We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel for visiting Fredericksburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mineral Wells, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice motel for visiting Fredericksburg”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Old motor court hotel that has been well-maintained. Rooms had been painted recently and had newer flat-screen tv. Beds were good and linens clean. Property description said it had been totally redone, but it had old porcelain bath tiles and carpet was fine, but didn't look new. The tub itself was clean but some tile had mold. Air conditioning worked great.

No one was in office when we wanted to check out at 8 am, so we left key in room. Not sure if that was okay, but there wasn't a key drop box either.

No breakfast included, but restaurant on property. If you want a fitness center, you can use the nearby hospital's center for a $10 day pass.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcalcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
80
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Krum, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked this hotel mostly due to price and to save some money to stay at a B&B another couple of nights. We stayed here along with another couple (different rooms but same experiences). We are in our mid/late 40's and they are in their late 30's. Staff was very friendly and nice. The place is a motel with all the rooms facing into the parking lot. The room was exactly like the pictures listed. Updated furniture. Our room had a flat screen TV, coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Our friends had a boxy tv and coffee maker only.

On initially inspection, I saw 2 beetles/bugs on the bathroom floors that were dead. I dismissed it mostly due to price and my home ain't perfect either. All 4 of us initially said - pretty good deal and would stay here again. We went and grabbed some dinner and came back to sit in the parking lot with some chairs that were available outside. (it was a nice night)

The love affair changes: Shower was good and water was hot; however, the soap was confusing at is actually HURT to use and had no suds. Towels were TINY and don't plan to use it to cover your body. I went to bed and pulled the sheets away to go to bed to see a small dead spider under the covers. I brushed it off and got into bed. The next morning I remarked to my husband that I kept shifting sides that I slept on because my hips were hurting. He commented that the sheets kept grabbing his leg hair. I never thought we were sheet snobs but I guess we are. We all agreed the sheets were more like fine grade sand paper and were not soft at all. My mom uses 180 thread count and I sleep fine so I have no idea what was wrong with these.

Overall it's a decent place. Relatively clean and a great location but probably not within walking distance from main street. If you are wanting to save some money for wine or shopping then this is a great place! Honestly, I might bring my own sheets and soap and do that again some day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was kind of disappointed with this Older motel. The price was fair but everything in the rooms seemed very dated. Several light bulbs were burned out. The grout in shower was molded. The shower drained very slowly and backed up into the tub. It has been quiet. If you're used to at least a continental breakfast this place has none. Doors don't automatically lock. Location is very good, about a mile so off of Main Street. I would probably not stay here again unless budget was my only consideration.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

First time in Fredericksburg, TX and wanted a basic motel for a couple nights. The pictures advertised were definitely not what we got and I was not pleased with the shabbiness of the bathroom area specifically. Needs updating soon. The parking lot has been black-topped crazily with a large incline nearly impossible to drive over and around. Not sure I'd stay there again. When I asked the owner for a good breakfast restaurant, I was directed to another one away from their own restaurant. That spoke volumes!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A great, clean, place to stay that is not overpriced at all!!! About a mile from Main Street. Wife and I make a couple of trips a year to Fredericksburg and we have decided it will be the place to stay. Nothing fancy or over the top, but if you want a quiet place, friendly place; this is the one!! The Sunset Grill next to the Motel has Awesome breakfast!!!! A definite hidden gem in Fredericksburg. If I was to say anything negative, wife and I will bring our pillows from home next time as the pillows are great but are sooo soft, it was almost like not having one. But, if you like your pillow like that, then you are good to go!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JF76033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just a few blocks off of main street on HW 16.it was a nice location away from main street noise. Our room was just as other reviews have stated in every way, and a nice way to save some money to spend on the wines in the area ( the reason for our trip ). We came in on a Tues. evening and the older nice man at the front desk needs to learn more about the local restaurants, because when we asked him about a good Bar-b- q place he dident know of any, ( of which there are several ) so we just found a place to eat that night that was just okey. I do want to strongly recommend the Cabernet Grill On HW 16. One of the best dinners we have had in a long time. We learned of it from one of the wine pours at the wine tastings. Go, Go.. Also the breakfast at the Sunset Inn is very very good ( note, it is closed on Weds. ) Hope this helps, yes we would stay there again....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Most of the lodgings in Fredericksburg are pricey. This place is a great alternative. It's laid out like an old-style motor court where all rooms are on a single floor and face out into the parking lot... Benches to sit outside the rooms.. Rooms are clean, simple - nothing fancy! But quite comfortable. The motel is just a few blocks from downtown, so it's easy to get to anything you might want in Fredericksburg. Being a little bit "off main" has a real advantage in terms of quiet.

The walls are a little thin, so you might want to turn on the window unit fan or bring a white noise generator. Occupants of both my neighboring sides were quiet, but that's luck of the draw. In the morning, a gentleman sat outside on the bench for a phone conversation.. if I were not already awake it might have pulled me out of a sound sleep.

The Sunset Grill is attached and has an excellent breakfast.

I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank ZenMind58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn & Suites

Property: Sunset Inn & Suites
Address: 900 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Hill Country, surrounded by wineries, the Sunset Inn & Suites is a true hometown original. The owners take pride in the rich Texas heritage that has long been a part of this small town. Clean, comfy and cozy, our quaintly decorated rooms are just what one needs for a great night's rest. Tim and Donna, our General Managers, take pride and care in operating this property and give great attention to detail. Our on-site laundry room is clean and convenient. Another plus - you can park right in front of your room! So please, stop in, say hello and take a peek at our rooms and relax in on our patio. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn Motel And Restaurant Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunset Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing