We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it ALL - Location, People and Food”

Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love it ALL - Location, People and Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place was so good, we had to visit twice while vacationing in Fredericksburg. First I called on the phone, about mid-afternoon, to ask questions and the lady who answered was very friendly and helpful. From Fredericksburg, it's only about a 20 minute drive in the country, but the scenic drive is beautiful. The servers were all friendly and attentive - excellent service. The atmosphere is just what you expect of an old-fashioned country cafe. It's the real deal. Burgers and chicken fried steak were excellent. The catfish sandwich was great. Appetizers were excellent, especially the breaded buttons. We shared different pies and all tasted great. One of our teens said the peach smoothie was the best smoothie ever. Another of our teens wanted to try the "Jefe" challenger burger, but then decided he would rather enjoy the appetizers, dinner and desserts. As for handicapped accessible, they may or may not be able to accommodate a wheelchair, because the dining area is crowded with tables and chairs. I suggest to call in advance and ask questions if you have special needs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom23TeenBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    148
    30
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger EVER!!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great evening and beautiful drive to the restaurant! The hamburgers are HUGE and full of flavor. You're there for the food and will not be disappointed. In the Summer buy $5 tickets for the lower level seating at the Old Tunnel State Park around 6p.m. Then go around the corner to Alamo Springs Cafe for dinner. Return to the park and wait for the bats to fly out of the cave. The upper level is free, but, you don't want to miss the close-up. You'll talk about this adventure for years to come. Wonderful food and unsurpassed entertainment!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bum1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Burgers Good - Chicken Fried Steak Great”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Old San Antonio Rd (which Alamo Springs Cafe is off of on Alamo Rd) is a great back country ride - especially on motorcycle. It's just south of Bikini's and a few miles from Luckenbach, Comfort and Fredericksburg. While the burgers are very good, the have daily dinner specials that begin at 6. The Sunday Chicken Fried Steak is one of the best around and worth the trip. The prices are very reasonable and the food is plentiful. I recommend half fries/half onion rings - you won't regret it. The place is very small and the outside dining is shared with the flys, but, hey, your in one of the prettiest middle of nowhere spots in central Texas. They have some descent Sister Creek wine and the pies are fantastic. The restaurant is adjacent to the Old Tunnel State Park and from May-October, several hundred thousand Mexican Free Tail bats exit an abandoned train tunnel, just a few feet from the viewing area to eat several tons of insects each night. Iit's worth it to time your trip to eat and view this event.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We love this place - this is our second time we have been and both times it was awesome. Be sure and get the jal cheese bun with your burger.

Helpful?
1 Thank Starkshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good but maybe not the best in Texas”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'll give this place credit for atmosphere and friendly staff. It's a bit in the middle of nowhere, which is what gives it great charm. It's a beautiful drive up there and it's located right by the tunnel where the bats come out at night. Apparently they have live music on the weekends, Saturday night looked crowded. We came up on Sunday for lunch (11:30ish) and looks like we beat the crowd, the place was full when we left.

You seat yourself and help yourself to beverages, they use the 'honor system' and the waiter will come take your food order. We of course had the burgers since they got such good reviews. And they're good. He got his as it comes, I got mine with grilled onions and bacon on the jalapeno cheese roll (the roll was REALLY good). And the onion rings...very good. We could have shared a half order, the regular order was HUGE.

Like I said, the staff was very friendly, we really enjoyed our meal and would come back when in the area. But, not convinced it was the best burger in Texas.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwoods11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe also viewed

Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing