We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Feeling of Secluded Country Living”
Review of Barons CreekSide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barons CreekSide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a great property set up just on the edge of Downtown Fredericksburg yet it feels like you are off in the country on secluded land. The cabins are very cozy and the running stream adds to the aviance. There are several cabins spread around and we stayed in the Wasserfall as it is a Pet Friendly cabin. We never heard a neighbor or a noise other than the water flowing into the stream.
It is hot in Texas in August but there always seemed to be a breeze blowing and plenty of shade for rocking on the front porch. I have never travelled to Switzerland but after staying in this cabin it is definitely a to do for me now!!
The cabins are on private property about 3 blocks from downtown so you can enjoy the shopping and German atmosphere where you can then retreat to the quietness of the cabins.
The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and a small apt refrigerator. No stove, but there is a microwave and bbq pit on every property. The bath is an amazing hot tub. There is a fireplace, dish tv and plenty of cozy country living furniture that makes this place just an absolute must for a romantic or even just a quiet getaway from the hustle bustle.

Negatives: If your not use to critters in the country this could be a turn off, but there were several wasps gathering on the ceiling inside the cabin, but there was spray to remove them and once that happened they weren't an issue. We had a small shih tzu along for the trip and he's a puppy. He encountered a scorpion on his trip outdoors for a potty break. He was stung on his back leg and was quite sad and sulky for a few hours but he recovered well. Just check all your things if you leave anything outside including pets to ensure none of the scorpions are trying to hitch a ride.

Otherwise we will definitely return and preferrably in the early spring when bluebonnets are out or in the fall so we can enjoy using the fireplace. There is AC and it did a great job of taking away the summer August heat for our indoor activities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc-rider05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 258 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We rented the farm house for a three day weekend this spring. What a special place that felt like we way out in the country but we were actually on the edge of town. Each cabin is different. We loved the spa in the back and the country decor. Will stay here again. Rates were about averagge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SRTFWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Barons creek side is more than amazing. The grounds are awesome to hike around, the animals are friendly and the cabins are perfect. I couldn't ask for a better experience. Daniel, the owner is friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend staying here and will be back myself.!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaaaaames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Want a piece of heaven on earth?? go stay at Baron's Creekside. This was by far the most relaxing vacation I have been on. Spending time on our porch rocking in our chairs, listening to the waterfall, looking at the creek and watching the ducks wonder around was about the most relaxed Ive been in years. We needed a get away from the rat race and we found it at Baron's Creekkside, can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The property has independent, stand-alone cabins (we stayed in Lucerne), eliminating the sometimes inconvenient disturbances of a typical B&B. While no breakfast is served, we had plates, utensils, coffeemaker, mini-fridge & microwave to take care of our own needs. My husband was not impacted by this - but I could have used more vanity/mirror space to get ready for a night out; but the room was clean; the decor was a fun mix of Swiss-Cowboy (we had a babbling creek about 15 feet from our front door & our cabin had 250+ year old windows/doors imported from Switzerland) and the Swiss owner of the property (Daniel) was accessible and charming. It's obvious that great care, thought, passion and attention to detail were put into this property.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay at Baron's Creekside was one of the most peaceful and relaxing vacations we have ever had. The Lucerene cabin was so charming with it's western and switzerland decor. Each night we sat outside our cabin watched the ducks and listened to the waterfall near by. It was good for our souls, hearts and minds. We are already planning to go back for our birthdays in December and so looking forward to sitting on the swing next to the firepit with a glass of wine.
We met the owner Daniel on our first night there, he was walking the property and came and had a seat on the porch with us and answered all of our questions about "how does someone from Switzerland end up in Fredricksburg?" He remembered our phone conversations prior to our arrival and that alone made us feel very welcomed and special.
I already said we are going back, my hope is that anyone reading this who needs some time away from the rat race will go to Baron's Creekside.

Room Tip: all of the cabins are very cute and perfect for some R & R.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you are looking for a perfect getaway for a couple (or family for that matter!) in Central Texas then look no more: Barons CreekSide has it all. Charm, cleanliness, character, and even wild life right next to Fredricksburg and all the amenities that this German town has to offer from authentic German foods to German beers...

We stayed at Wasserfall (Waterfall) cabin and it was perfect in decor and also had a man-made aqueduct / waterfall right next it, so you can fall asleep listening to the running water. Could it get any better? Yes, if the outside temperatures would have been lower, we could have lit fire in the real wood fireplace and cozy up on the couch. ;)

We will definitely frequent at Barons CreekSide from now on -- prior to this discovery we had used the other B&Bs that are in Fredericksburg, but none of them compares to this experience. At all.

Also, the owner, Daniel Meyer, is from Switzerland and the cabins have parts from an old house that used to stand up in there for 250 yrs until it was condemned, but Daniel saved the doors and windows from it and had them shipped to Fredericksburg. Every cabin has bits and pieces of the old building repurposed and it looks fantastic!

Not to mention that Daniel is the most courteous host and every cabin also has a complimentary Wi-Fi amplifier to make sure you don't have to be without NetFlix, etc. if you so choose to spend your time at the cabin -- and no, there's no bandwidth throttling at Barons CreekSide either!

Can't wait for the next time we get a chance to detach from the daily grind and spend couple of nights at the Barons again!

Best Regards,

The Salvianders

Room Tip: If you like running water sound, then Wasserfalll cabin is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
924 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#6 of 25 in Fredericksburg
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons CreekSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons CreekSide

Address: 316 Goehmann Ln, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $208 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons CreekSide 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and romance, water and wildlife - just 2 minutes to Main Street Fredericksburg. Barons CreekSide - swiss owned and operated- is truly a very special, romantic getaway! We feature romantic accommodation in historic Swiss Log Cabin or a charming Hilltop Chalet. Unwind along Barons Creek or the gorgeous "mountain creek" with several ponds on 26 tree-covered, rolling acres. It's all there for you to explore, watch for deer, butterflies and beautiful birds. Situated within a vineyard and its own wine bar/ european style bistro with live music on weekends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Barons CreekSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Creekside Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing