We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SwissOutstanding”
Review of Barons CreekSide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barons CreekSide
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, California
2 reviews
“SwissOutstanding”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A memorable Anniversary trip! The perfect romantic get away spot in the Fredericksburg area. Cozy Swiss Log Cabins with their western flair. Ralph Lauren style meets rustic surroundings across the property grounds. Our Cabin Rhinefall was fantastic with its Big comfortable bed and high ceilings. Oh the sounds of the waterfall just outside the door....
We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidG1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
178
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just happened to find this place online and am I ever glad I did.We will never stay anywhere else in Fredericksburg .The entire property is beautiful and peaceful.We stayed at Wasserfall for 3 nights and the Victorian 1 night because Wasserfall wasn't available for 4 nights. Both places are fabulous.We had our coffee on the front porch in the rockers and fed the ducks that come up. You can hear the waterfall and see the creek from the porch.We played with "Captain" the resident dog.Daniel the owner is so awesome.He can't do enough for you and is so friendly. He really makes you feel welcome. It is evident that he really enjoys what he does. Janet R.

Room Tip: I believe any cabin is going to be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet03157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were able to book last minute due to a cancellation and had no idea what we signed ourselves up for! Beautiful property? Yes! Unique and comfortable lodgings? Yes! But the best part was meeting Daniel--he was so personable and wanted to make sure everything was perfect. He was the icing on the cake of the whole stay. Thanks so much! Definitely intend to return!

Room Tip: They are all individually designed and built with great care--every cabin is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a "girls visit" and stayed in the Mesquite Farmhouse - we really enjoyed it. Loved the fire pit and hot tub out back. The property is set up very cute and quaint - kind of like being in a little village. Great location just outside of Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wasserfall cabin for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The place is so unique with the waterfall and creek running through the property. We loved sitting out on the cabin porch and just enjoying the peaceful solitude with the sounds of the waterfall in the background. The cabin was fantastic and spotlessly clean and had all the amenities you could ask for. We were not ready to leave at the end of 3 days and will definitely be going back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms had a view but we choose the Wasserfall because of the close proximity to the waterfal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this amazing property last night. The Swiss cabin we were in was called "Rhine Falls." It was so romantic. We enjoyed exploring every bit of this cabin. There was an adorable little surprise. If you stay in this cabin be sure and peek around. The large fireplace and comfy couch was an enjoyable spot to sit with my husband. The jacuzzi tub in the bedroom is very nice. It was spotless whereas some we've seen at other properties we wanted to avoid.

The big patio was nice to sit and relax on. We had a nice waterfall right next to the cabin. The sound was soothing. At night we enjoyed our own personal fire pit complete with rocking chairs. There are also wood log/benches in case you want to share your fire with friends. Daniel the owner and his wife stopped by early evening to personally welcome us. It was a nice touch. They are so down to earth and give off that feeling like they are old friends you've known awhile.

I can't go into much detail about the rest of the property as we didn't have time to walk around a lot. The weather didn't cooperate and we were not able to lounge on the porch early morning nor walk near the creek. It was unfortunate as I set my alarm for sunrise to watch the wildlife. It appears that there would be a lot of animal activity to enjoy.

Last thing. If you have time check out the wonderful books on the coffee table to learn about the history of the buildings. Reading about part of our cabins history made it even neater to be staying in it. We liked how some items/windows had been shipped from Switzerland to be used on/in the cabin.

I hope to return in the future. We already miss "our cabin" for the night.

Room Tip: If any of the cabins that you are interested in appear to be occupied for the night it is worth maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myreviews2950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in the Rhine Falls cabin by the waterfall and really enjoyed our stay and the accommodations. Daniel came by and introduced himself as we were leaving, nice guy. I do have one medium gripe: the website plays up the cabin having a fireplace, but it doesn't mention they want $4 <per log> for firewood. Cmon Dan, firewood literally grows on trees. Maybe throw a couple logs in with that nice fireplace for free, then a buck a log after that? Other than that, it's a beautiful place, as everyone says. Would definitely go back (and bring my own firewood).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JLfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swisstex, Owner at Barons CreekSide, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Proffunk, thank you very much for your compliments and it was great to meet you! In regards to your suggestion about the firewood: I went to check what it said on the donation box and it is $ 1.- per log (maybe it was dark and to be read as 4 :) ). The reason behind it not be totally complimentary is that we get firewood for over $ 1.000 /month from a local high school kid who pays his education from that income. I kind of like that concept. Certainly its also ok for our guests to BYO it. Thanks again and I am looking forward to see you soon again. Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.2 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons CreekSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons CreekSide

Property: Barons CreekSide
Address: 316 Goehmann Ln, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons CreekSide 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and romance, water and wildlife - just 2 minutes to Main Street Fredericksburg. Barons CreekSide - owned by a Swiss couple - is truly a very special, romantic getaway! We feature very romantic accommodation in a historic Log Cabin or a charming Hilltop Chalet. Unwind along Barons Creek or the gorgeous "mountain creek" with several ponds on 26 tree-covered, rolling acres. It's all there for you to explore, watch for deer, butterflies and beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barons CreekSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Creekside Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing