de-stressing and romantic getaway.

Leticia P. in Dallas

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LFP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Leticia,
What a writer you are! If you haven't published a book, you should! You're so visual, if I didn't know what the room looked like, I would after reading this! I envy you your talent and thank you most sincerely for the tribute... but really, write a book...
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have a group of five close friends who have taken a 4-day Girls Spring Trip for the last 16 years. We have visited different towns in Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi and we always stay in a Bed and Breakfast. We found Das Garten Haus to be a lovely B&B in the heart of Fredericksburg, Texas with perfect accommodations for our group of five ladies. The individual rooms were wonderfully roomy with comfortable living areas, a fully functional kitchen and lovely, comfortable bedrooms. We stayed for 3 nights so we were able to enjoy 3 different delicious breakfasts which we found to be very, very good. The B&B is run by a husband and wife who really made our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We would highly recommend Das Garten Haus to anyone looking for a lovely home, friendly innkeepers and fabulous food. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Fredericksburg, Texas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OnTheRoadDKNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Das Garten Haus was the first stop of our return trip to California following a family visit in Richmond, TX; and we were delighted to have found this B & B. Hosts Lynn and Kevin greeted and treated us as if we were long time friends or family. You don't normally receive this kind of treatment during your average hotel stay. We had our own private cottage that was just off a quaint and quiet patio, allowing us access to our room without disturbing other guests or the innkeepers. We departed after a one night stay, but not before sitting at Lynn's beautifully appointed dining room table and enjoying a fantastic breakfast and casual conversation with both Kevin and Lynn. We hope to return to Das Garten Haus soon; and we would advise anyone visiting Fredericksburg to book their stay at this unique B & B.

Tony & Penny Goehring
Lodi, CA

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoofyLodi_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

It was such a pleasure to meet you both and I hope you enjoy the cookbook! Sometimes when people pass through, we wish we had a little more time with them - there are so many lovely guests who could be great friends as well! Happy Easter!
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
861 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#5 of 82 in Fredericksburg
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
154 reviews
8.8 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 604 S Washington, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Garten Haus Bed and Breakfast is a 5 suite property with on-site owners located just one half mile from downtown. A full breakfast is included everyday in the Bed and Breakfast, and a continental breakfast is provided in the adjacent Guesthouse. Lynn and Kevin are available for information, directions, reservations and any help you need navigating beautiful Fredericksburg, Texas! Our two new suites in the Guesthouse are in our remodeled 1921 bungalow and sleep from 2-7 guests - modern conveniences, beautiful rooms, privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing