We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cat's Cradle Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at the Cat's Cradle room over a weekend getaway with my husband. You just go into the room whenever and do not see the owner. Some people might not like this but I thought it was nice to have some privacy.

The room was small and cozy. There is no shower but there is a jacuzzi. Bed and Breakfast is a bit misleading considering that the owners bring you your breakfast when you're away and store it in the mini-fridge in the room, which was fine by me.

Jacuzzi was a bit small for two people but relaxing nonetheless. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpdarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nicely decorated cabin, and was very quiet and private. We loved the jet tub and fireplace. It was a wonderful weekend get away and we will likely go there again. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 979Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for just one night, during a trip to Texas.

We found the place just browsing on the net, and saw their video on youtube, where everything looked pretty nice, maybe a tad old-fashioned, which we don't mind.

Price is rather reasonable, we paid approx $100 total for our room. It's outside Fredericksburg, approx 8 miles, so pretty quiet.

We were a bit surprised to receive three pages of rules and instructions with the booking. Especially the one saying that you should do everything by yourself including check-in, no one will welcome you, etc.
A bit surprising for a B&B.

As we found our way in the property, the welcome was rather cold as we encountered the owner.
The room itself was very nice, the landscape around the property is great, you can enjoy it form the private porch which is nice, too.
It was also rather comfortable.

On the other hand, almost every equipment (i.e jacuzzi, TV, etc) has super-detailed / almost harsh intructions on it. There's so many instructions everywhere that we found it hard to relax. And it would be so much nicer to just have someone explain to you directly.

Since owners don't seem to be willing to see their guests, breakfast is already in the fridge for the next day, as you arrive. That was not very good. Coffee machine smelled pretty bad sdo I didn't have any.

Although there is a jacuzzi in the room, there is no shower. So I wouldn't recommend to stay for more than one night.
And, you will hear the traffic on the road whenever you're outside.

Overall, the place is very charming, and we enjoyed it. But, I would really improve how the place is run. We found it rather unwelcoming, and again, difficult to relax there due to so many instructions. With a little effort there, the place could be amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The location and all the amenities were awesome! It allowed us to reconnect with each other emotionally and get away from the everyday responsibilities....for a little while. The rainy weather just added to the relaxing mood and scenery. We plan to make this a new ritual in our marriage.

Thank-you, Cat' Meow!

Charles & Janet Ceballos

Room Tip: Personal and private cabin was the selling point for us.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Catseye Cabin is a great place for a romantic getaway! Very private, beautiful, comfortable, and cozy. Interior is gorgeous and clean, and the private hottub was a lovely way to end a long day. One minor disappointment - the fireplace is only functional from November to February. Well appointed (full kitchen and cooking utensils provided!), breakfast was quite tasty. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonJFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Beautiful romantic cabin! Perfect getaway for 2. Cozy fireplace, romantic jacuzzi, comfy bed, & yummy breakfast. Def would recomend to a friend. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSchronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nice, tranquil setting in the Texas Hill Country. Very quiet and peaceful, the perfect weekend getaway! Not far at all from downtown Fredericksburg. This is our second time here and we had a great experience both times. We loved having our own cabin. The cabin as very well decorated and created the perfect romantic atmosphere. Will definitely visit a third time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FWBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
9.4 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
845 reviews
15.5 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#12 of 82 in Fredericksburg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
439 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
140 reviews
9.4 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9848 Hwy 290 West, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $287 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 6 acres of beautiful Texas Hill Country in Fredericksburg, the romantic Cat's Meow offers fireplaces, large whirlpool tubs, antiques and architectural accents. Perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries and birthdays. Free high speed wireless internet access. We also feature romantic packages, massages and wine tours. Full kitchen, large shower, front porch and delicious full breakfast at a choice of 2 local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing