We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to chill and de-compress”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barons CreekSide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barons CreekSide
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to chill and de-compress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are looking for luxury and room service, keep looking. If you want atmosphere, good location, and something different than a motel or even a B&B, this is the place. Great cabins with windows, doors even some of the wood brought over from Switzerland by the owner to create the atmosphere of a Swiss Village inside and out. He is quite the genius!
Our cabin was rustic but had all we needed. Clean, refrigerator, microwave, decent bed, coffee maker, toaster and add the wonderful fireplace and two person hot tub and we were completely at home. On top of that, the atmosphere of feeling as if you were in a Swiss village was so soothing. We were there in January during an unusual cold spell, so made good use of the fireplace (wood available for purchase). The rest of the year, sitting on a rocker on cabin porch or hiking around the area has to be great. We will be back to try it out in warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi215513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
176
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. We wished we could have stayed longer, but we are self-employed and can't stay away much more than a night or two. Our cabin was the Lucerne and it was awesome. It was rustic yet very comfortable. We have been to a few other cabins/BB in the area, but I enjoyed this one the most. Mr. Meyer; the owner, came to greet us when we first got there and was very nice and gracious. We built a fire (we
re not great fire builders) but all the necessary things were there to accommodate us. As his website states, they do not serve breakfast; which is not a problem for us, as we enjoy our privacy and actually like to go out and eat when we go out of town. We wanted to clean the fireplace before we left, but I was afraid we'd make a big mess out of it (Ha). We are already trying to figure out when to go back next and we wanted to try every cabin eventually;) It is the perfect place for a couple who wants to celebrate an anniversary, honeymoon or just to get away from the kids for a bit. The pictures they post on the website don't do it justice. I bet when it's spring or summer it is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you, Mr. Meyer for your accommodations and we plan to get back ASAP! You can't go wrong if you decide to book a stay at his cabins. BTW: The people at the 1st Class Reservation service were awesome too and were very friendly:) Thank you again;
Heather and David Collins

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and i celebrated our 6 year anniversary. We were looking for something close to home (we live in Houston, TX) but at the same time get away from it all. We could not have chose a better place. We stayed in the Interlaken, Swiss cabin. Good size, rustic with a modern twist. The landscape was perfect. So serene and calm. Daniel and his wife called me back immediately, took my info and the transaction was seemless. you receive a confirmation email telling you where to go. When you get into town you pick up keys about 5 mintues away off of Main/290. The staff there were very friendly and helpful as well.

Baron Creekside is maybe 1/4 mile off Main st / 290. A quick right turn and you are down town Fredericksburg in minutes.

Pricing is very resonable. The property is clean and absolutely perfect for that romantic getaway. Everything is provided for a fire, which we enjoyed thouroughly. Just throw a couple dollars in the bin on the main drive. Our room had a good size mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Also there is a small tv with Dish along with a radio/cd player in the room. Large soaker jet tub/shower. They have some other options that have full kitchens and are pet friendly. Only small issue was the bed. It was soft, and clean, and cozy. But it had a little bit of a dip in the matress. Pillows were perfect, but the matress left us a little back achey. By no means did this lessen our experience. It could have just been I am used to sleeping on thicker matresses.

I suggested barons to my brother and his wife and we may be joining them in May on a return trip.

I highly reccomend checkingthem out if you need a few days of just calm and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kriptonian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We rented the Rhine Fall cabin for four days beginning Christmas Day and found the entire place to be completely charming and well worth the expense. It did cost more than what we normally pay, but to walk into such a beautiful Swiss Log Cabin, sit in front of a warm fire and read books about how the place came to be (from learning that the owner randomly spent one night in a cabin there and the next day decided to buy the whole place and begin building log cabins for others to stay in), to how our particular cabin was made (from pieces of wood and antiques and windows and doors of a home in Switzerland that was being demolished-that they carried down a ladder from the top story because there were no stairs)....you just felt like a part of the family.

I never did see any of the cats, but the ducks visited us each morning. We had a wonderful trip and do recommend this to anyone wishing to visit Fredericksburg.

Room Tip: For couples, choose a Swiss Log Cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriOriLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband, our dog, and I stayed at Barons Creekside for two nights arriving on Christmas Day. We reserved the Mesquite Farmhouse due to it being dog-friendly and having a full kitchen. This was our first time in Fredericksburg and our first time at Barons so we did not know what to expect.

The reservation process was a bit different, as we reserved through the website but finalized everything with First Class Bed and Breakfast. We used a BedandBreakfast.com gift card with no issues. Once we were confirmed (this was months ago), we were sent a confirmation email with how to pick up our key. Since we were arriving on a holiday, we had special instructions.

Upon arrival in Fredericksburg, key pickup was easy and as described. We followed the directions to our cabin and unpacked and settled in.

The pros:
1. Barons Creekside gives you a secluded, relaxing atmosphere. We felt like we were renting a home on a private property. The Mesquite Farmhouse feels even more like a home as the back of the house looks over open land. When hanging out in the back, we felt completely alone.
2. We used the full kitchen to cook our own meals and brought groceries with us. We only ate out once our entire stay. For those looking to be economical, this is a great feature. All dishes, plates, silverware, etc are included. We brought spices, oils, food, and drinks with us.
3. The fire pit out back is fun and relaxing - who doesn't like to sit by a cracking fire? (just be prepared with clothes you don't mind getting all smoky) We wish we would have thought ahead and brought the supplies to make s'mores. Firewood is readily available on property - they ask for $1 per log (honor system box).
4. The farmhouse has two bedrooms that share one bathroom. We didn't use the second bedroom but could have easily had more guests (e.g. kids, parents, friends) with us.
5. We loved having our dog with us on the trip. She had plenty of space to roam, and the other dogs we encountered were friendly.
6. We were less than a mile from downtown Fredericksburg.
7. We loved the small trail on the property; we walked our dog (on leash) there daily and saw the other cabins on the property.

The cons:
1. We had issues with the hot tub out back - we couldn't get it to get hotter than 97 degrees. We didn't see any instructions left, and while we could have called someone to come fix it, we didn't want to bother anyone. (this is admittedly our issue - we could have called.)
2. The water pressure in our shower was very poor, but as my husband said, we were staying in a very old farmhouse.
3. The rates (a total of about $600 for two nights, once fees, pet fees, insurance, etc were added to the nightly rate) were a bit high for us. We met a couple in town staying at what sounded like a similar property for a lower rate. We chose Barons due to their participation in bedandbreakfast.com gift cards since we had one.

All in all, we had a VERY enjoyable trip and would love to return again, pending that the rates work with our budget (and compare to similar properties in the area). We felt like we were at a home away from home and loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmm151s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We loved this property. It is very unique, quaint, and authentic. This is not a full service anything. In fact we hardly saw anyone anywhere, even though they were fully booked. We never checked in, we just received an email stating that they knew we were arriving, gaving us directions and informing us that the keys are left in the door for us. There is no front office to check in or sign anything. It was a very different experience but welcome. From what we saw, this is not a full service type place, although they did have a spa onsite and wifi throughout the property. Coffee and juice were provided as noted. We knew what to expect based on reviews and the website, so we loved the secluded cabin feeling. Staying in one of the Swiss Lodges allowed us to sit on the porch, start a fire in the fireplace and have a romantic little getaway overlooking a creek. However the close proximity to town made for just about the perfect location. It felt miles away but was so close to anything that we had planned to do. I don't generally rave about anything, but this was as perfect as it gets for what we wanted while in Fredericksburg. I have already recommended it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stay in a log cabin or Swiss Lodge. They are authentic log cabins and the best of the bunch. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank halo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This place by far is the best place to stay in ALL of TEXAS!!! My husband surprised me with a 5 night stay for our 25th wedding anniversary!! With the owner Daniel's help my husband also surprised me with the renewal of our vows. My kids and grandson also showed up to surprise me. I could have never imagined a more romantic setting!!! We LOVED the Wasserfall log cabin and the wonderful sound of the waterfall next to us. The morning visit from the family of ducks was so cute!!! I can guarantee we WILL be back. Every couple should take the time to visit this amazing place and enjoy the romantic atmosphere and the stress free environment. You feel as if you are in an entirely remote Swiss village yet you are only 2 minutes from Main Street in Fredericksburg. Daniel my friend you and your staff have totally out done yourself with the beautiful craftsmanship of each cabin as well as the amazing creek and beautiful landscaping!!! Can't wait to return and I hope we have more time to sit and visit. Thank you so much for bringing your creativity and sharing it with us. Hope to see you soon!!! Cody and Kim

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.2 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons CreekSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons CreekSide

Property: Barons CreekSide
Address: 316 Goehmann Ln, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons CreekSide 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and romance, water and wildlife - just 2 minutes to Main Street Fredericksburg. Barons CreekSide - owned by a Swiss couple - is truly a very special, romantic getaway! We feature very romantic accommodation in a historic Log Cabin or a charming Hilltop Chalet. Unwind along Barons Creek or the gorgeous "mountain creek" with several ponds on 26 tree-covered, rolling acres. It's all there for you to explore, watch for deer, butterflies and beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barons CreekSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Creekside Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing