We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great burgers”

Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place, great burgers”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Love the burgers and homemade potato chips!!! Great atmosphere and people and great music. We go here every time we visit Fredericksburg!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    145
    30
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silsbee, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST BURGER YOU'LL EAT!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We always make a trip to this out of the way cafe. Don't let the looks of this place deceive you. The burgers are CRAZY good. I recommend the jalapeno cheese bun!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank naomilchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique with good burgers”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This cafe is the only game in town if you want to eat before or after the bats come out from Old #9 Tunnel. We stopped by for lunch after visiting the park on the recommendation of a friend who had been there a few months ago. My husband of course had to try the burger while I picked the Fried Shrimp Platter. He loved his burger and my shrimp was good, but the fries were greasy and way over done. Be prepared to wait on yourself at least where the drinks are concerned. They even have a wine cooler full of wine, pick your favorite & pour your own. The glasses were not very big.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthereboerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place, GREAT food!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved the atmosphere, the live music, the food was GREAT! I understand the live music is only out on the weekends but it was a very entertaining band. They took requests and made the crowd laugh. The place is packed all the time and it is very unique in how they operate. You walk in and go help yourself to a drink. Don't wait to be seated it is simply just grab a seat once you've found your drink of choice. We tried the burgers and they were simply GREAT! The onion rings were good and a half order is more than one person can eat. The patio seating is plastic tables and chairs or picnic tables so it is very casual but it was so much fun! A local from the crowd came up and sang with the band. Funny to say the least. Waitress was super busy but she made sure we had what we needed. Drinks are "help yourself" the entire time you are there so you'll have to get up and go get your own and you keep track of what you drink. When you go inside to settle up you tell them what your party had to drink and they add it to the bill at the register. Very interesting place, super casual, fun, fun, fun. A great stop after we watched the bats from the old tunnel!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chryssimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Biker haven”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been to Alamo Springs Cafe twice now, and both times the food was fantastic. A group of 14 of us rode our motorcycles down and stopped to eat here on our way to Luckenbach. Both times the cafe was packed, but the service was pretty good. The burgers are huge and juicy, and if you are ordering fries or onion rings, the servings are large enough that you can share and still have plenty.
This is a stop off place for bikers riding through the HIll Country, so it is common to see the parking lot full of all kinds of motorcycles. Lots of different beers to choose from, and this is pretty much a "no frills" restaurant. The price runs about 12-15 bucks per person if you order a sandwich, fires/onion rings and a drink. Dessert and beer will run up the price. I had the Portobello sandwich today, and it was awesome.

The restaurant is way off the beaten path, and there is a place just down the street where you can go and view an area for bats. You can smell the guano as you find your way to the restaurant, and the bat area is worth a visit, too.

Don't be in a hurry if you decide to stop here. Be prepared to wait and then take the time to savor the food and the clientele. Enjoy the drive through the area as well!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Alamo Springs Gen Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing