We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A week of bliss"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barons CreekSide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barons CreekSide
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"A week of bliss"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay at Baron's Creekside was one of the most peaceful and relaxing vacations we have ever had. The Lucerene cabin was so charming with it's western and switzerland decor. Each night we sat outside our cabin watched the ducks and listened to the waterfall near by. It was good for our souls, hearts and minds. We are already planning to go back for our birthdays in December and so looking forward to sitting on the swing next to the firepit with a glass of wine.
We met the owner Daniel on our first night there, he was walking the property and came and had a seat on the porch with us and answered all of our questions about "how does someone from Switzerland end up in Fredricksburg?" He remembered our phone conversations prior to our arrival and that alone made us feel very welcomed and special.
I already said we are going back, my hope is that anyone reading this who needs some time away from the rat race will go to Baron's Creekside.

Room Tip: all of the cabins are very cute and perfect for some R & R.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
176
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you are looking for a perfect getaway for a couple (or family for that matter!) in Central Texas then look no more: Barons CreekSide has it all. Charm, cleanliness, character, and even wild life right next to Fredricksburg and all the amenities that this German town has to offer from authentic German foods to German beers...

We stayed at Wasserfall (Waterfall) cabin and it was perfect in decor and also had a man-made aqueduct / waterfall right next it, so you can fall asleep listening to the running water. Could it get any better? Yes, if the outside temperatures would have been lower, we could have lit fire in the real wood fireplace and cozy up on the couch. ;)

We will definitely frequent at Barons CreekSide from now on -- prior to this discovery we had used the other B&Bs that are in Fredericksburg, but none of them compares to this experience. At all.

Also, the owner, Daniel Meyer, is from Switzerland and the cabins have parts from an old house that used to stand up in there for 250 yrs until it was condemned, but Daniel saved the doors and windows from it and had them shipped to Fredericksburg. Every cabin has bits and pieces of the old building repurposed and it looks fantastic!

Not to mention that Daniel is the most courteous host and every cabin also has a complimentary Wi-Fi amplifier to make sure you don't have to be without NetFlix, etc. if you so choose to spend your time at the cabin -- and no, there's no bandwidth throttling at Barons CreekSide either!

Can't wait for the next time we get a chance to detach from the daily grind and spend couple of nights at the Barons again!

Best Regards,

The Salvianders

Room Tip: If you like running water sound, then Wasserfalll cabin is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Baron's Creekside is nothing short of "pure relaxation". Our stay in the Wasserfall cabin provided the perfect get-away for my wife and I. The property is peaceful and almost like being in another world, yet only minutes from Main Street Fredericksburg. The sound of the waterfall while sitting on the porch enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning or a margarita at night is "just what the doctor ordered". The cabin was extremely clean, with all the modern amenities you could possible want, including a mini-fridge, microwave, jacuuzi tub, satellite TV, wood-burning fireplace and more. If you like nature, then this is the place to be. There were friendly cats that visited our porch and ducks in the yard. From the overlook, it's not unusual to see deer running free above the creek bed. What sets this place apart from any other place we've stayed is when I made the reservations, I spoke directly to the owner, Daniel who was also on the property all day, every day to make sure your stay was nothing short of perfect. Can't wait to go back for a weekend excursion to try one of the other cabins on the property.

Room Tip: Wasserfall cabin is great in the summer since it is shaded by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Interlaken Swiss Log Cabin. After-hour key pickup/dropoff instructions were crystal-clear though unconventional. This property is unique, charming and extremely peaceful and romantic - while being only about a mile away from shopping, etc. on Main Street. The Swiss log cabins are absolutely ideal for anniversary (that was us), honeymoon, and larger cabins would be well-suited for a family trip, reunion or small corporate retreat.

The photos on the website don't do it justice - it's even more special and charming. To put it in perspective: we've been frequent guests over the years at Canoe Bay in WI, a seriously high-end Relais & Chateaux property, and thought this compared very favorably.

We tromped around the property, checking out the fishing hole and the Overlook, lucked up on a wild turkey in May! down by the creek, and were constantly amused by the antics of the ducks and cats. The painted cows are a hoot and add a note of whimsy to this romantic and rustically elegant place. The sluice waterfall on the way to the cabins, the rockers on the cabin porch - all wonderful. The cabin was quite large - separate kitchen/living area with loveseat, chairs, table, plus separate large sleeping area that steps up from the living room. It had a working wood-burning fireplace with wood available close by and a good-sized jacuzzi with shower.

The cabin looks out onto grounds that slope down to a tiny manmade creek. In fact, we noticed that another couple was having what looked to be a catered dinner, complete with white tablecloth and crystal, on their porch overlooking the tiny creek. We headed outside late one night for stargazing with some luck, too - less light pollution than we have at home!

Misc notes:

No food avail on property and no "official" front desk or office on property. (Not that we needed it, just reporting. No daily housekeeping, but you can call for extra sheets, towels, etc. if needed.)

Roomy mini-fridge has plenty of room for drinks and substantial snacks. Temps were in the 90s but the AC had no trouble keeping things cool so I think it would be fine even in the middle of summer when temps run mid-100s.

The other thing I'll note is that the sheets, towels while in good condition are mismatched (intended to go with the rustic decor, maybe?) and not zillion-thread-count, and the soap/shampoo amenities are basic. It wasn't a big deal and didn't bother us - but if that matters to you, now you know.

My only two criticisms:

There don't seem to be smoke detectors in the rooms? If they're there, they're cleverly concealed as decor.

The bathroom door handle really, REALLY needs to be swapped for one that doesn't require discovering the special twist of the wrist that makes it work.

It would have been really scary had my husband not been in the cabin and able to get me out, and it took more than one try for me to figure out the secret. Meanwhile he had to come open the door for me every time I was in the bathroom. I'm sure I'm not the first person who's had this happen in Interlaken.

Room Tip: Couples: all the cabins have a unique appeal - but I think the Swiss log cabins are probably the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurkeyTrotFinisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were celebrating our 1st anniversary and had an amazing time! Walking the grounds was wonderful and our cottage was great. It is a great getaway where you feel like you are in the country but just a few minutes from downtown. Having the creek right outside was so nice and hearing the trickle was so relaxing. We also enjoyed seeing the ducks and their chicks. The owner is fabulous and so passionate about his property. He truly wants his guests to have a memorable experience. He greeted us when we arrived and invited us over to enjoy some wine. We took advantage of having a romantic dinner on our porch which was just wonderful! Great location, central to the town and wineries.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estraessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Barons Creekside is simply beautiful! Daniel, the owner of this establishment, put a lot of thought into each intricate detail. The cabins are well maintained, provide a rustic feel, and are comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. There is a stream running throught the middle of the grounds with ducks and baby chicks walking around everywhere. Daniel himself is an amazing host. He takes an acitve approach to meeting his guests and making sure everyone is having a pleasant experience. You will be pleased with your visit here if you enjoy nature and staying in really nice cabins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfCoastGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Barons Creekside is a group of cottages and cabins set on a large property 5 minutes from downtown. Our room had a kingsize bed, a large sitting room, a workable kitchen and a jacuzzi tub as well as a little terrace. The place is very casual and if you are looking for room service and a central lobby this is not the place for you. We loved the privacy and the owner checks in with you everyday to ask if you need anything. However, there are some limitations, there is no daily housekeeping and no ice machine. Before you arrive the room is stocked with fresh towels for everyday of your stay, but be prepared to make your own bed. The rooms also have satilite TV, but it was quite unreliable during our stay. Despite these limitations, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning on our next trip.

Room Tip: Call Daniel, the owner, when you make your reservation. Some cabins are more suited for a large gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownsizerNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.2 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons CreekSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons CreekSide

Property: Barons CreekSide
Address: 316 Goehmann Ln, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons CreekSide 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and romance, water and wildlife - just 2 minutes to Main Street Fredericksburg. Barons CreekSide - owned by a Swiss couple - is truly a very special, romantic getaway! We feature very romantic accommodation in a historic Log Cabin or a charming Hilltop Chalet. Unwind along Barons Creek or the gorgeous "mountain creek" with several ponds on 26 tree-covered, rolling acres. It's all there for you to explore, watch for deer, butterflies and beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barons CreekSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Creekside Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing