We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Burger”

Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Best Burgers in Texas. Cold beer and to die for French fries. A little out of the way but worth the drive

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KATHERINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    145
    29
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comfort, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spicy green chili burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Alamo Springs Gen Store and Cafe has some of the best hamburgers in Texas. They also serve a goat cheese and roasted garlic on bag-gets appetizer that is to die for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikedrew2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impossibly good burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

You don't have to have a GPS to find the Alamo Springs Cafe, but it helps. This place is literally over hill, dale, dell, crick, and field. Your friends will think you're pranking them as you head down tiny country farm paths in the middle of nowhere. Your reward for this journey into the twilight zone is the best burger I know. The fried mushrooms are a dream. The onion rings are other-worldly. The blackberry milkshake is loaded with fresh blackberries. Grab yourself a drink and sit a spell.

Sometimes there is live music out back. And if you finish up around twilight in the summer, head over to the old railroad tunnel to see the bats emerge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fogllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Burgers in Texas? Nope!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My sister and I searched for this place after hearing the all the raves about the burgers. I don't know who's judging Best Burgers in Texas, but this definitely should be dropped from the list.

The burger was average at best, and not worth the drive. The place was dirty, and if you sit next to a window, be prepared to share your table with every fly in the county. The bathroom doors open up to the open kitchen which seems like a true health hazard to me.

I am not a fussy diner, and highly depend on reviews when making decisions on where to eat when traveling, but this place is disgusting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasonedTraveler1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Let Down After Build-Up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had heard such rave reviews by friends about this restaurant, I could hardly wait to try it. But, it was a big let-down for me. I love home-made onion rings, but these had a batter that was falling off and the batter had a spice I can't identify, but didn't care for. Definitely not the best onion rings I've ever had. The hamburger that was so raved about - another disappointment. It was cooked medium rare. Nothing worse than a hamburger that's not done. We went out the next night to give this restaurant another chance. This time we tried the french fries. They are fresh, not frozen. But, if you like crispy fries you'll be disappointed in these limp greasy ones. This night we had the BLT's which were okay, but nothing to write home about. Bottom Line: We won't go back. This place doesn't live up to the hype!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ctrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing